We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place all the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nisswa MN
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place all the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We staywd at the EDI checking in late on a Friday evening. Our room was ready and we enjoyed it. Large, clean and warm on a cool night. conveniently located. A good stay for not a lot of money. I really liked staying at Fort Bragg vs the more expensive Mendocino, too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor in the back building. Quiet and great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    109
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
76
148
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We found this place quite by accident, being a Hotel General Manager for a large chain hotel ,I am quite picky about other hotels. (We did not have one of ours in the area) Our room, although a but small was very clean. The in-room jacuzzi also clean and sanitary. I would however caution about getting a downstairs room with a Jacuzzi room above you, if the guests use this late at night your whole room will shake. Other than that great little place. Brandy at the front dek was helpful and pointed out some great places to eat for Dinner and Breakfast! Thanks!!! :) Will return if in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've stayed at Emerald Dolphin many times. This time I noticed that the mattress needs replacement; other than that, good value. Don't expect a fancy breakfast. There's a Denny's to the north if you're hungry. The in room coffee is surprisingly good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

We left San Fran and were headed to the Redwood Forest & ended up in Fort Bragg. I booked this room based on its reasonable price. It was a good located on major hwy & had lots of restaurants nearby. The room itself was spacious & clean. Had a mini fridge & coffee pot and also included a free breakfast which is always a plus! I would defitely stay there again. It is not elegant or fancy but for the price you can't beat it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Wwe had a very restful stay at this hotel. Itwas quiet, even though it is on Hiway 1. We stayed in the annex across the street from the lobby. We were graciously greeted and helped immediately. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was ample and clean. Its a nice walk to the ocean, especially after traqvelling all day We did have a hard time finding it as the signage regulations are restrictive. We would recommend it to anyone who wants a 0ne or two day get-away to Fort Bragg. Lots to see and do there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Make no mistake: this is your basic, no-frills roadside motel, but decent for the price. It's on "motel row" with a bunch of chain places, which I didn't look into, so I can't say if this is superior or not.

Like most of the other motels, it's right next to the road, but as we were told, Fort Bragg rolls up about 10 p.m., so traffic noise wasn't an issue. We could hear rambunctious kids banging around the room next door in the evening, but they must have turned in early, thankfully, and we had no problems. The bed was spartan, but not uncomfortable. The room was clean, though it had the slightly moldy, slightly chemical, distinct and common "motel smell." Breakfast consisted of what looked like Wheaties and Cheerios, along with factory-made danishes, so we went out both mornings.

The location is convenient for exploring the coastal parks and sights, and I didn't mind being further north and closer to downtown Fort Bragg rather than Mendocino this time, because we enjoyed Eggheads and Headlands Coffee for breakfasts. The motel also only required a 2-night stay on Memorial Day weekend, whereas some of the other places I called required 3 nights.

If you want charm, ocean views or amenities, you'll surely pay more. On our next visit, we'll probably splurge a little and stay in a room with ocean views or a more upscale inn in the much cuter town of Mendocino, but this place is perfectly serviceable if you want a tidy little place just to sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedasi, Panama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent accommodations for people and dogs. Nice sized room with 2 Queen Beds, one for us and one for our dog. They even had a special sheet to cover the extra bed and a dog bone treat. The floors were hardwood, not carpet so if there was an accident it would have been easy to clean up. There is a LARGE field next door where your dog can run free. The beds were comfortable, the hot water constant and the shower head high, so I did not hit my head on it. The towels were soft and absorbent, the amenities excellent. The price was very reasonable and the office personnel were very pleasant.Great coffee and although not a lot of selection, the free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedasiPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course on site with arcade & private party room, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing