We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back !!”
Review of Harbor Lite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor Lite Lodge
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This is our favorite place to stay in Fort Bragg. Friendly staff, clean well kept rooms, nice breakfast in the morning and a great view of the harbor.
We always find our way back and look forward to our trip to this area of the coast.
The only downside of our trip in Nov was that the wifi didn't work in our room as we were too far down from the office.
With out a doubt we will be back !!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

The room was spacious and clean, the shower had good water flow, the staff were cheerful and helpful. It was quiet. There were little extras like windshield spray and paper towels in the carpark. The continental breakfast included real (not instant) hot oatmeal. It was every bit as good as a Best Western or Holiday Inn Express and 20% cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed at the Harbor Lite Lodge for a weekend in Ft. Bragg. The price is quite good and the location is within walking distance to the restaurants along the Noyo Harbor. You can either take the steep (but not too steep) trail directly to the mouth of the harbor or take trail adjacent to the harbor road with a gentler slope. The view out the back of our veranda allowed us to see boats cruising in and out of the harbor. Watching the sea lions play in the morning was fun (bring binoculars) as they slap their fins on the water while they roll around in the harbor. There is some noise from the Hwy. 1 bridge over the opening but the rooms are pretty quiet when you close the sliding door out the back. We had a problem with a smoker on their patio below in that the smoke wafted in to our room when we had the sliding door open though their room was "non smoking". I'd return there again and recommend the place to friends. Oh.. free wireless internet (pretty fast) and free waffles/continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had 7 rooms. I was a bit reluctant after reading the other review. But most of the other guests are also returning guests. My room had a wonderful view and it was very clean & spacious. I have stayed at many places and always have to ask for additional towels. The room was well stocked. The front desk people were so friendly and helpful. Even the housekeeping staff greeted me with smiles. While the breakfast was not full course food, what they served was good. They even had someone there to serve us our home cooked oatmeal and waffles. I am really impressed with this lodge and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I've stayed here once before and thought it was very nice and clean. It seemed the same way EXCEPT that I was bitten by bedbugs! I thought I had mosquito bites when I got home but they continued to itch (same bites but reaction to bedbugs can last for days to months for some I read!!) and they had a funny cluster pattern to them. I got nervous and did some web sleuthing and they were definitely the typical cluster bite pattern. I am totally depressed and anxious after reading how very difficult not to mention extremely expensive to try to get rid of them. I went to the dermatologist to get a confirmation, flea or bedbug bites, but due to cluster pattern, most likely bedbugs. BTW, the hotel has a no pet policy. Called the hotel immediately after the doc visit. Of course they said they don't have bedbugs. I advised they should check the room to spare anyone else the worry of bringing these pests home with them. They said too late, someone was already in the room. They are supposed to have a protocol about removing tenants very carefully into another non-adjacent room. Said the manager was out until next Tuesday, this was Friday. Today is Wed. evening and no word from them. I guess most motels / hotels would not fess up to having bedbugs because it is bad for business. I'm disappointed in their behavior and failure to try to protect further grief.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhflg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborlite, Owner at Harbor Lite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Don't let one poor review dissuade you. There was mis-communication between the guest and weekend supervisor regarding follow-up. We maintain there are no bed bugs, but are taking steps, suggested by the guest, to assure there is no transmittal of pests in any way in any room. This room is occupied about 4 of every seven nights and we sometimes have guests that will sneak pets (and fleas) into these downstairs non-view rooms. This is but the second claim of bed bugs since 2006 and we sell 10,000 room nights per year. Cleanliness is our obsession and we are one of the best values on the Mendocino Coast. Family owned and operated for three generations. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Popped into the Harbor Lite when my husband and I were passing through on our way to Southern Oregon via the coastal route up Highway 1. Although it was July 4th week, the masses had not yet descended upon Mendocino/Ft. Bragg as yet so we pretty much had our pick of hotels. After two previous stops, we chose the Harbor Lite as they were just off the highway and had a room on the top floor with a view of the harbor for about $129 (AAA rate). A less expensive room ($99) was available on the first floor with no view but after looking at it, it felt a bit like being in a cave; kinda dark. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The deck overlooking the view was also very spacious. Staff was friendly and recommended a dinner spot close to the lodge. The property is not new but is kept up well. Breakfast with freshly made waffles is included. Eggs are hard boiled but fresh fruit and juice, cereals and pastries are also provided. All-in-all, a pleasant stop on our way north. One extra bonus; a little car window washing station with paper towels and washing fluid in the parking lot. Why don't other motels do this?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This is a wonderful local place. It has a scenic, central location, and offers great value for a somewhat pricey resort area. The service is friendly and competent, cell phones and internet really work in this somewhat remote area, breakfast is good, rooms are reasonably attractive with large windows and balconies. What more can we say? We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lite Lodge

Address: 120 N Harbor Dr, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £81 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Lite Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Lite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Lite Hotel Fort Bragg
Harbor Lite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing