We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Inexpensive, Beautiful”
Review of Pine Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Beach Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by this inexpensive, clean motel, set in a gorgeous domesticated wilderness. I took a chance because it was inexpensive and I could bring my dog. My room, a double queen, was very clean, with brand new carpeting. Nothing fancy, but clean. But the big surprise was the outdoor area: the huge yard is well kept and each unit has its own little concrete patio with chairs. A short walk down a beautiful path to the unbelievably pristine Pine Beach -- a private beach for those staying at the motel and a couple of other fancier properties -- was what I did with my dog every morning. Some people stay here to dive for abalone and co-existing with them was great. The motel has a place to wash down scuba equipment and I used it to hose down the dog before going into the room. The only downside was spotty cell service; wifi can only be caught in the office.

Room Tip: Staying longer than a few days gets you a cheaper rate.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Pine Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Nothing flashy other than it has "private" beach access. Could stand to have some updating done, but for 1 night's stay it's ok. We've stayed at worse.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowkissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Really need to give these people some credit, OK, it's not a 5 star, the breakfast is very basic, the corners in the rooms are finished rough, vinyl floor in the bathroom not tile. This is a rustic hotel, the yard here is very beautiful, it feels like we are it the middle of the forest where the birds sing, there is a walkway to the Ocean. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rustic, quaint, DON'T expect a 5 star. Don't use Hotels.com you will get better value by dea...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I wasn't expecting much out of this place with the so-so reviews on here and other sites. But, I was pleasantly surprised. I was staying alone but booked a double queen room and thankfully it was not in the two story part of the hotel because I had a bunch of scuba gear with me. The room was huge and had a lot of space and the bathroom was clean and fine. The room was musty when I first got into it, but opening the sliding glass door to the little porch outside my room aired it out quick. The heater worked well, and the satellite TV was a nice touch. It's a bit far from the town of Fort Bragg and to my destination at Little River, and its a shame that there is little to no cell service at the hotel but I felt secure staying here and had very little complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, but was pleased in the end. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a little musky, but clean and huge. Beds were comfertable but could use a little updating on linens. View was great of the private cove. The trail was easy to walk down to the beach, and enjoyed a wonderful sunset.

Room Tip: Get room on south end overlooking beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The pet friendly rooms were located near the highway, so there was traffic noise. Also the walls are very thin so easy to hear your neighbors--not so nice. The beds were average to better than average. Low water pressure in shower. Did include microwave and mini fridge. Reasonable price. The grounds are very nice as was the manager. The lighting was poor and there were major tears in some of the furniture so a bit sleazy...But I gave it an average rating because rooms that were on the quiet side of the property looked to be in better shape (friends had a room on that side) and were quieter.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with a pet ask for the quietest room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have one thing to say about this run down Hotel,do not wast your money on this older then dirt flop house.The rooms remind me of what you might see in in the slums of Stockton California. If you book there you have only yourself to blame. Consider yourself warned!!!! By the way I booked through Hotels.com, I payed 33 dollars more then if I would have booked myself. I wonder if they gouge all the people that book through them. Stay away from hotels.com. The good reviews on this run down hotel must have been from friends and family of the slum lords.

Room Tip: Do not book through hotels.com
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.6 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
221 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
489 reviews
2.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Beach Inn

Address: 16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pine Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing