We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best buy in housing in the Mendocino area.”
Review of Colombi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colombi Motel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stay at the Colombi Motel every summer. It is the cleanest place you could find. You get a kitchen, a clean bathroom and the 50's motor court feel. Plus you go across the street to their store, you can get anything you might need and the Colombi's own the laudramat next door, so you can keep your clothes clean and tidy too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockyshoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Colombi is very cute, clean and safe. It's very well kept up by the Colombi family who also own the laundromat next door and the market across the street (which serves as the office, by the way), as well as a few other places in town, I'm told. Apparently this family has been in Fort Bragg for generations, and they have the reputation of taking really good care of all their properties. The motel is cute 50s style, and we were given a room with a kitchen (with a closing door - nice for people who sleep at different times) for an amazing price. No coffee in the room, but it (as well as tea & hot chocolate) are free at the market. You can rent a bunch of utensils, pots, pans, etc from the market for $5. I'd definitely stay here again - no qualms. Try Taqueria Ricarda's across the street for delicious authentic Mexican meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5,995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent value for the money; located about a half a mile inland in a quiet Fort Bragg neighborhood. Quaint and charming with a 50's flair; rooms are clean, comfortable, and very affordable. (If you don't want to spend a small fortune for a room, have dinner at The Wharf instead of paying for one of those pricey hotels with an ocean view.) The reservation desk is at the Colombi Market and Deli across the street -- you can get some great deli food to bring back to your room if you like -- most rooms come with a kitchenette. The last time I visited, my daughter and I stayed in a two bedroom unit -- it was great for privacy and for keeping our belongings separated. (We both had TV's, too!) So if you want a cozy, well-maintained room for a fraction of what the fancy inns and B & Bs charge, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a carport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A few blocks from downtown; walk to downtown Fort Bragg is through a somewhat dreary looking neighborhood. Actually, Fort Bragg itself is kinda dreary compared to many other towns in Northern California. Very pleasant management. Free coffee across street in deli/convenience store. Had one of the deli sandwiches, too; pretty tasty. Quiet room with all the basics except cooking utensils and silverware in the kitchenette. Bed and pillows OK. Park right next door to your room in smallish-looking carport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveCDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved our time here last week. We had the large room with kitchen, and it was very clean.

A little unusual in that you check in at the deli on the corner and despite having a kitchen, utensils could be obtained for a further $5, which was different.

But you couldn't beat the peace, quiet and comfortable bed - something which is sadly lacking in this week's much more expensive hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sixties_Music_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Colombi Motel many times in the last thirty years and we've never been disappointed. Whenever we are in the Mendocino area this is our favorite place to stay. The rooms come with a kitchen and are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had been traveling on a cross country trip and came upon this family run motel via trip advisor. The motel is a family run motel and is spotless. Although it is not fancy, it is spotless and has a comfortable feel with the little personal touches such as throw pillows etc. It felt as if I was staying at my grandmother's house. There is even a little kitchen in case you are traveling with some breakfast items. It's very quiet since the owners really discourage any noisy or intoxicated tenants. While our stays at the motel chains ran together in our minds, this little place really stands out and we would not have found it had it not been for the reviews on Tripadvisor. There is no pool and we checked into the motel in the evening and left in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which was roomy and had a homelike feel to it. Our room was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#16 of 23 in Fort Bragg
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
322 reviews
1 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
227 reviews
1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombi Motel

Address: 647 E Oak St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3735
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £56 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outside view of Colombi Motel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colombi Motel Fort Bragg
Colombi Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing