We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stop on California Hwy 1”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an excellent place to stay while traveling California Hwy 1!

The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The room layout was spacious; more than enough room for two couples to stay comfortably. There was a tray of pastries and fruit waiting for us in our room. Beautiful view of the bay.

Try to arrive in Fort Bragg, CA before 9:00 pm to have a selection of open restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a bay view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your nice comments! I really appreciate it. We love that our rooms are so large and spacious. Good advice about arriving before 9pm if you're looking for dinner.

Thank you for staying at the North Cliff! I hope we'll see you again next time you visit Fort Bragg.

-Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for North Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel has photos on their website and usually I am wary of photos that look so good. In this case the photos were dead on. Each room overlooks the ocean and are warm and inviting. My wife an I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

I'm so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay! I hope to see you again next time you visit the coast.

-Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I admit to having second thoughts about staying here when I saw the dirty carpet in the office, but we were shown the new samples of flooring that they were putting in and told they have new owners and making lots of good changes. The chairs and couch in the room definitely have seen better days, but that will be replaced also. That being said we were pleased with our room, really large space, very clean and had a great view of the ocean. We booked a room on the 3rd floor and did not hear noise from our neighbors.
Marina and Sharon were very helpful and answered all of our questions regarding shopping and places to eat at. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nationalparksgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to send your comments. We strive to provide excellent customer service and I'm so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful.

We are so excited about the upcoming remodel and look forward to welcoming you to one of our new rooms next time you visit!

Thank you for staying at the North Cliff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I did have mixed feelings about booking this hotel due to the hit and miss comments on trip advisor. I am pleased to say we were quite happy with the hotel. The hotel is under new management and a program of refurbishment has commenced. Our room was huge and very clean, yes the sofa was a big saggy and does need replacing. The balcony overlooking the Noyo harbor entrance was nice, just a shame about the rather ugly sand dredging bank right in front. We enjoyed a couple of pleasant days here. The breakfast platter in the fridge was a nice touch. Unfortunately, Fort Bragg itself is a town in decline, we struggled to find a decent mid-range restaurant, it was either the Cliff Restaurant across the bridge which was very expensive or the Dennys in town. The Skunk Train was brilliant and also the surrounding scenery and also the State Park out of town.

Room Tip: If you have heavy cases try and book a ground floor room as you will only have to negotiate one smal...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vssh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I appreciate the time you took to write your review and I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Fortunately, the harbor dredging that was being done only occurs every few years. I hope we'll see you again soon!

Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room and service was nice, clean, etc. but for the price i believe I could have stayed someplace else and get full breakfast served and not me have to deal with a broken coffee pot When I informed the front desk all she said was "that's why there is a tray on the bottom". I did not expect to have to drink my coffee out of the tray! Don't recommend it coffee/breakfast is a must for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013MBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations. I've addressed this with the front desk staff and apologize for the inconvenience. I hope you'll stay with us again and give us the opportunity to provide excellent service.

Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was comfortable, clean, relaxing and the jacuzzi tub and fireplace made it all that more wonderful. We enjoyed our visit and will definitely make the North Cliff Hotel our special place to return to. We already have plans for our return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieandWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We're honored to be your Special Place to return to! Thank you so much for taking the time to send your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have nothing bad to say about my stay here. My room was very beautiful with a jacuzzi tub and a fire place. Our room was very clean, even a shower I felt comfortable showering in. Probably nicer than my own at home.

Also had a wrap around portch with great views of the ocean and sounds of the fog horn which was a huge plus.

The location of this hotel couldn't be more perfect. It's right off of main st and in the middle of everything, we hardly drove anywhere with everything so close.

Overall my experience was amazing, I will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jainaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I'm very happy to hear that you had an amazing experience, and we really appreciate your taking the time to send your feedback.

We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

-Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
442 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £145 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing