We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bargain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Bargain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place was a pleasant surprise. It is quite inexpensive compared to other places in the area, quiet, not at all fancy, but clean. No phone reception but that's true of lot of places near the coast. Wifi is only available near reception. The really special feature is the beach access which is very private and beauitiful. Places that cost a lot more money don't have that feature. Continental breakfast not impressive, staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    22
    29
    29
See reviews for
33
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nice, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have stayed here many, many times, and this is our favorite place to go to get away, especially when we want to beat the inland heat! Our dogs are welcome there and they have the best dog beach I've ever been on, being in a cove that keeps your dogs safe from running off forever and the waves are not too rough. And it's private, so it's one of the very few beaches in the area where you can let your dog off leash. Check the tide charts for some awesome tidepooling there, too! Management is super-friendly and the price is super-reasonable. We recommend it to people all the time! I have tons of photos but I wasn't able to upload them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

we weren't expecting Ritz-Carlton accommodations when booking this place, because we were just looking for something relatively inexpensive anyway. but it was obvious the rooms haven't been renovated in the last 30 years or so. the room also came with DirecTV, which was a nice surprise, until you realize that you only get a handful of channels. and forget about WiFi access, and even 3G for that matter, since there is no AT&T reception in the area. i will note that the room was pretty big compared to most hotel rooms.
but what was truly awesome is the beach access. the few inns in the area have private access to a beautiful beach that is not even visible from the nearby roads. i wish we could have spent more time there.

Room Tip: rooms along the highway can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojowop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

When I viewed this Inn online it looked very nice. When I called and made the reservation I was talked out of getting a suite and getting a room with a king bed and jacuzzi tub with an ocean view. Which cost like $10 less than the suites. When we arrived for our reservation it seemed like a nice quiet place. If you like quiet this is a nice place for you, can't hear any traffic. So we check in and go to our room. Room seemed clean for the most part. A little dusty and some cobwebs around. Look out the window and didn't see any ocean. Just tall trees. And the jacuzzi tub was not very big at all. Then our door during the night stop closing properly so couldnt leave to go anywhere because could only lock it with the deadbolt. Has a nice private beach. And the next morning there wasn't anything but cereal and bagels for breakfast. DEFINATELY not worth the price I paid for the room. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our second stay here, and again we had an excellent stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice but not huge, everything was clean and the jacuzzi tub was just icing on the cake. Really though this place isn't about the rooms. The best features of this hotel are the fantastic Thai restaurant (Viraporn's Thai), an entrance to the Jug Handle Wilderness Preserve, and best off all the amazing private beach cove that isn't open to the public and is only reachable by a path on the hotel grounds.
The only real minus was that the bed was pretty much on the hard side of firm; but even that isn't enough to take away from the breathtaking view and sense of seclusion.
One thing to beware of though is that there is no Internet access and no cell reception (at least not with AT&T or Verizon). That was a hard pill to swallow at first, but now I can't imagine having it any other way. Probably not the place to stay if you're on business, but an absolutely GREAT getaway from the modern world if you're looking for somewhere to "unplug" for awhile. Bring a book, some swim trunks, and get ready to enjoy a secluded and historic location on the beautiful northern coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The room was very nice, clean and near the beach. There was a refridgerator and a microwave. The beds were very comfortable. We watched some good movies on the TV.

The landscaping on the grounds was beautiful. The best part was the access to the private beach behind our room. The beach was amazing!

We will stay there again when we go back to Fort Bragg next year for our next wedding anniversay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closer to the beach. We were in room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weyesowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We purchased an ocean view room with a king bed. Yes, you could see the ocean and there is a nice little beach, but the hotel is shabby. The moldy smell to the room and the old linens were a real disappointment. The are other places to stay. We were fooled by their website which makes it appear more attractive. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banjogirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
5.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Beach Inn

Property: Pine Beach Inn
Address: 16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing