We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Cliff Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Super 8 Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Lite Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Inn(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf & Sand Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
327
218
55
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
218
55
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfog horngas fireplacenoyo harborcontinental breakfastno elevatorjacuzzi tubtop floorthird floorbalcony doorfishing boatsocean viewrooms are hugewine glasseswatching the sunsetsized bedlight sleeperbeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have stayed at the North Cliff many times over the last several years and have grown disillusioned at the contining deterioration of the property. Water damage on the exterior walkway ceilings. Stuff growing in the rain gutters. A completely amateur job on the partially sealed parking lot. Furniture that is years past its useable age and feels like you are going to go all the way to the floor when you sit on it. The list goes on.

The worst part of all this is we've heard the promises over the years that this next year they were going to renovate. Still... nothing improves. We kicked off a semi monthly trip up the coast with a stop here and it just set the wrong tone for the trip. We'll miss the views and the in room, ocean view whirlpool tubs but we are tired of spending that much money with none of it going towards maintenance or improvements.

There are a couple of positives besides the view. The desk staff as always is very friendly and helpful as is the housekeepers. This last visit though they had a new manager that was as clueless as a someone in that position can get.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a room that has been lightly used so maybe the furniture still has a couple miles left on it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our property. We have had a management change and I would like to invite you to contact me directly to discuss your visit further. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and I'm glad to hear that we met your expectations in this area. I look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you again soon.
-Kristin
707-962-2500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I booked a third floor room for my anniversary. Room was awkwardly set up. Couldn't see tv from bed. The couch was horrible. Like above, I fell into it. Dirty , outdated.

In fairness turns out Fort Bragg has been hurt b the economy. Everywhere we went on a Friday afternoon was closed... Sad.

Hotel staff very friendly, they didn't even try to give us another room. Went to Mendocino, 20xs better

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We are disappointed to hear that our property didn't meet your expectations. I welcome you to contact me to discuss your experience further.
-Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in the spa room. Very nice view. The tub and fireplace in front of a window was very nice. As for the rest of the room, well,... out dated and when I went to sit on the couch, I nearly hit the floor. The furniture was filthy besides worn out. The continental breakfast was not worth it. The cost was $175.00 for the night, which one would consider a higher end hotel room. I would rank it as $100.00 per night at best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comfort is important to us and we hope to make some updates to the rooms in the near future.
-Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We like the spa room. It had a tub in front of the window with the ocean view. But it was not cheap. We paid $50 in addition to our travel zoo coupon. Otherwise the room was plain nothing special. Breakfast was kind of cheesy- a plate of pastries, fruits left in the fridge. But the location and view was really something. I'd probably try to check out other hotels with views next time I go to fort bragg

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Fort Bragg. We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about the continental breakfast we provide. Our aim is to give you the convenience of having a little something to start your day in the privacy of your room.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in Fort Bragg!

-Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The view of the ocean from our window and deck was beautiful. Hearing the fog horn and the waves through the night was soothing. This is not a high end hotel, so don't expect great furnishings, but the rooms are very large. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors will be quieter. You will hear those above you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
-Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews