We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a place I would come back to” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Beach Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a place I would come back to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Read other reviews and it sounded okay. Very old and run down with NO air conditioning and screen door to "patio" didn't lock. Wouldn't even bother with continental breakfast in the lobby. Last time I book without more research.

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    22
    29
    29
See reviews for
33
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been staying at Mendocino and Fort Brag hotels, motels and cottages every year for ten years. So I disregarded these other reviews and booked a room anyway and am glad I did. We ended up staying here four nights instead of two. It is very simple and yes it it an older place, but clean and cozy. It has a private wonderful beach that is great for divers, beach walking and to simply to absorb the beauty of nature all around you. This place is not for for people who expect expensive linens, decor, cookies on the pillow etc. It is a place for those who appreciate the beauty of nature, hiking but like a clean room. The price is reasonable and it is near Mendocino where you can expect to pay at least twice the price for views lke this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachsadhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

They may call it an inn, but it is an old motel that has been updated with new paint and some improvements. It is located some distance from the city itself -- not within walking distance. It may have a beach view from some rooms, but not from ours. The so-called continental breakfast is served in the small office space -- we went to a restaurant. The best thing I can say is that the motel room was clean. The price for a night's stay was less than some real inns in Fort Bragg, but it was high for the accommodations.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family and I booked 2 nights here recently. Upon arrival we noticed the run down look and aged buildings. Our room was large, but it looked like the furnishings had not been changed in decades. Also, the beds felt very hard and uncomfortable. When they said "beach view", they meant a very small sighting way down the hillside. The back patio area was very small with 2 plastic chairs that look like they would break if sat in. Also there was a pot on the patio with a 3 foot weed it it. The worst was finding mold under the bathroom sink, that looked like it had been there a long time. We knew we couldn't stay there. Fortunately, we found another hotel up the street, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Hudz1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Durham, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is a JOKE! We where there for three night and four days..... The Housekeeping SUCKS! It is Old! The Beach is okay but watch the trail to the Beach isnt safe has alot of Pot Holes! Stay away! We had a suite and we had to go into the second bedroom to the bathroom . and only one bathroom for two couples and a child

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The experience stared out great when Mike greeted us. We git and ocean view room. While it wasn't on the ocean directly, it was still a beautiful view. There was a path to a beautiful Pacific beach. I will cherish the sunset photos I took forever. The beds weren't extremely comfortable, but the rooms was very clean. For the pro e, it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We lucked out here. Someone had cancelled their reservation and we were able to stay in one of their beach view rooms. The view though a distance from the ocean was a peekaboo. We walked down to the beach and wow, how breathtaking. I have been to many beaches in Fort Bragg and the Sonoma Coast and this was a beautiful white sanded small cove. The sunset was phenomenal. Our room was an eclectic mix of furniture but clean and cozy none the less. The desk clerk even gave us complimentary extra water. Though a bit pricy, we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
5.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.8 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Beach Inn

Property: Pine Beach Inn
Address: 16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pine Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing