We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mendo Bistro - CLOSED

Mendo Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Dinner . . .”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Everything we ordered here was wonderful. Great wines. Fantastic Caesar salad, Great veggies!!! We enjoyed the "choice" menu batter fried tofu, and batter fried portobello.

Save room for mint-basil sorbet!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliette144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    98
    43
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad fish worst meal ever”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I ate at Mendo Bistro last night. A few observations. The chef was probably not in the kitchen last night.

1) steaks were good, but that's the easy part.

2) local ling cod frozen, bland sauce and definitely over its expiration date. The fish tasted of ammonia definitely bad. So please do yourself a favor and DO NOT ORDR FISH. Someone could get seriously ill on what I tasted.

3) head on shrimp, rice below it mushy no taste and definitely microwaved.

I have been coming to Mendocino for 35 years and that's definitely the worst meal I have eaten in this town.

the sous chefs need something they can handle and its not fish. I am not a chef but hands down could create something better in half the time.

Parsnips, a little creativity and seasoning could have gone a long way. Save yourself the hassle and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bbq123rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The service was terrific. Ordered the Caesar salad and special salad of the day. Both were tasty. The cod was a bit cold but edible. The caramel gelato was also good. The restaurant is on the second floor with a view of town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmh2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hands down best meal of our trip. Food was fantastic , service the best!!!!!!!!!
Had the scallops for our appetizer amazing. Gf had the grilled pork chop while I had the fresh fish both fantastic and the attention to detail outstanding. For desert had the fried banana split...omg!
I wish I remembered there names but both our server and her newly hired shadow for the night
attended to our every need. And I must add that even with drinks, appetizer, entrees ,desert and tip our tab was just alittle under $120. With the service and the quality of the food that was a steal by anybody's view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a12barblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great food, some of the best we had on vacation. Staff was very responsive, and so nice! They have paper over all the tables & we all were doodling before the night was over. It was a bit pricey, so be prepared...a glass of juice for my daughter cost the same as my cocktail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank _Jana-_CO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mendo Bistro also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Albion, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing