We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centennial, CO
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed one night midweek and found the property clean and quiet even though it is on the main highway through town. It is located on the southern end of town away from all of the shops and businesses. Restaurants are a short drive away. I booked this hotel via Expedia and for some reason the hotel was not able to charge by credit card via my email address...don't have a clue why. It was not a problem however as the hotel was nearly empty. The one negative is breakfast as there was no place to sit and only dried cereal and sweet rolls were available aside from juice. No fruit whatsoever. For a basic nights stay it was okay. Do take the drive west from the hotel to the end of the road for a great view of the coast and spectacular sunsets over the water.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
~It's been a while but we appreciate our reviews and wanted to thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    114
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
155
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Always dependable to be clean and comfortable---no surprises. A good place to stay in Fort Bragg---a king on the second floor has plenty of room with a flat screen tv for baseball fans wanting to watch a game.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, General Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We thank you for your visit and hope you will return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have a family. Cleanliness and organization is a top priority and a necessity to keep my household running the way I like. That said, I usually get major anxiety about hotel rooms and bring my vacuum, bleach free cleaners, towels, trash bags, and linens. This trip was no different. I have been known to literally cry over the hygenic conditions of the few hotel rooms I've stayed in and spent the first hours of vacations cleaning. When I got to Emerald Dolphin, I layed on the bed as it was and watched cable!!!!! The rooms were described as "impeccable" and that is the best suited adjective. Beautiful, comfortable, good-smelling, plush.... and they look and feel like the staff take great pride in providing this service in this beautiful town. Thanks, Emerald Dolphin! Keep it up! You'll be seeing my family again. Meanwhile I'll spread the word.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, General Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review. As a family owned and operated hotel, we do take great pride in keeping the property and rooms immaculately clean and comfortable. Cleanliness is so important and we are blessed to have an amazing housekeeping team. Thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Ehhh. I wish I could say I went to this place and loved every minute of it, but it just didn't meet our expectations, or even what it felt like when we showed up. Brandy, the front desk lady working the night that we arrived, was very friendly, but there was just a little thing about how when no one was in the lobby, neither was she. My girlfriend, my dog and I were in Fort Bragg for a short road trip and saw the Emerald Dolphin Inn as a pet friendly place, so we booked. When we showed up, the place looked great, and we were really excited for the free round of mini golf promised with our stay. Unfortunately, the course had closed about 10 minutes before we got to the motel, and wasn't to open until hours after we had checked out, so no free game. At about 9:00, my internet was cut out(While I was on TripAdvisor, ironically, enough) saying I was blocked for using peer-to-peer software, but I was just browsing the internet. It said to talk to a staff member, but she didn't know any better than I did what the issue was, and also didn't know how to fix it, so no internet.The breakfast was alright, but we ended up eating at Mi Pueblito (Check out our review for there, that place was fantastic!) an hour or so later because we were still hungry. All in all, it was a nice place, and the little assortment of doggie things was really nice, but it just didn't rise to meet its first impression.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, General Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review. When you visit, please feel free to stop in the lobby anytime. We have someone available at our front desk 24 hours a day for your convenience. The Mini Golf course and arcade has seasonal hours but is open from Noon until 8-9pm depending on the day of the week. We hope you will be able to stay longer next time and enjoy the gorgeous yet challenging course. The Emerald Dolphin Inn is a great place to come with dogs. With the walking trail to the ocean and large field next to the hotel, it is a canine haven. We are so happy that you enjoyed the complimentary treats and doggie supplies left for you in your room and hope you will return to Fort Bragg in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Since we travel with two kids, I had a hard time finding a B&B place in Mendocino that can accommodate us with reasonable rates (<$300/night). Most places charge $25 to 35 additional fee for each kid and don't offer two separate beds which my boy and girl preferred. I first saw Emerald Dolphin on Living Social and called them up to find out availability. I ended up booking two rooms with unlimited golf and free admission to Botanical garden with a very good rate. This place is well kept, clean and conveniently located. Besides the botanical garden, we visited the glass beach which is only 2 mile away. The town of Fort Bragg during spring break is still very quiet which we like. The breakfast is pretty basic but serves the purpose. Staff at front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so happy to have families come stay with us. We know it is not always easy traveling with children and finding affordable lodging that offers entertainment for guests of all ages to enjoy together. We are so fortunate to have all of those things. We offer immaculate and comfortable guest rooms at affordable rates and an 18 hole miniature golf course and family fun center on site. All that and we're just minutes from the beaches, parks, and all other attractions Fort Bragg has to offer. The adults have just as much fun as the kids and all enjoy some real quality family time together. We hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

In a town that caters to a lot of tourists, this motel was a good find. We had a regular king room for a reasonable price. The layout was a bit odd--the "wet area" was enclosed but the "closet" area and the wash basin were open to the room--but the room was clean and otherwise well appointed. The bed was quite good--we like a firm mattress. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, prompt to take care of any matters that arose. The continental breakfast consists of a variety of Danish, orange juice, a selection of cereals, milk and coffee. Some kind of protein would be welcome, but most people would be satisfied with what is offered.

Room Tip: The north building appears to be a bit newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you had a restful sleep. We get compliments daily on our mattresses that are firm yet topped with an indulgent layer of softness. Our staff if available 24 hours a day to ensure your every need is met. We hope you will return soon and continue to see all the improvements we continue to make on the property year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

On South Main Street, this small motel/inn was very pleasant. It was clean and well maintained. The wi-fi connection was fast! We only stayed here one night but I would return. My only complaints were that the bed was a bit soft and the shower whistled like a banshee.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on immaculate housekeeping and well maintained buildings. Thank you for noticing:) We apologize that the bed was a bit soft for your taste and for any unusual noises the shower made during your stay.
We are always available day or night to remedy any issues that you may have. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing