We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I loved this hotel. We had a jacuzzi room on the 2nd floor, and it was great. Fireplace, first class view, a very large room, and a variety of amenities that included a loaded breakfast tray left in the fridge upon arrival, bathrobes, wine glasses, a dvd player, and daily newpaper delivery.
Interior is a little dated, but very very clean... even the outside deck furniture was spotless. No air conditioning, and as we were there in the first week of Sept, it was warm. However, I was able to cool the room in about 5 minutes by opening the front door and the deck slider, so the room temp was never an issue.
This place was a nice suprise and l will be going back for another visit next year.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views, but there are many stairs and no elevater. Wasn't a problem for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judahjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    206
    51
    26
    19
See reviews for
72
430
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After reading the reviews I was disappointed with my experience. If you are traveling during warm weather please note this hotel does not have any air conditioning. The room has a large flat screen TV but the remote control does not work on the TV. While checking in the desk clerk recommended the Cliff House restrauant next door. After driving through town looking for a place to eat we decided to go to the Cliff House. That was a huge mistake!!!!! The clerk told us we could get 50% off our drinks if we paid in the bar and 15% off of the food. We did not get any discounts after letting them know we where staying here. The service was awful. We finally ordered a sandwich to split and brought it back to the room. The waiter dropped it off and said that they were out of bags so we had to carry several food items back to the room without a bag. For the price of the room I was expecting more for the money. I would not recommend the restraunt or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not like the experience with our hotel, and understand your frustration.

Happy Hour at the Cliff House Bar is all night and when you order drinks at the bar you automatically receive 50% off, I am sorry our front desk staff did not explain this properly and we will inform all our desk staff on the specials of the restaurant and how to present them.

Unfortunately most of the hotels in Fort Bragg are not equipped with air conditioning because our weather stays in the lower 70's all summer long, and upon request we can offer a box fan for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The North Cliff Hotel is located right on the main street and has gorgeous views of the Pacific. You have amenities which make the stay very comfortable: bathrobes, a walk-in, closed-door shower (and really quality toiletries by Bath & Body Works). The refrigerator is filled with great stuff: croissants, See's candy, scones, fruit, juice. The balconies overlook the ocean. You can walk to nearby restaurants, stores, or make a drive without much bother.
I would definitely recommend this place. Worth the money. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a view, you can get it from any floor. We were on the lowest level, while our friends we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a nice surprise after a drive up through Napa. Very clean, friendly, romantic hotel. The ocean view with the jacuzzi and fireplace is amazing.

I was a bit worried by the inconsistency of some of the other reviews. This is a very nice hotel at a reasonable rate. I would highly recommend for a romantic night stay.

The associated restaurant is overpriced with poor food quality. Make a different choice for a truly perfect evening.

Room Tip: Fireplace & Jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayenneinAlpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend here to de-stress and we were not disappointed! The view, the peaceful lull of the ocean waves and the fresh smell of the salt air were healing. Our room looked just as the photo above. Nice fire going in the fireplace and a jacuzzi with a glass (or two) of excellent champagne helped make this a relaxing weekend. Yes, we will go back.

Room Tip: My husband booked a corner room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetieJ2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualala, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a wonderful time at the North Cliff House. We've been to Fort Bragg hundreds of times but decided to stay close to home for a 50th birthday night. We loved our room overlooking the harber. The price, especially with AAA was very reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful with a special order I made. We got a discount for the Cliff House for dinner which was also wonderful. We will definitely stay at the North Cliff House again. Beautiful location and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which gave us the high domed ceilings. We also had a fire place in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakevti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

How nice to sit in our hot tub and look out at the ocean. Our room was on the ocean side and we felt like we were sitting on a cliff. I guess we were. We had fire place next to the hot tub, so we could watch a fire while sipping on our wine and snacking on our bits. The rooms are not updated, but you could tell they were beautiful for the time they were built, but the rooms were very clean. There is nothing like hearing the ocean waves. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteB694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing