We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location and clean”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great location to explore Fort Bragg and various beaches, and the Skunk Train etc. We found the staff pleasant and our suite clean and sufficient for us. Decoration was a bit like something out of the 80s but this is just taste.

The breakfast was okay.

There is a crazy golf across from it which is worth a go.

All in all it seemed a really good value place and one we enjoyed staying in. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    117
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
83
156
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When I called to make reservations, I was surprised they remember me from previous year. The hotel is very clean and well taken care of. Large rooms with lots of room even with the 2 queen beds. They have added new furniture since last year. Nice comforters on soft comfy beds. Good complimentary breakfast. Coffee pot and refrigerator in room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Nice place, clean and well-maintained. Staff was very nice, even though we used a special deal, they treated us very well, allowing an early check-in and giving good advice about places to see and eat. Surprisingly quiet given the proximity to the highway. Bed was comfortable but a little too soft for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_Padrin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
And just like that, a blink of the eye a year has gone by. Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Emerald Dolphin Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

When we walked into our room for the first time, we were absolutely amazed at how nice this is. The room was spacious, the furniture of good quality in perfect condition, the beds appointed with fluffy comforters and multiple pillows. The marble vanity and upgraded shower stall were a pleasant extra. Needless to say, it was spotlessly clean. The overall effect is "contemporary charming". This hotel should have a three or four star rating. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and noticing all the extra special touches our property offers. Our guests comfort is our top priority and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel was clean, friendly, complimentary breakfast was very good. This critique is more for the area - um, wow. There is a 'transient' camp about 500 yards away from the hotel. When going out to my car to get another bag, 4 obviously homeless guys were walking by and stopped to say 'hello'. Friendly town right? Sorry, no meth for ya buddy. I am really glad that the front desk gave me a heads up on some of the night life activity near the hotel, it was very kind. The hotel looked like it was well taken care of, obviously family owned and proud of the establishment, it is just a shame how someplace so nice could be located where there is a problem out of their control. Unfortunately we didn't get to play mini golf, because we got there after 8:30 p.m., and then left before noon -missing their operating hours. Fort Bragg was the first city where I had to explain to the kids why there were so many people with shopping carts, and were not at a grocery store. We are from a big city and see plenty of unfortunate situations, but seriously this area had more transients than tourists, at least when we were there from 8:30 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. the next day a Glass Beach. I don't recommend this town for families. The hotel really really tried hard, I want to give it more of a great review, the desk person was soooo nice, but location location location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are so pleased that you found your room to be immaculate and comfortable. We are quite surprised by your impression of our area however. As a local family of Fort Bragg for over five generations, we can honestly say that Fort Bragg is one of the most pristine, gorgeous, and safest places you could visit. With little to no crime, traffic, or pollution, we are so lucky to live in such a paradise by the sea. The Emerald Dolphin Inn sits near a grassy field and within walking distance to the ocean bluffs. There are no transient problems near our Inn. One day when you have more than one evening to visit, we hope that you will give Fort Bragg a chance so that you can see for yourself what a wonderful, family friendly town we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very clean and comfortable. We stayed at the unit detached from the main unit. Would have been a terrific view toward the Noyo inlet but there was a wall with no window. You can peek at it through the small window in the shower. Very near a small park with a walking path along the bluffs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to see what a wonderful location we have. With just a short walk down to the ocean and paved walking trail, it is the perfect place to unwind, see the sunset, or just stretch your legs while breathing in the amazing ocean air. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very clean and comfortable. The staff was most friendly and helpful. They even called a restaurant for us, as it was getting late and we weren't sure if it was still open. And for being on the main street, our room was very quiet. We plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footloose19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
479 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing