We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under new ownership - I recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“under new ownership - I recommend!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In reading the reviews, you should only really take those into account that occurred after the change of ownership in late 2012.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Country Inn B&B last weekend and really enjoyed our time there. There was a convenient parking lot right behind the building. The place was very clean, and the inn keeper Christine was very nice and accommodating. The room came with a bottle of wine, but neither of us like wine, and Christine allowed us to make a substitute to something we both liked. There were delicious truffles waiting for us when we arrived, along with fresh flowers and mints by the bedside. And, the room also included tickets to the local botanical gardens, which was very cool to visit.

The room was very clean and well maintained. The sheets were incredibly soft, and the blankets plush and inviting. There is a also a great hot tub on site, that is very welcoming and relaxing after being on your feet and exploring all day.

The meals were A-MAZING! So delicious! Christine is an amazing cook, and you could tell that she went out of her way to make the breakfast a step above any that you would get at any other B&B. A gourmet treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Alison,
I’m so glad that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We really try to cater to our guest’s special requests and/or needs. It was a pleasure to provide you with alternate options for the package you purchased. The Inn changed hands in late September 2012, and we have been (and continue) to work to update and improve things.
I hope you’ll be able to visit us again sometime.
-C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    52
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
151
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were met by Christine and Riley at the door and right away we felt very welcomed. First off, if you do not like dogs, do not come here. Riley is as fast as a rabbit which is probably what his ancestors chased in Wales. We had the Autumn Song room which had an actual fireplace. Christine provided a commercial log every evening for a wonderful ambiance. Just light the paper and it is off and burning. Our Living Social package included wine, candy and tickets to the Botanical Gardens. Christine was very gracious and bent over backwards for our needs. Probably the most important aspects of this stay were an incredibly comfortable bed and tasty breakfasts. Christine appears to be going organic and self sufficient as she has a very nice garden in the rear of the property. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Read comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and noticed all the little touches we include to try to make our guests feel special and well cared for.

Riley is a Corgi, and they were originally bread to heard cattle, believe it or not. We try to be very sensitive to guests that are either fearful or allergic to dogs. When such guests are visiting we keep Riley in the innkeepers quarters. Though he does enjoy having visitors like yourself that can appreciate his energy and exuberance.

The garden is doing great and we do have plans to expand with a greenhouse. We are also adding a chicken coop and hope to be producing our own organic/fresh eggs by this time next year. All of our "girls" are still pretty little at this point though.

Everyone here at the Inn hopes you are able to join us again sometime. It was wonderful meeting you both.

-C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a very comfortable stay. Christine, the innkeeper, was friendly and on top of things. Located in town on Highway 1 so easy to walk to shops, restaurants, North Coast Brewing and only a few blocks from Glass Beach. The inn is very clean and bed was one of the best we have slept in. The decor is pretty outdated but everything is in good shape. Only minor con was the room smelled a tad musty but was fine with the fireplace heater going. Hot tub was a nice touch on an enclosed, private deck and fun to have the wine and cheese on Saturday afternoon. Breakfasts were huge and tasty but not on the low cal side! We would come back again when we want to stay in Ft. Bragg.

Room Tip: Pomo room in the back was quiet and gets the early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

What some might call "outdated furniture" we call antiques, and we are quite happy with our hand picked collection of furniture which matches the date, period, feel of this 1890's residence.

Rooms can become a bit "musty" during wet/rainy weather, especially when the bathroom fan is not run during/after showers.

We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Purchased their two night special, I contacted Christine at last minute, she was quite accommodating for MLK weekend. This was a family trip. Loved the morning breakfast, plus when I forgot to place my order one morning, Christine ensure she left a reminder under my door and provided room service... Exceptional!
Location, location walking distance to downtown, skunk train, shop, restaurants and the beautiful beach. My Living Social package included, one bottle of wine with chocolate and two tickets to the Botanical Garden. The botanical garden is ideal for whale watching some of the best coast line views!

My only issue with this place is the heating system, it gets so hot and it's quite difficult to taper it down to a lower temp, so as result I turn it off and woke up quite cold. No fun being cold in the middle of the night.

Overall, if I am ever in a Fort Bragg again, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to make sure all of our guests feel special and cared for.

I do wish you had mentioned your trouble with the heater while you were here so that we could have addressed it, or perhaps just given instructions on usage. We certainly want all of our guests to be comfortable while here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my first stay at a b&b and it won't be my last. The inn is very homey and situated right across the street from the beach. The rooms were clean, large, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed was. But the best part of the stay was the breakfast provided by the gracious and skilled innkeeper Christine. She served stuffed french toast with caramelized apples that was absolutely divine. I highly recommend the Country Inn Bed and Breakfast for your next stay in Fort Bragg. I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and it has been excellent. The new owners that have been running it for the last year have made it even better. The bedding has been updated and the food is even better (though it was already excellent). They are friendly and helpful. It is by far the best value B&B in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNK40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Country Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are always so happy to welcome back repeat guests. I’m so happy that you enjoyed your stay and notice all of the new little touches we’ve implemented.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Christine and Riley (the corgi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I love this bed and breakfast. They've put in a bunch of nice touches (in the common area, they serve wine and cheese on Saturday afternoon, there is a stack of crocheted throws to use, if you're chilly). We only stayed one night. The feel of the place was gently used. I'm a bit of a klutz and worry about breaking nice things. I could relax here.

The location is central to "downtown" Fort Bragg, and we easily walked to dinner at Piaci Pub and Pizzaria, to Headlands Coffeehouse for live music and to North Coast Brewery for a final beer.

We slept in Grandma's attic. It was a warm room at the top of the stairs with slanted roof line that challenged my 6'2" boyfriend. Also the bathroom only has a claw foot tub, with a handheld shower attachment. It worked for me, but talk people will have to negotiate the slanted ceiling when getting out.

The niche where the bed is located did create an amplification chamber for the snorers, and I will sleep at the other end of the bed, when I go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtieDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 632 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home on the Mendocino Coast. A full gourmet breakfast and farm fresh eggs are included each morning you stay with us. We are committed to a traditional B&B experience; including a scrumptious breakfast, round the clock coffee/tea/coco, snacks and food extras, and personalized attentive service. This 1890's residence has been beautifully and thoughtfully renovated. It's Just steps away from downtown shops, restaurants, North Coast Brewing Company, Glass Beach, and the Skunk Train. Enjoy the hot tub and private redwood deck after a long day hiking to north coast. All of our beds have tempurpedic bed toppers, down comforters, high thread count cotton sheets, and plush towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Hotel Fort Bragg
Country Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing