We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View, Great Value and Courteous Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Mountain Club
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean View, Great Value and Courteous Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

I was able to make a great deal with receptionist on cost of room as we arrived late. Our room overlooked the magnificent Northern California coastline and to top it off...I had forgotten our bicycle locks and they kindly allowed us to store our bikes up in their secure storage facility. Fresh coffee and danish next morning completed a very comfortable stay.
Thank you Pam (Amante)

Ian and Barbara Teague.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    221
    55
    25
    32
See reviews for
173
339
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Don't bother staying here!!!! After first night, woke up with bites on arm and back. Don't want to imagine why!!! The only good thing was the location which had a beautiful view but is it worh the money? NO!!!! Staff was not very friendly. Room needed much maintainence such as torn wallpaper, mold around windows, safety lock on sliding door did not work so couldn't open door for ventilation. Will not return..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrmaRedding_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

WOW!!! If you want to be on the Beach this is the place! My wife and I were looking for a place that was within walking distance to the beach. Were we shocked! We didn't have to walk far, it's on the beach! The rooms were great and looked like they were newly refurbished. Not much of a continental breakfast, but they don't advertise one....The staff was wonderful but the location and views were over the top!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolguyBoiseIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

My husband and three kids stayed at the Beachcomber in the summer. We were thrilled to be so close to the beach and a great trail for walking. Next time we come we will remember our bikes! We had a room with a kitchen which made it easy for a us to eat sporadically. We were also walking distance to glass beach. The staff was friendly and my kids loved the availability of hot chocolate in the lobby. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skygal92
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

What I love about The Beachcomber is the fantastic location. I'm the type that likes to step out of my hotel room and venture out by foot.You can do that there. Easy access to beach, town, walking trails. The view is fantastic! The rooms have always been clean and the staff very friendly and eager to please. A great getaway from the hustle and bustle!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank skygal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpr2004
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Great access to walking trails, the beach and ocean views. Close enough to town to walk or a quick drive, but not too close where you are bothered by noise. Staff is friendly, helpful and informative about events and things to do in the area. A+ . We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpr2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

We had previously stayed at the Ocean View Lodge. There are 3 hotels on the North Side of Ft. Bragg right on the 10 mile trail right on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. All three places have great views which is a big part of what you pay for. Ocean View has more powerful whitewater view and noise, but less panoramic. Have not stayed at Surf and Sand (the one in the middle.) Beachcomber is the Southern most of the 3, outstanding panoramic view and better sunset views than Ocean View. Also 5 minute walk to best beach in the area with few people. We went to Beachcomber primarily because same amenities, prices and rooms as Ocean View but Beachcomber takes dogs, Ocean View does not. It was well worth it. If you stay in a dog room, travel everything you need for your dog, even though they give you sheets for the dog if they sleep on the couch or floor, and some treats, be prepared with your own stuff. We never used the hot tub, but loved having the top floor room with staircase off back patio to take dog down to bluff. Our expectation was that this would be our "place when we have the dog with us." We are now going to make it our regular hotel in the area. Rooms are as good as Ocean View, closer to beach and walk down town... we didn't eat breakfast but free coffee, tea, hot chocolate around the clock was nice. Next time we would not pay for hot tub, just didn't use it but it looked nice, Ocean View hot tub is more of a big bath. Shower facilities were fine, had microwave and min-frig. Price of room is worth the walk to the beach. We visit because we love the area, the restaurants and the day trip possibilities.

There are a few negatives to be aware of, but did not affect our decision to return in the future.

Beds- not good. 1. Bed sheets, terrible, they have no elastic on the end so they come un-tucked the moment you move at night and I woke up a couple of times with my face on the mattress. Bed covers were warm though. 2. Also, only one pillow so bring your own if you need them. 3. Didn't stand out to me but the my wife commented that the middle of the bed sagged badly. Ocean view lodge beds were much more comfy.

Walls very thin. You can hear the neighbor's hot tub and since there are no time restrictions, when someone checked in late on our first night they used the tub, plus the tub runs on its own to clean every so often. If you do not want a tub, ask for this and be sure it is a room away from other hot tubs. Also, plan on hearing little kids if they are next door. Adults know how to keep voices down. We read about complaints about traffic and they were valid, affected hearing the ocean during the day, not so bad at night.

To us, all of the negatives are well worth staying. If you don't have a dog, you will find the Ocean View lodge to be great too. A little quieter.

Restaurants of interest- We love North Coast Brewery, Mendo Bistro, Eggheads. The Noyo restaurants are tourist traps but still worth a visit. Le Petite Riv in Little River is very expensive but worth it for special occasions. Try the Bamboo Garden Spa.

Check out Pt. Cabrillo Lighthouse, provides for a nice hike, wildlife and the best restored lighthouse complex we have seen. Several vista points between Ft. Bragg and Westport are worth the short drive. No trip to Ft. Bragg is complete without glass beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tennisbronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing