We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Surf & Sand Lodge(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Lodge(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Inn(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Coast Hotel(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombi Motel(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Breeze Lodge(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebb Tide Lodge(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
362
237
62
30
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
237
62
30
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass beachsecond floorwalking pathdog parkocean viewgas firecontinental breakfasteasy access to the beachsliding doorcrashing wavesupstairs roombagelssouth endpudding creeklove this placeenjoy the viewsliders
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2008

I can tell you why the other reviews may seem to be conflicting. The dark, dingy room of which the others speak is the one they don't list on their web site. It is the room reserved for those last minute guests without a reservation. It is a pit! We did have a reservation, however the hotel had made an error and booked us as a no show for the previous month. They even charged us for the no show, but I had assumed the charge was a deposit. In the hotel's defense, they did try to accommodate us by putting us up in a different room. It was large and clean and had a lovely view. However, the decks seemed to be a smokers magnet. We had smoke billowing in from both sides and our room reeked. The second night was not available in this "nice" room, and they were going to put us in the pit. I was appalled at the state of it and refused their "generous" offer. We ended up going home after only one night and will never stay in that hotel again. I wish someone could recommend a nice beachfront place in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feklhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We stayed at the beachcomber last june because of a wedding we attended. The room smelled like dog poop. There was pet stains all over the floor. The floor was so dirty you would instantly get black feet. I had to where socks.They do not know how to clean ther rooms properly.. They're bed's are rock hard. I could not sleep. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VacationsChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We are having a wedding in a few months ... so we went to check with the front desk about setting up a few rooms for our guests. I have never had such a rude response and absolute nastiness about booking rooms. Basically if you have a group don't stay here as they don't like that kind of business. Apparently someone ruined it for all of us and they are quite bitter about it. Since I know Fort Bragg well we know of many other great places to stay ... that do want our guests business.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Traveling12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcombermotel, Owner at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2008

Dear Guest,
We are truly sorry for any miscommunication
you may have experienced at the Beachcomber. We have found that the motel
does the best with family reunions, clubs, get-togethers, and wedding groups. We do have wedding guests stay with us. They "all " make their reservations individually instead of groups because we no longer book in blocks of rooms. There is no excuse for rudeness by any of our people. We apologize for this. I wish we had a name. Please have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Loved it! Not a fancy motel but it was clean and had what we were looking for. Complimentary breakfast was a plus. Great relaxing place for a family. Excellent value. Excellent location and scenery. Close to restaurants and most of all the beach was right outside our door. The beach was very smooth and the creek was great for the kids to wade in the water. Planning another short family trip to this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaliforniaMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

I'm puzzled by many of the reviews here that are overly critical of the Beachcomber. When one compares proximity of the motel to the beach and the comparable lodging in Ft. Bragg to the overpriced, pretentious lodging less than 30 miles down the road, the Beachcomber is a jewel.

We stayed at the Beachcomber for the second time in the last 6 years in March 2008. We were not at all disappointed. Ft. Bragg is a predominantly working-class town with the perfect location. The headlands and ocean views equal those of nearby Mendocino, but lodging is much cheaper. If you want to spend a day walking around the tourist-oriented stores of Mendocino, you can still do that with ease and use Ft. Bragg as your overnight base.

The Beachcomber is located immediately on the waters surrounding Ft. Bragg. Beautiful walking trails/paths are accessed from within a few feet of the property. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We spent a bit more on the "Spectacular King" and had an upstairs room with private balcony that overlooked the gorgeous cove below.

The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is indeed small, but it is perfectly ample. The room, overall, was quite large and contained much more space than we required. Our particular room also included a small fridge. When the breezes were too chilly, we enjoyed the small table and chairs located near the sliding doors and continued to enjoy the views.

This motel has been owned by the same family for well over 20 years. If you desire the cookie-cutter predictability of a chain hotel, then look elsewhere. If you want a clean room with a gorgeous, quiet location, this is it. I know we'll continue to visit the Beachcomber when we travel to this area.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews