We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting”
Review of Pine Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Redwood Valley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

When I viewed this Inn online it looked very nice. When I called and made the reservation I was talked out of getting a suite and getting a room with a king bed and jacuzzi tub with an ocean view. Which cost like $10 less than the suites. When we arrived for our reservation it seemed like a nice quiet place. If you like quiet this is a nice place for you, can't hear any traffic. So we check in and go to our room. Room seemed clean for the most part. A little dusty and some cobwebs around. Look out the window and didn't see any ocean. Just tall trees. And the jacuzzi tub was not very big at all. Then our door during the night stop closing properly so couldnt leave to go anywhere because could only lock it with the deadbolt. Has a nice private beach. And the next morning there wasn't anything but cereal and bagels for breakfast. DEFINATELY not worth the price I paid for the room. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    41
    22
    29
    30
See reviews for
34
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our second stay here, and again we had an excellent stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice but not huge, everything was clean and the jacuzzi tub was just icing on the cake. Really though this place isn't about the rooms. The best features of this hotel are the fantastic Thai restaurant (Viraporn's Thai), an entrance to the Jug Handle Wilderness Preserve, and best off all the amazing private beach cove that isn't open to the public and is only reachable by a path on the hotel grounds.
The only real minus was that the bed was pretty much on the hard side of firm; but even that isn't enough to take away from the breathtaking view and sense of seclusion.
One thing to beware of though is that there is no Internet access and no cell reception (at least not with AT&T or Verizon). That was a hard pill to swallow at first, but now I can't imagine having it any other way. Probably not the place to stay if you're on business, but an absolutely GREAT getaway from the modern world if you're looking for somewhere to "unplug" for awhile. Bring a book, some swim trunks, and get ready to enjoy a secluded and historic location on the beautiful northern coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The room was very nice, clean and near the beach. There was a refridgerator and a microwave. The beds were very comfortable. We watched some good movies on the TV.

The landscaping on the grounds was beautiful. The best part was the access to the private beach behind our room. The beach was amazing!

We will stay there again when we go back to Fort Bragg next year for our next wedding anniversay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closer to the beach. We were in room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weyesowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We purchased an ocean view room with a king bed. Yes, you could see the ocean and there is a nice little beach, but the hotel is shabby. The moldy smell to the room and the old linens were a real disappointment. The are other places to stay. We were fooled by their website which makes it appear more attractive. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banjogirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Mendocino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Pine Beach Inn may have been a hit 25 years ago, but now it is a run down venue with many problems. The room and outside porch was not clean. Fingerprints all over the sliding door; no way to keep the slider open for ventilation as there was a printed warning "do not leave door open at night or when away; heavy odor in room; bathroom toilet seat loose and chipped; sink drain plugged up and best of all, tons of hair caught in the shower drain. Cost us $109 and a huge disappointment. No WiFi and no cell reception. Stay away from this place!

Room Tip: There are not tips to choose a good room -- stop and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nocalcoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

We arrived late at night. The room and furnishings were old but clean. The next morning we saw the view. We loved the view and stroll to the water. We really like the location and will probably stay again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Monicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
5.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
2.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Beach Inn

Property: Pine Beach Inn
Address: 16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing