We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great place to stay! The room was comfortable and very clean!
The service was excellent! The inn keeper was very friendly, helpful and a great cook! Breakfast was excellent both days we stayed.
The location is great! Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Very close to glass beach and the skunk train station.
I think it's great that the room lock and you get a key. I stayed at a different B&B where the only time you could lock a door was when you were in the room.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon0776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked one night at Country Inn for our coastal motorcycle trip last August. As luck would have it, we got a flat on the bike about 25 miles south of Fort Bragg. Once we were finally able to get cell reception to notify the B&B, they were very accommodating and mentioned that they would leave a key for us outside, since we would be arriving so late.

Innkeeper Cynthia was still awake when we arrived and checked us in promptly. The next morning, the proprietress (Lisa perhaps?) kindly checked in on us and offered help with locating nearby auto shops. With Fort Bragg being such a small town, no motorcycle shops were open on Sundays, so we extended our stay by one night.

Let me just tell you, we couldn't have picked a better town to get stranded in. This town is absolutely adorable, and we had a great time just walking around and exploring.

Recommendations: have a casual dinner at Piaci's Pizza & Pub or enjoy a slightly nicer ambience at Mendo Bistro - both are mouth-wateringly delicious. Skip dessert at the restaurants and visit nearby Cowlick's Ice Cream or Mendocino Cookie Co (cookies half off after 5:30pm or so). Then grab a beer at North Coast Brewing Co (try the Old Rasputin). You can also stroll to the beach and hunt for colored sea glass or just enjoy a nice walk.

Back to the B&B. While we enjoyed a full day on the town, we mostly retreated to our room once back at the inn. We did test out the hot tub, though, as others had mentioned, it wasn't in full operation. Note: if you're the kind of person who likes to socialize at B&Bs, this may not be the place for you. But if you are just looking for a relaxing place to enjoy alone time with your sweetie, then the Country Inn is a great place to do just that.

Overview:

Rooms - cute, cozy, and clean. Not 5-star quality -- but remember, you aren't paying 5-star prices either.

Location - convenient. Everything was within walking distance, and we didn't have a problem with the traffic noise on Main Steet.

Breakfast - delicious. The sign-up procedure was a bit unusual, but we got our food at the promised time. The first morning we ate at the communal table, and the second morning we opted for breakfast in bed.

Value - very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The best part of this BB was the location. It was right on the main street. We were able to walk to dinner and to Glass Beach. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The only problem is that breakfast was served at 9:00. As early risers we were hoping to be able to eat sooner. Cynthia did offer to provide us with a bagged breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbrb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Cynthia greeted us warmly upon our arrival. We had the first floor room nearest the front of the house. The room was tastefully decorated, the queen size bed was comfortable, and the electric heater was sufficient to warm the room. The was a sign up for which of the two breakfasts we would be eating at. The breakfasts were delilcious. The B&B was part of a package we got through "Living Social." The package included the B&B, ticket to the Botanical Gardens, tickets for the "Skunk Train," and a $75 voucher toward dinner at the "Mendo Bistro."

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingGuy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Our experience was awful from the cold, unwelcoming greeting by the owner, to the substandard room, to the bad news that breakfast the next morning was ONLY being served at 9 AM even after we told the owner we needed to leave by 7:45 AM. Every other B&B where we've stayed has offered at least two breakfast seatings or let us pick a time to eat. Not here - it was 9 AM and no other option available, not even coffee or fruit was offered, and certainly no partial refund of our room + breakfast rate. The house smelled of dirty carpet and mildew, and the common area was not welcoming. Our room was very outdated, sort of like staying at my great aunt Ruth's house, with the bathroom fixtures being in terrible condition. The mattress on the bed clearly had seen better days, with that dreaded middle sag that bodes of a poor night's sleep. We and several other guests had problems using the room keys, which were very difficult to turn and required at least three attempts to lock or unlock the rooms. This is an old house with very little soundproofing so we were able to clearly hear other guests coming, going, and talking. For the rate we were charged, this place was an utterly dismal experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FPepoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Cynthia gave a friendly welcome and showed off the Inn. It is not "in the country", but on the main drag through Ft. Bragg. Some parking in the rear. Rooms are set back and traffic noise is not an issue. The Inn is decorated in numerous styles with plenty of bric-brac. I had a sufficient size queen bed room, firm mattress; I slept well. The bathroom a bit small. Bed time hours afforded me a listening-in on other guests laughter, conversations, snooring, showers, etc. The breakfast was creative, but did not fill the stomach of this grown man. Coffee was a bit weak.
Overall, the price paid for this in-'n-out overnight stay compared well to hotels/motels in the area and had a better flair. A short walk down the street is the North Coast Brewing Company Taproom and Grill. It has my recommendation!

PS: The Country Inn is up for sale.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived late afternoon, the place was freezing...showed to our room, which was small but clean. There was an electric wall heater which the man who was there turned in. The "common area" was not inviting, had two stoves to heat it but they were not on. We ended up spending our evening having dinner and then sitting in the local Starbucks to have coffee, read and be warm. We were not displeased with the breakfast, actually it was good, but we were surprised not to have smelled anything cooking....and the only time we saw the proprietress was when we went to let them know we were not staying for the next night. It just missed in so many ways..comfort, warmth, congeniality. But as my husband said, we got what they said...bed and a breakfast. Also our bedroom window did not open, which is not acceptable to me.

Room Tip: Make sure your windows open! This was a strange place......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
0.9 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 632 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £109 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home on the Mendocino Coast. A full gourmet breakfast and farm fresh eggs are included each morning you stay with us. We are committed to a traditional B&B experience; including a scrumptious breakfast, round the clock coffee/tea/coco, snacks and food extras, and personalized attentive service. This 1890's residence has been beautifully and thoughtfully renovated. It's Just steps away from downtown shops, restaurants, North Coast Brewing Company, Glass Beach, and the Skunk Train. Enjoy the hot tub and private redwood deck after a long day hiking to north coast. All of our beds have tempurpedic bed toppers, down comforters, high thread count cotton sheets, and plush towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Fort Bragg
Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing