We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Ft. Bragg stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“December Ft. Bragg stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We went to the Country Inn on a Living Social Deal. The price seemed pretty attractive for what we were getting. Reading reviews, I heard people raving about the breakfast. Would I return here again?: No. The rooms were quaint & the service to them was impeccable. BUT, the carpeting in the room was horribly stained, as was the carpeting down the main hallway. It made the room quite unattractive! The rest of the house has many areas that were cluttered, which also was unattractive. The couple servicing the B & B were responsive & helpful. The breakfast was not ordinary but not spectacular either. I would have liked some sort of meat with the offerings and some sort of pastry or muffin, instead of limp tortillas. We wanted a fireplace room and had to pay extra for it. With our LS deal, they asked us to pay $35. a night for the fireplace. Even though we enjoyed having the fire, I wish I hadn't paid the extra $$ for it. What we got each night was one $3. Presto Log. Didn't seem worth the cost. Don't expect any lush or attractive grounds either. The B&B is located on the main drag, right off the street. It is in in the older, historic part. That being said, at this time of year, we did not find noise an issue, once inside. I had more of an issue with how cold their cramped dinning area was when we came for BKF! I would not say not to go, especially if you get a deal. But, there were many places to choose from & in December, you'd think prices would be lower. I'd shop around first.

Room Tip: Might want to be towards the back and off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wench117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    52
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
149
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We arrived just before 10 PM after a long drive up the coast. We were reprimanded for being so late. Then we were told we HAD to choose a time for breakfast immediately....before we lugged our bags up the 2 flights of stairs to a room called "Granny's Atic". We tried to get settled quietly, as all the other rooms were dark.
We needed a corkscrew to open our bottle of wine, before we went out to the hot tub and had to knock on the manager's door, since it was closed. She very reluctanly found one to loan us. The hot tub was a complete disappointment; it was barely warm. We were out there for 5 minutes and when we came back inside, all the lights were out!
The bedding consisted of worn (vintage???) flannel sheets. Not pleasant at all. There was no shower.....just a tub and a hand held shower attachment we found tucked into a drawer. It had to be shoved up into the faucet; there was no stopper for the tub, or shower curtain, so it was VERY uncomfortable. It was an atic room and there were dormers everywhere. Charming, yes, but anyone over 5'4" could not stand up straight except for in the middle of the room.
The food at breakfast was tasty, but as another reviewer said, there were no choices. One guest was vegetarian and another was diabetic and they was very little for them to eat.

Unfortunately, we were prepaid for 2 nights and had to make the best of it, but will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank childsvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a disappointment once we arrived that we chose to not stay and quickly took our bags back to the car and left the key on the counter as we departed. Simply looking inside the place ruined the trip for us. We felt 1) unsafe since we could only lock our room from inside and windows appeared as if they could be opened from the outside; 2) unclean from stains on the carpet/chairs, and 3) unsure whether we'd get any breakfast at all or what they might be since it wasn't indicated. Moreover, if you didn't sign up for breakfast the day before then you didn't get any--now how's that for a welcome, glad you're here? We are frequent travelers and this place by far was the worst we've both ever encountered, and in need of some love and care (or perhaps new owners). When we arrived the front office was a mess. The gentleman who greeted us looked as though he had been sleeping there all day and there was stuff thrown all over the floor. We agree with the reviewer who asked how this place got a ranking of 3? If this place is ranked that high on the list of B&Bs then others in Ft. Bragg must be awful. We wanted to like the place since we'd been driving for several hours and my partner was celebrating his b'day, but what a terrible disappointment and we will never head back to Ft. Bragg and/or recommend this place to anyone. Stay away and look for some place on the out skirts of town overlooking the water or better yet--in Mendocino.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

As a well travelled couple we stayed here for 1 night as part of a California driving holiday. Sadly, we ended up wishing we hadn't - as we really wanted to like the place and recent reviews looked positive.

Location - Poor. You are right on Highway 1 - which stays busy all day and night too. Of course there is no sound proofing...so it's a noisy stay...I dont think there could be any room where this would not affect you.

Room - Poor. Really Really badly stained and dirty carpet throughout the place & in our room too. We like to take our shoes off in our room...and regretted it...just unpleasent. Bathroom was good size ..but lots of hair all over the floor and in the sink hole. Waste basket in here and in the bedroom had previous occupants rubbish still there. No curtains (just blinds) on the windows meant that when it got light....you woke up. Not good if you have just had a long drive the day before. Bed was comfortable though.

Breakfast - Is included in the price of the stay. Breakfast is at either 8.30 or 9.15am, and served up by the owner (who was friendly and obviously a good cook). Unfortunately all those guests choosing the 8.30 slot were waiting 35 minutes to be served anything, and some of them were in a rush to leave. No choice of breakfast at all - you got what was on offer that day. In our case that was orange juice, baked egg & toast and potato. Not to everyones taste - but no choice at all! What there was though was very nicely cooked. I enjoyed it.

Overall - You can see what someone was trying to do here...but it's all a bit hit & miss...really needs some money spending on the carpet and decor..a little more thought around breakfast options..curtains in your room and a good clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ_0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
The Country Inn is under new ownership as of October 2012. We have be purposeful in addressing issues raised by past guests and have been busy redecorating, cleaning, repairing, and updating things in general. Guests will enjoy new linen and towels; rooms decorated with timeless antiques; prompt, hearty, and delicious breakfasts with vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options; complimentary snacks and treats in the common room, wine and appetizers on Saturday evenings, and many more little extras we hope will make you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We arrived exhausted from driving all day. It was so nice to drive up, ring the door bell, and walk into a home-like environment. We stayed in the Summertime room and it was darling. As cliche as it may sound- it was like staying in a little doll house room. It was old-fashioned and comfortable. My only suggestion is for the owners to use pillow covers to protect the pillows and guests. Otherwise, breakfast was wonderful and our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in the middle of a California road trip. Lisa was friendly and welcoming, the rooms were exactly as pictured and the location was great. An evening soak in the hot tub was an added bonus after a long day. Breakfast was wonderful- fresh fruit and more than enough terrific food. All at a very reasonable price. Stayed in the very front, first floor room and didn't have any problem with noise, but I can imagine if anyone was sitting on the porch at night we would have heard them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan10RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Is it possible for a great experience to get better? Yes, it is! Our trip to Fort Bragg in April is destined to become an annual event, as is staying at the Country Inn Bed & Breakfast. The new innkeeper, Lisa, added warmth and humor to our, again, excellent stay at this most-affordable funky but spotlessly clean and cozy home away from home. Don't miss breakfast and ask Lisa to make you her roasted red potatoes with herbs picked fresh from the garden. Amazing. Feeling more familiar this time, we skipped the fancy dinner and found a local treasure just a couple blocks away at Piaci Pizza, a tiny friendly place serving the best pizza on this coast. We did go back this year for dinner at the wharf's Chapter and Moon. The owner/chef cleverly invented a fresh and delicious vegan gluten-free meal for fussy me but also fed my omnivorous husband very very well. A local raw food culinary school has a deli just up the road from Country Inn that offers wonderful choices for vegan and gluten-free meals. The Inn's location is perfect for a walk to Headland's Coffee or Glass Beach. So what if there is no television and only sporadic internet reception in Pomo Sunrise room? Walk a few blocks to the fabulous used bookstore and get something to read in the quiet comfort of the quilted queen bed after a soak in the hot tub. See you next April, Lisa!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missimeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#9 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 632 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home on the Mendocino Coast. A full gourmet breakfast and farm fresh eggs are included each morning you stay with us. We are committed to a traditional B&B experience; including a scrumptious breakfast, round the clock coffee/tea/coco, snacks and food extras, and personalized attentive service. This 1890's residence has been beautifully and thoughtfully renovated. It's Just steps away from downtown shops, restaurants, North Coast Brewing Company, Glass Beach, and the Skunk Train. Enjoy the hot tub and private redwood deck after a long day hiking to north coast. All of our beds have tempurpedic bed toppers, down comforters, high thread count cotton sheets, and plush towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Hotel Fort Bragg
Country Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing