We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This by far the best location in Fort Bragg. Every room looks to have a pretty good view of the ocean. We stayed in one of the spa suites. The tub sits right in the window next to the fireplace. Very nice. The decor could use some updating. Everything looks pretty much decades old. The breakfast tray and beverages is a nice touch. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really hard to beat! Excellent service all around; the place is neat and clean and the price is really good too. Nice atmosphere!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtorborg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The staff was so friendly and accommodating that I was made to feel like family. Their diligence in seeing that my smallest needs were met is beyond compare. Neat, clean, luxurious without being gawdy. All in all a five star plus experience.

Room Tip: The view over the water seemed to lull me to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wildsexymustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Staff is so accomodating. The shower and amenities are the best. Bed and linens are awesome. Our rooms are always so clean. Views are so relaxing especially after being on the Harley most of the day.

Room Tip: Bikers, ask for rooms down below, (in the 100's). Easier to unload. Ask to park bikes under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chari42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at North Cliff.

The rooms are big. Decor is a bit dated, but it is well maintained and very clean which makes up for it.

Most of the staff were absolutely fantastic.
While making reservations and during our stay, Larry was particularly pleasant and helpful.
We had some trouble with the card key, and he was quick to come to the room and assist us.
There was also a young man on staff that also was great at suggesting site seeing spots.

Unfortunately the morning clerk did not realize that we were there for the entire weekend with a room switch when the room was ready - we got a very stern phone call 12 minutes after check out time to tell us that we were supposed to be out of the room. Of course this was an error on her part, and she did not give an appology. She needs to get some PR training from Larry and the other young man.

Lots of good details...
While other hotels are skimping on the toiletries, they had a full selection of quality soap and shampoos.
Each night there were water, juices, cheese and pastries provided in the mini frig at no cost.

Overall a really nice stay.

Room Tip: One end has wrap around balconies that also gave us a view of a quaint harbor...but it did add a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItsMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed 2 days in February. My husband asked for a king sized bed so they gave us a handicapped room on the first floor since it was the last king bed. We would have taken a queen if we had known. The bathroom was huge, ugly and designed for a wheelchair. All of the hooks and shelves were lowered. There was a dated couch in the sitting area which was okay. Non handicapped rooms had nicer seating.
The room had some nice elements. The view was exceptional. The fireplace was a treat and parts of the decor were okay. The bedspread didn't match and was definetly tired 1970s. The breakfast was awful. They put a tray with a day old croissant, a couple of muffins and some cheese into the refrigerator the night before. There are several bottles of juice and the coffee set up is nice. This place has some potential, i.e, better bedding, and better breakfasts. The staff were very nice and the location was very nice. Restaurant was okay/ average.

Room Tip: Dont get a handicapped room unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the carpeting needed a little help and the couch could be replaced. Other than that it was all good. As you open the door the expansive view knocks you out. the fireplace in the corner is very cozy and the room itself is very large with a little private balcony to enjoy the view on a sunny day. The daily cont. bkfst delivered the evening before is a nice touch and bottles of water and Nantucket Nectar also.Fluffy robes give you a cruise feeling and the Chronicle at the front door keeps you in touch. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom is pristine. The microwave gave us a chance to warm up goodies from the Harvest market across the road a bit and the service desk was always helpful.The foghorn sounded romantic to me and we kept the slider open so we could hear it. I know some complained of this as annoying. I guess it all depends on the way people look at things. I say charming as opposed to dated. would definitely , definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Second floor great view we were in 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunny2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £145 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing