We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old motel, nice views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old motel, nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent one night here on a recent trip to California. The motel is older, but well maintained. The room had a nice view of the ocean, and was located near tressel bridge walking area. The managers were very nice, and checkin was easy. The only negative was the ice maker was very dirty - so we didn't use ice. The room was clean, and they had some extra amenities in the room. Location was close to downtown Ft Bragg, right on HWY 1

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean front views....some have more amenities, ours was a two queen room no kitchette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you connie B for taking the time to give us such a great review! We are happy to hear that
I’m so glad that you enjoyed the views and got a chance to walk down the trestle bridge. We will be very happy to welcome you back for your next stay!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    219
    55
    25
    32
See reviews for
171
335
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I checked into my upper level queen room yesterday afternoon and I am blown away by the beauty of this property. The staff was so friendly upon check-in and the atmosphere here is so inviting. My room is very nice and has a breathtaking view of the ocean. Just yards from my room are hiking/biking trails that follow the coast line, as well as a huge sandy beach. I will definitely be taking advantage of those during my stay here. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Fort Bragg. I will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much Eva H, for the outstanding review! We are always excited to hear when a guest is having a 5/5 stay. I'm glad that you are enjoying your ocean views and beach/trail access and found the staff friendly and helpful - we take great pride in our customer service! Enjoy the rest of your stay here with us in prettiest corner of the California coast!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Beachcomber Motel has the best location in Fort Bragg. The rooms all have full ocean views, and the lower floor rooms all have access to the beach trail and bike trail right from the patio. The price for this location is fantastic. We almost booked the sister hotel "Surf and Sand", but after staying at the Beachcomber, I think they win on view and location. We had slider doors that opened to a patio with low rock wall you can step right over and be right on the trails. There were patio chairs out there for each room. We loved our room and the lobby had free snacks, hot cocoa, yogurt, etc. Our kids loved making their hot cocoa with the different flavoring mixes.
The staff was very welcoming and attentive to our questions. The only reason I can't give this motel a 5 star review is the WiFi. It never worked for us the whole time we were there. It was so slow that nothing could be uploaded. So if you need the internet for work, make sure this issue has been fixed before booking this motel. The other issue I had with our room was the cleanliness. We needed to keep our slider door open (which was great to hear the ocean waves!) because it was so stuffy. Maybe they need to replace the carpet or get it deep cleaned. The patio chairs were covered in dirt and bird droppings, so I had to clean them thoroughly before we could sit on them. The shower water pressure was just ok. We also would have liked to have a door latch in addition to the lock on our room. One thing I noticed right away on check in was the front desk had a chair that was all ripped up on the seat. The hotel roadside sign didn't really fit the place, and looks cheap. It wasn't a great first impression for such a cute place, so maybe the lobby needs a little sprucing up. But the motel itself is a very nice style and color. I would stay here again! Amazing views of the ocean and perfect location for walks to the beach and bluffs!

Room Tip: We prefer the lower floor because you can walk right out your patio doors to the trails. It is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfRiderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you MissLaineyBug for your great and thorough review! I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed our location and ocean access. There really is nothing quite like having the Pacific Ocean just out your back door!
As for the wi-fi, the trouble that you are referring to was just a temporary issue. Something went wrong on the hardware end of things but our internet service provider was able to come out very quickly and fix it and I'm am happy to say that it is back up and going strong!
We look forward to your next stay with us!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here in February 2013. The rooms are nearly right on the water. Walk right out of your sliding door and onto the beach to catch a sunset. It's only a few minutes from downtown where there are a few more things to do. Bring a wind-breaker, it gets windy here. And call them direct for the best rate vs. what you may find online.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ultrasweatproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you, Ultrasweatproof for your fantastic review! It's great to know that you found your experience to be 5/5 in every category! 100% satisfaction is always our goal. And you're right that the best way to make your reservation is to call us directly. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to our lovely slice of the north coast!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here just one night. The room was very reasonably price for "ocean view". The beach was very easy to access. The wife and grand daughter spent hours at the water's edge in the sand. Giant crashing waves! Unbelievable views!
The room was great, clean, well equipped, and had a great view of the water. The staff was very informative and friendly. Nice continental breakfast.
Just a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Not a bad view in the place. All are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you, jbrecher, for your lovely review and I'm so glad that your wife and granddaughter enjoyed the beach so much. We are definitely fortunate that Pudding Creek Beach - one of the most popular beaches in Fort Bragg - is right out our back door and that famous Glass Beach is nearby as well. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Fort Bragg for your next getaway.
Tina
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The Beachcomber surpassed our expectations and is by far the best hotel offered in Fort Bragg. The rooms were very nice and clean with a guaranteed ocean front view. Not even 100 yards away from the rooms is beach access to one of the best beaches in town! On the top level of the hotel there is large deck equiped with a bbq grill and bar area were there is a magnificent view of the sunsetting on the coastal skyline. We watched the sun set on this deck 4 out of the 5 days we stayed. Along with all of these great amenities, the staff was outstanding. They were friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. This is one of the best experiences I have ever had on vacation and plan on returning very soon!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you, Anna H, for your outstanding review! I'm so happy that your enjoyed your stay with us so much and that our staff was really able to enhance your Fort Bragg visit. The barbeque/bar area you mentioned is what we call "The Captain's Deck" and it's a great place for guests to hang out, so I'm glad you utilized it during your stay! We look forward to your next return trip too!
Tina
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is probably "The Best" place to stay in Fort Bragg. I felt like this could have gone potentially wrong as we drove by all the other run down, spooky looking hotels. But when we got to ours I was like, Omg this is amazing I am so happy right now! Rooms were immaculate! Lots of room in the room, very spacious and the view of the ocean from our room was picture perfect. Beds were super clean and dreamy comfortable. With the open slider to your large patio, we fell asleep to the sound of the crashing waves. It was almost like we put on one of those relaxation tapes. Everything I expected and more. Fantastic staff. The free Breakfast was amazing in the lobby. All the other guests seemed happy too. You can rent bikes, they have outdoor showers to wash the sand off. This place was a 10, perfect!

Room Tip: All the upstairs room seem the best but the downstairs rooms are great too, ALL have the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999Beachgirl012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I'm so glad you loved your stay, 32999Beachgirl012! We absolutely love to hear about how much guests enjoyed their stays here. I will definitely tell all the staff that you think we're a perfect 10! We can't wait to welcome you back to our lovely little slice of the coast as soon as you can make another getaway.
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing