We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very clean and spacious , we had a room with 2 queen size beds . Fridge . Nice staff . Good value :)
Kids had a great time playing at arcade . Restaurants near by , pizzerias deliver .proximity to beaches and downtown

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
How quickly a year passes by. Just wanted to say thanks for your review-and for staying with us-we are grateful for our local travelers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    114
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
155
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect one night stay while traveling south ! The hotel was very clean, very comfortable and staff friendly! I would recommend this hotel/Inn to all my friends. The hotel is on the outskirts of town with an excellent restaurant nearby! The beach is only a 10 minuet walk away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 18brenda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Wow, time really does fly. Thank you for the review and choosing to stay with us while you were here. Hope the rest of your travels were great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were upgraded due to our booked room type being unavailable, but I'm not entirely sure what the difference is, maybe the fireplace? In any case the room was too hot and we couldn't get the AC too cool it down effectively so had to open the window to the walkway which was noisy. There's no elevator to the upper floor. We could also clearly hear our neighbours TV through the walls. You get a free pass to the mini golf on the same block but it was closed when we arrived around 7pm and didn't open until 1 or 2pm the next day so not very useful if you're only staying one night. Room was clean, bed was comfy so its ok for a stopover.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Triton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
A bit of a trip, but you're always welcome to come back to the inn. It was such a year! We wanted to thank any reviews we have missed-hope you are traveling again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room was very nice and clean, however, we were on the end next to the highway and it was noisy. I would ask for a room on the other end next time. We walked to the Cliff House to eat and then walked on the promenade along the cliffs that leads to a park and then up the road to the motel. It is a beautiful park and walk. We saw deer, rabbits, and a beautiful sunset!! The breakfast is offered in the small lobby. Just coffee, juice, cold cereal, and packaged pasties. There is no air conditioning, but there is a fan and the windows open. Over-all if passing this way again I would stay here just for the walk way and park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
I take that walk myself everyday. I'm still in awe at the number of deer and folks that I see. We just wanted to thank you for your review even though it's been awhile. We appreciate you taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here on a road trip down the California coast and would stay again. Our two queen room was $75+tax and was very comfortable. We had fun playing miniature golf there and it's a short distance (about 1/3rd of a mile) to the coast and a nice park overlooking scenic rock formations along the shore.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
It's been a while, but we wanted to reach out and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here as part of our coastal road trip. Our only expectation was for a decent night's sleep in a clean, quiet room, which was met. The attraction of the on-site mini-golf was the deciding factor in why we chose to stay here. We checked in around 5:00 and were told the golf would be open until 8:00, so we went off to find some dinner first after a long day's drive. We returned by 7:15 (after sunset) to find the golf already closed. They have lights, so the early sunset wasn't the problem. This was disappointing, to say the least. That being said, if you're not a mini-golf aficionado, this hotel is a decent choice. The front desk help was very friendly. The short drive to the park at the oceanfront is worthwhile. I saw several small deer there in my early morning visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It was clean and comfortable, but pretty standard. The breakfast was just okay, but they don't give you a place to sit and eat. I guess you're supposed to pick up breakfast and eat in your room. It was average, pretty much what I expected it to be. It's right on the highway and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgo0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing