We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have been so much better”

Carine's Fish Grotto
Ranked #62 of 85 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
256 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Should have been so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really wanted to like this place. It has so many things I like that it should have been easy, such as charm, very friendly staff, tradition, Italian and seafood, etc. Unfortunately, the food was overpriced and not particularly tasty. The bread was great and the chowder was good, but that is where it ended for me. I ordered the pasta bolognese, and it arrived luke warm. There was a ton of it, but it just didn't appeal to me. I really didn't like the red sauce at all. I had a meatball on the side, and didn't care for that either. How does a chef born in Italy make meatballs without any flavor? My wife had the cod, which was okay, but the fish was drowning in sauce and the potatoes that came with it were extremely bland. My son's crab sandwich, which he had to order after learning they didn't have any other crab options, was unappealing. We ended up sharing the pasta, although neither of us really liked it. Again, the people there are wonderful. It's a real family establishment, with Bessie having worked there since the 40s. I wish I could say more about it that is positive, but it just can't. It's too expensive to take the gamble. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAChris33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    15
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
paradise ca.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cash only but we knew that up front. One of the best places on the coast. We check it out in the afternoon and though that we would try it out that evening.Found that the service and food were outstanding.Could not have had a better meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing & family friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came in late with a group of 9, we were warmly welcomed, and fed until we were ready to burst. Will continue to come here on future visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shanblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint but good place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We usually get the fish and chips here and always enjoy the atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Will go here again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orpah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilsum, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very overpriced, had to be begged to get served”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I were there on 6/8/14 in the afternoon. Only about 2 other tables full in there. We were escorted to our table by one of the owners sons. He took our drink orders. It actually took at least 15 mins to have our dinner order placed. The busboy (Marcus) had to remind the son to please take our order. My husband had the Fish stew at $35.00. I had pasta with sea food at $27.00 With this came either a salad or soup. We waited and waited. No one esle was in there.
My ice tea tasted like they dropped a cigarette in it. I did tell the busboy about it and his reply was " yeh, it's from the bottom of the pot" He did bring me a new one-not much better. The son brought out our food finally. When he put mine down he said "wow look at this." The seafood was hidden under the pasta. It also had unopened clams and some very rubbery squid.No one should have to pay for unopened clams. The sauce did not taste like anything. My husband did like his. (Cioppino)
We had to ask for the salad and soup that came with the meal. This was brought about 10min
after the main entree was brought out. Soup was cold. The busboy worked very hard to please us -no one esle did. When we paid which was $75.00 Appalling ! for this food. The older woman showed me a basket to put the tip in "for her boys" I did not leave a tip in the basket (not much of one) but left on on the table for the busboy She quizzed me about this. I told her it was to go to
Marcus. Never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carine's Fish Grotto also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Carine's Fish Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing