We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - great value”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was a Travel Zoo deal and we had reservations - but what a surprise! Request 3rd floor! Amenities were thoughtful and pleasant. Excellent view, quiet, large room with a comfortable king bed and feather pillows. Dinner at the Cliff House Restaurant was a pleasant surprise with it's tiered dining floors giving all a view, and the creative menu did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor (top) for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time May 29th 2012. It won't be our last. The organization, room cleanliness and amenities were impeccable and the view over the harbour stunning. The jacuzzi, a glass of wine and the sunset over the ocean - unforgettable. Will be recommending to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spellbinderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Great ocean views from our room, staff was wonderful and the room was very clean. The fridge is kept stocked with snacks and juice at no extra charge and hotel is very close to Glass beach and Main St. A very romantic trip for my 17th anniversary, loved the jacuzzi tub with a window view of the ocean!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number1Duno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Charles, Sonoma County
We were guests for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Larry, the manager, was very open and friendly and wanted us to feel at home. I much liked the breakfast in the room each morning along with the SF Chronicle. The views were spectacular and the rooms have a a refrigerator stocked with juices and water which we were encouraged to use without additional charge. Rooms also have a microwave which is handy. The room was clean, well appointed with a couch and chair plus a small desk. We would definitely stay at North Cliff again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which gave even better views. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for three days and two nights and were very happy with the accomodations.The room was the size of a suite and had a gas fireplace. We had a great view of the Noyo River and ocean. A continental breakfast was provided both mornings along with a S.F. newspaper. Since this was a special offer we were given two free tickets to the Botannical Gardens ( which are fantastic) and a free dinner with wine at the Cliff Restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone!!!!!!

Room Tip: The only drawback is that there is no elevator so if climbing stairs is a hardship I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya_Livermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We reserved a room to attend a concert in Fort Bragg and were pleasantly surprised at the results. Our room had - as advertised - a sitting area with fireplace, a small balcony overlooking the ocean and two very comfortable queen beds. The views of Noyo Harbor are unobstructed and you can watch the boats going in and out all day. There was a delightful breakfast of croissant, muffin, scone, apple, orange, cheese, and chocolates, two bottles of water and two bottles of juice in the refrigerator free of charge. The coffee machine actually held six cups and there was real cream in the refrigerator too. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The was free wi-fi and free parking. All for $195 per night which, if you've been to the Mendocino Cast you know is a steal.

Room Tip: We had the second floor corner. I suspect the third floors views are even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was simply fantastic. The room was very clean and bright with nice decor and a very nice gas fireplace. The view was stunning. I was concerned that there may be noise since the highway is so close but it was hardly noticeable with the sliding door open and I couldn't hear it at all with the door shut. Others have complained about the fog horn but that's kind of like complaining about too much sand at the beach! I thought it added to the ambiance of being at the coast and it's really not that loud.
The continental breakfast is there in the fridge all ready for you in the morning as well as good coffee and real half and half. It was so nice to not have to get dressed to go get it. It was fresh and yummy.
Both of the young ladies I talked to at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a bit away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn_C559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
353 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £146 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing