We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Cliff Hotel(Fort Bragg)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Inn(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Lite Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf & Sand Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
4
12
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
12
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatch the fishing boatsbasic roomparking lotnoyo harborsealswharffishermanhornsilversamenitiesbalconies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Anchor Lodge several times over the last 20 years. While of course we love the frills of high-end hotels, this place has a certain small, coastal town charm that we really enjoy. When we go to the Anchor, of course we know it's not going to be the Ritz, but there are other trade-offs that we love. Yes, the place is old, and has an "odor" (it's hard to rid rooms of age-old cigarette smell) but at least the rooms are clean. We always ask for a room on the water (beware of the rooms in the parking lot!!); you get a king-size bed, and we love to sit on the balcony and watch the fishing boats come and go (we are "deck-sitters" from way back-!). The sunsets are beautiful; it's so nice to wake up in the morning and go out on your deck and smell the ocean air, and watch the harbor seals and sea lions swim right up to your deck to say hi! Another plus is the bar and restaurant are right upstairs so we don't have to drive if we don't want to (and we agree, the food in the restaurant upstairs is great!! - and, other places are within walking distance). We have been guilty of being the "foot-stompers" in the lounge late at night sometimes, and we have also been the folks directly below, wanting to get a good night's sleep; we just know that is the gamble we are going to take when we stay there. We've met some awesome people here and we've had some amazing times. I can understand and sympathize with those whose experiences here have not been exactly five-star, especially the first-timers that might have higher expectations. I just wanted to present another side of the coin; that if you're willing to give up some amenities, this can be a really cool little place to stay that's easier on the pocketbook than most.

  • Stayed: May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rambler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

If you are going to stay at the Anchor Lodge be aware that room 20 is a nightmare!!!!!! The restaurant (which has absolutely fantastic food) is directly above the lodge. By 8.00 pm that night the sound of non stop foot traffic above our heads (imagine being under a dance floor) and the fog horn which blew non stop every 30 seconds (yes we counted-ugh!!!) was beyond extreme to say the least. Thanks to an employee who knew what she was doing at the restaurant (we learned they use to handle the reservations) she moved us to another room at the end of the hall. At that point we were floored because we discovered we had been placed in the wrong room. The other room had paint still drying on the deck, the chain for the light fixture was coming out of the ceiling, the fire alarm was barely hanging on the ceiling, and the shower door was coming off and had to be lifted and trust me it hurt bad to be pinched by the shower door. Interesting too is that the employee that I set up the reservations with informed me that there was only one room left – that was a lie because we were the only people there- we were not informed that we were suppose to check in at the hotel on top of the hill- we were not warned of the noise above - plus the wrong room. Fortunately the room we were placed in was at the best 60% better noise wise. The restaurant employee stated they will try not to use the bottle shoot that night so we can get some rest. The bottle shoot!!!! Don’t get me wrong it was wonderful waking up and being literally on the harbor but everything else that went with the experience has brought us to the strong conclusion that we will eat at the restaurant again but you couldn’t pay us to stay at the lodge again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gloria321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

They lost our reservation. When we arrived at 11pm the hotel was booked. Jim, the owner, came to the property and met with us, made dozens of phone calls (on a Friday night, the whole town was booked). We did finally find a place. We didn't get an opportunity to stay at this location, but the folks we met while waiting for Jim had good things to say about it, especially for the price. Their standard rate was $65 - at least $100 or more less than other local hotels. I have worked in the business, and have never met another owner who would have gone as far as Jim did for us - and we didn't even get to stay there. He will have my business when we return to the area, simply because of the customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank cprn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

The rooms are dirty, bare, run down and reeked of cigarette smoke. The motel is scary and the walls are paper thin (could hear someone snoring in the room next door). We hated it so much that we almost packed up our stuff at 4am to drive back to San Francisco. We waited two hours and got out of there first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank djr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chico, CA.
114
Reviewed 29 June 2006

My husband and I have stayed many times at the Anchor Inn over the years. It's a "plain jane", no frills, no phone kind of place. Most of the time there is a remote for the TV though. The showers are small and the water pressure fluctuates at times. It is clean and well kept and very inexpensive. We stay there as there are several places to eat that you can walk to for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We ride motorcycles and our criteria for stopping each night is to have a bar, restaurant and room at each stop. This fits the bill and has a view of the ocean and Noyo River.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews