We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky Room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Chico
2 reviews
“Stinky Room!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We stayed at the beachcomber last june because of a wedding we attended. The room smelled like dog poop. There was pet stains all over the floor. The floor was so dirty you would instantly get black feet. I had to where socks.They do not know how to clean ther rooms properly.. They're bed's are rock hard. I could not sleep. We will never stay there again.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VacationsChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    222
    56
    25
    33
See reviews for
176
344
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We are having a wedding in a few months ... so we went to check with the front desk about setting up a few rooms for our guests. I have never had such a rude response and absolute nastiness about booking rooms. Basically if you have a group don't stay here as they don't like that kind of business. Apparently someone ruined it for all of us and they are quite bitter about it. Since I know Fort Bragg well we know of many other great places to stay ... that do want our guests business.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Traveling12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcombermotel, Owner at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2008
Dear Guest,
We are truly sorry for any miscommunication
you may have experienced at the Beachcomber. We have found that the motel
does the best with family reunions, clubs, get-togethers, and wedding groups. We do have wedding guests stay with us. They "all " make their reservations individually instead of groups because we no longer book in blocks of rooms. There is no excuse for rudeness by any of our people. We apologize for this. I wish we had a name. Please have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Loved it! Not a fancy motel but it was clean and had what we were looking for. Complimentary breakfast was a plus. Great relaxing place for a family. Excellent value. Excellent location and scenery. Close to restaurants and most of all the beach was right outside our door. The beach was very smooth and the creek was great for the kids to wade in the water. Planning another short family trip to this place again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

I'm puzzled by many of the reviews here that are overly critical of the Beachcomber. When one compares proximity of the motel to the beach and the comparable lodging in Ft. Bragg to the overpriced, pretentious lodging less than 30 miles down the road, the Beachcomber is a jewel.

We stayed at the Beachcomber for the second time in the last 6 years in March 2008. We were not at all disappointed. Ft. Bragg is a predominantly working-class town with the perfect location. The headlands and ocean views equal those of nearby Mendocino, but lodging is much cheaper. If you want to spend a day walking around the tourist-oriented stores of Mendocino, you can still do that with ease and use Ft. Bragg as your overnight base.

The Beachcomber is located immediately on the waters surrounding Ft. Bragg. Beautiful walking trails/paths are accessed from within a few feet of the property. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We spent a bit more on the "Spectacular King" and had an upstairs room with private balcony that overlooked the gorgeous cove below.

The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is indeed small, but it is perfectly ample. The room, overall, was quite large and contained much more space than we required. Our particular room also included a small fridge. When the breezes were too chilly, we enjoyed the small table and chairs located near the sliding doors and continued to enjoy the views.

This motel has been owned by the same family for well over 20 years. If you desire the cookie-cutter predictability of a chain hotel, then look elsewhere. If you want a clean room with a gorgeous, quiet location, this is it. I know we'll continue to visit the Beachcomber when we travel to this area.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2008

This motel is right on the beach. You just walk out the back door to get to the water. If you have children that want to go to the beach, this is very convenient. The view is nice.

However, the building is old and has few amenities. There is no air conditioning. We had to leave the sliding glass door (to the balcony) open to cool the room (though that posed a security risk). Our room was clean, but the bathroom was tiny. If this motel was anywhere else inland, it would probably go for only $49.99 per night. Breakfast consisted of danish pastries and coffee or juices.

Service was good while we were there, though the service was inconsistent when we made the reservations. I called at night to make reservations 1 week in advance and was told they were fully booked for the next 4 weeks. My wife called the following morning and was told there were many rooms available. Go figure!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would likely stay there again because of the easy access to the beach (unless there's a better motel with the same easy access). If you're not there for the beach, however, you might want to consider someplace else.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — no AC
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We really liked the Beachcomber. Big spacious rooms, nice staff, average continental breakfast. But right on the beach (unlike 20 other hotels in town that have Beach in there name but are not) ;)

It is on the edge of town, but has a walking/bike path in. Quiet, and great prices (in the off season, when we went).

The only downside at all was the wireless internet signal in our room was pretty weak, but that was a small factor.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chg2winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2008

There are so many places to stay around the Mendocino/Ft. Bragg area, if you can find another spot, do so. The Beachcomber is close to the ocean, and that's about it. Oh yea, you can bring your dog. Are they dog-friendly? No. They're dog-tolerant. I felt like i could be arrested if my dog lifted his leg within a mile of their "lovely" lawn.

The room we stayed in was bizarre--it was more like a vestibule in a school auditorium, furnished as an afterthought. It was smelly. The bathtub was big enough for maybe a cat to bathe in. The sink & grooming area was about three steps from the bed, so there's NO PRIVACY AT ALL; if you like to brush your teeth or dry your hair with an audience, you'll enjoy the Beachcomber.

but by far, the worst feature was a VERY noisy something-or-other, like a giant refrigerator motor that was extremely loud and nerve racking, that turned on and off all through the stay. Plus several other motors that hummed and clanked the night. The traffice from the hiway was also very noisy. The walls are very thin, and every clunk from the surrouding rooms could be heard. A few rooms down, there was screaming and yelling into the night, with other people banging on the walls. Very pleasant.

The staff was sulky and very unhelpful.
STAY AWAY. Spend a few extra bucks and go someplace better.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank sleepygirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing