We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 March 2013

In a town that caters to a lot of tourists, this motel was a good find. We had a regular king room for a reasonable price. The layout was a bit odd--the "wet area" was enclosed but the "closet" area and the wash basin were open to the room--but the room was clean and otherwise well appointed. The bed was quite good--we like a firm mattress. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, prompt to take care of any matters that arose. The continental breakfast consists of a variety of Danish, orange juice, a selection of cereals, milk and coffee. Some kind of protein would be welcome, but most people would be satisfied with what is offered.

Room Tip: The north building appears to be a bit newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you had a restful sleep. We get compliments daily on our mattresses that are firm yet topped with an indulgent layer of softness. Our staff if available 24 hours a day to ensure your every need is met. We hope you will return soon and continue to see all the improvements we continue to make on the property year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

On South Main Street, this small motel/inn was very pleasant. It was clean and well maintained. The wi-fi connection was fast! We only stayed here one night but I would return. My only complaints were that the bed was a bit soft and the shower whistled like a banshee.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on immaculate housekeeping and well maintained buildings. Thank you for noticing:) We apologize that the bed was a bit soft for your taste and for any unusual noises the shower made during your stay.
We are always available day or night to remedy any issues that you may have. We hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I love the ocean so any time I can stay near the water, I am delighted. I have stayed at Emerald Dolphin several times over the years and have always enjoyed my stay. They recently redecorated the rooms (no more grandmother blue, thank goodness, at least in my room in the north building). The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in recently - had that neat extra layer of padding.

The north building was full (about 16 rooms) Friday night and it was as quiet as Thursday night when only a few rooms were occupied.

The special cool thing about this hotel is you can walk down the road to the county park at the end - overlooking the ocean and the harbor. Lots of parking spaces if you want to drive. They have installed a nice walking path and benches.

They are remodeling the rooms and the exterior in the main building; it is nice to see owners putting money into the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kinds words. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again. It is so nice to see familiar faces every year:) We thank you for noticing the indulgent new bedding in all the rooms as well as DVD players, larger refrigerators, and pampering mattress pads that make sleeping a heavenly experience. We are so fortunate to have a newer hotel with fabulous insulation which prevents most noise from transferring into guest rooms. We are so glad you were able to take advantage of the amazing paved walking trail that runs along the entire point we are located on. It is a gorgeous walk around the ocean cliffs. We hope you caught the sunset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for two days in January 2013 when most tourists are at home planning their summer trips. We were very pleased with our room which was well furnished, large and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the complimentary continental breakfast.
There is a miniature golf course on the premises, but unfortunately, it is only open on weekends in January. We have played this course on other trips and had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richansen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you were able to return to our hotel in January. It is true January is still a winter month, however, Fort Bragg is fortunate enough to receive many sunny days which makes beachcombing and mini golfing so enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all the amenities we offer. We offer a simple complimentary continental breakfast with pastries, hot and cold cereals, juice and coffee. Just enough to get you going in the morning. If a fuller meal is needed, we have an abundance of wonderful restaurants very near to our hotel. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent two nights in Ft Bragg visiting friends so we all stayed here. They have a dog and were really happy with the wood floors, food mat and bowls and chew that is there when you check in. Lots of area for exercise for both dogs and humans. The room had a fridge and cofee maker,which are real assets for full time travelers. It's a lovely property! A Microwave would have been great.

Room Tip: the buiding across the street is quieter and more private. We had 124
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for choosing the Emerald Dolphin Inn for your family reunion. We are so happy you all enjoyed your stay with us and all of the complimentary amenities we offer. It is our goal to provide an immaculate, comfortable home away from home for couples and families alike. The Emerald Dolphin Inn realizes that your pets are your family too and this is why we have several pet friendly rooms available. We are so glad your furry family enjoyed the special extras we provide for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We always book a queen with jacuzzi tub for around $100. Its a value you can't beat! You can walk along the cliffs, play frisbee golf or mini-golf and to a local shopping center. We drove into the main part of town. It is a quiet location, rooms are very clean and comfortable. The tubs are not very big, they are heart shaped. For us, we fit comfortably but husband is not very tall or wide. The breakfast is just cereal, pastry/bagel and hot tea or coffee. It's ok but is even better if you get fruit to go with it from local market.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to have couples join us for a getaway from reality:) We have several beautiful rooms with king or queen beds that offer a corner jetted spa tub that seats two with fireplaces. Our rooms come complete with all the beauty, charm, and upscale amenities, but with a more affordable rate than other hotels offer. Just a short walk out of your guest room door will lead you to the ocean cliffs. Hopefully you saw some whale spouts or one of our amazing sunsets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our dog during the off season. The inn is very convenient to downtown Fort Bragg and several of the attractions in the area, especially the off-leash dog beach. Our room was clean and comfortable, facing the south side of the property (this is important as it is near the south field which doubled as the canine bathroom).

There is a mini-golf course & arcade right on the property (we did not take advantage of this during our stay). And a down a side street (Ocean View Dr.) is, well, a cliff view of the ocean. The property also gave us two free passes to the Botanical Gardens.

One thing prevents me from giving this place 5 points. Considering it's dog-friendly, a hand-held shower head, or an outdoor hose would have been really helpful (our dog got pretty dirty at the beach and washing her was difficult).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing