We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value In Fort Bragg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The Beachcomer is the best value for families who want an decent room in a great location. Two wonderful beaches are a stroll away. The haul road to many other beaches and the bridge into town are fun and beautiful. Bring bikes and enjoy, we come here at least once a year and are never disappointed.

In a previous review there is a reference to a crummy room for last minute customers. I have stayed in this room and its not great but its cheap and the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Team03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2008

We loved this hotel. We really enjoyed the view!! And the room was remodeled recently. We had a fireplace and a massive room, a family room with 3 queen beds. The TV was huge. The service was kind and quick. The price was great. I would stay here again anytime!
The only complaint was a little too much road noise.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TexaninTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Love this place and do not understand all the problems that others have had.

We have stayed for four days every year for the past three years (07, 06, 05) always in late September or early October. Have never experienced any problems.

The staff has always been friendly and helpful.

Love, LOVE the dog friendly place to stay. Have never had a problem with that here. The walking path on the old road out back is great! Love walking the headlands. The beach is nice. They tell you the dog must be on leash but you see plenty of them not on leash and I didn't have any problems.

We typically stay street side and the road noise is not bad. It quiets nicely in the evening. Parking is at a premium but I've not had any problems.

The rooms are quant and small...it is a motel what do you expect? We have never experienced a smelly room, we have never had any functional problems in a room, no plumbing issues. Sure the bathrooms are a bit small...it is a motel for goodness sake.

Are the rooms expensive? No better or worse than any others. The location, walking areas and friendly staff makes up for the cost.

Good place to eat in Fort Bragg. I don't understand the one who said they only found Dennys and Perkos. Where where they looking? Silvers at the Noyo is wonderful.

Depressing in Fort Bragg? PLEASE! NO WAY. Even a bad foggy day in Bragg beats a good one somewhere else. Don't miss the Botanical Gardens - again dog friendly and beautiful all year round. Don't miss Point Cabrillo Light House. Don't miss JugHandle or Caspar Beach. There are tons of headlands to walk. If you are a photography nut, this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blackdog-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

My Boyfriend and I staid at the Beachcomber for a 2 night weekend getaway. We chose the motel because we were traveling with our dog! (They are dog friendly). We staid in one of the queen ocean view rooms. The room itself wasn't too special, kind of drab w/ stains on the carpet but we knew we were in a dog friendly room(they have certain rooms specially alloted for pet friendly) so we didnt mind. The hotel offers daily contiental breakfasts, fast free wifi internet and by far the best hotel shower water pressure!!!!!! Our room went out onto a shared Deck that had picnic tables and grills for guests to use. From the deck you walk out onto a path that runs parrallel to the beach full of walkers and bikers. From there it is only a short (less than 10 minute walk )down to a beautiful private beach with lots of small tide pools. Dogs are allowed on the beach but must be leashed (although none of the dogs we saw were leashed).
THe hotel is in a great location! You are close to many restaurants right on thier main street.

I would definitly stay at the Beachcomber next time I am in Fort Bragg!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sfnative01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This motel just north of the main drag is a perfect location. Our clean room had the most magnificent view of the beach and surf. We watched the sunset from our small balcony and smelled the fresh sea air. The staff was unobtrusive and friendly. This is a GREAT value - Mendocino views without the inflated prices.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We booked a stay at this hotel for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. What a beautiful view. We stayed in the jacuzzi room. It was an upstairs room over the office. The room was nice and the gas fireplace added a wonderful ambiance in the evening with no mess. The view off the deck is spectacular. The only drawback that I would mention is that like some of the other readers have said, there are no partitions between the balconies of the adjoining rooms. So, perfect view right into your room. For this reason I would only want to stay in one of the two rooms over the office. It was a little more private. There are many great restaurants in town and in the harbor . The motel is perfectly situated on a trail that goes for ever. Many bike riders, walkers and joggers go by. This is our second trip to Ft Bragg and we would definately stay here again. I wish they had complimentary bikes to use for the trail or at the very least, some we could have rented.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Perfect location on the bluffs above the ocean. Beach to the left and down the hill, bluffs to walk on straight ahead, rooms face due west for the sunset. Pricy at $162 single but Mendocino 25 miles or so to the south, even higher. Standard motel rooms, most with ocean view, they offered a no-ocean view for $109 plus tax but it would have been on the highway side. NO air conditioning, nice larger TV, fridge, coffee maker, no microwave, better than unusual towels, continental breakfast and free wi-fi. I like it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £105 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing