We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!!”
Review of Ebb Tide Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ebb Tide Lodge
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

had to book a hotel at the last minute for a family reunion that kept changing dates. reserved the room by phone the day before. the lady on the phone was barely understandable, had to have her keep repeating herself because of her accent.

got to the hotel the next day and walked in the office. we (girlfriend and i) were hit immediately with the smell of B.O. and what smelled like curry chicken. a minute or so later a pregnant indian women came out of the back room. payed and got our key. she wasnt any easier to understand in person.

went to the room, which was on the other side of the complex. she put us next to a group of wanna be bikers from oregon and another couple. why? there wasnt anyone else there. anyways, went in the room, smelled musty like the room had never been opened up, stale air. room was not bigger than 12x12 and they somehow shoved a queen size bed (barely walk around it to the bathroom) in the center with a small table, a single chair, dresser, and a night stand. im not sure how they got it all in there. it was very cramped. the bathroom had "as advertised" a worthless hair drier hung on the wall that looked like it was out of the 70's. shower was small, like small small. like so small, that an average person wouldnt be able to move once inside. anyone bigger than about 250lbs... good luck, might try the sink.. because you might not fit in the shower. shower curtain was disgusting! whole thing had mold growing on it.. and the shower curtain rod was held up on one side by T.P.... how, i have no idea, i didnt touch it. someone told me they did a "remodel" after i had left, i noticed they painted the tile... which was peeling. wooo! lets paint some tile and call it a remodel! anyways, flat screen tv was the only way they could get a tv in there, otherwise it wouldnt fit. i was amazed they spent money on the tvs and satellite but looks like they didnt clean anything. the more i think about it, the more im grossed out by the whole experience. heaters are from the 60's, at first i didnt think they worked. it was like a kid with a straw blowing through the vent at you. lol. turned on the heat, about an hour later, it was still freezing and somehow fell asleep. 3 hours later i woke up in a fiery inferno of heat. not sure how it went from no heat to inferno but at least it was hot! lol. didnt really get any sleep after that, opened up all windows and door... no wind... therefore it was still hot. lol. the heat thing was totally my doing, a little ridiculous but comical none the less. btw, bed was like a brick. i think the floor was softer but there wasnt any space to lay on it. lol. i guess my bed got some extensive use.. there was 2x4s that i noticed holding the middle up upon departing the next morning.

departing. someone said in another review that there was an unprofessional homeless man at the counter. i saw him! he was awkardly standing there while i think his daughter was the running the desk (same girl that i had already dealt with). there was a chinese lady in there trying to get a room for herself and family when i went to drop the key... she was having some difficulties with the language barrier. i got to the counter and said "checking out". i got the reponse from the girl, "ok.... bye". thats it. no "have a good day", no "how was everything?".. nothing. glad i didnt waste my time with the complementary breakfast... not impressed.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! Not worth 100 a night. would have rather camped out in the car in the safeway parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsvroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests such as yourself.

We are continuously improving our rooms, amenities and other related areas.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and assure you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    22
    6
    29
See reviews for
18
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This motel saved us from a LONG lonely drive up (that went into the night) the coast in June where EVERY hotel, motel, B&B, cottages, Inn, etc (under $250 a night) was sold out for over 150 miles.. At 1am, a really nice [pregnant] women, actually answered the phone, and gave us the last room she had. She called it a "smoking" room but it really wasn't that smelly at all. WE finally got the "last" room someone had. Its the very basic motel, but nice TV!!! Free breakfast was a plus too. NOt 100% clean BUT I stayed in worse! Clean freaks don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicWIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

The cleanliness issues you encountered have been addressed with our housekeeping team and we will improve our process to ensure all rooms reach the highest standards.

Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and should you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ebb Tide for one night on our way to Oregon from San Francisco. The problems mentioned in previous posts did not affect us at all. (No homeless-looking men around) The woman at the front desk was very nice and it seemed to us that this is now a family-owned place because there were several people who all appeared to be in the same family walking around, cleaning up garbage, fixing up rooms and providing a good breakfast with hot coffee, muffins, store-bought doughnuts and honey buns (not the healthiest, but delicious).
We were originally placed in a smaller room along the backside of the hotel, which was fine and we didn't complain, but the woman at the front desk caught us and told us she had a bigger room for us if we'd like it. We said we would and she gave us the key immediately. We checked into this bigger room only to realize the bed was very wobbly and would have been uncomfortable to sleep on. So we walked across the small parking lot to the lobby and told her about the problem. She apologized and graciously gave us the key to another equally big room right next to it, which featured a comfortable-enough bed, warm heated bathroom, nice TV and enough room to bring our bicycle in for the night.
We also noticed that she sent someone over right away to check on the broken bed in the other room. My impression was that they had just bought this place and were getting used to owning it, because the woman who helped us seemed to be teaching other people to use the computer system and fix anything that was broken.
My overall experience here was very good and the staff was friendly. Also, I forgot to mention that this place was only $60/night when every other place in town was $80/night. A very nice bargain for a very nice night's stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

After a long drive, rather late it was the first place with vacency.
We got a clean room with hot water. We didn't need more.
Had a good night sleep and drove away early in the morning.
For breakfast we had coffee and a danish.
For a short overnight stay the place was accomodating.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dvl_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

As soon as I walked in I did not expect much. As no one was at the desk they were in the backroom watching a loud movie n I had to ring service bell several times. The manager (I assume) came out with a almost homeless looking man. I went on with getting a room and ordered suite A. My wife and I proceeded to the room and was met by some mix of foul odor n cleaning agents. It smelt like they had never had the Windows open it was so musty. We checked out the room n was surprised to see a flat screen n satellite which was obviously the best thing about the room. We went into the master bedroom n peeled back the sheets and found pubic hair and stains. We immediately got our money back and left. The manager is so unprofessional that I still had the key in my pocket n returned it shortly later.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ebb Tide Lodge for your recent stay in our area.

We also thank you for giving us a review and it is very much appreciated.

This will contribute a long way to improve our guest services.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

The hotel staff has received additional training in professional hospitality.

Housekeeping staff have been trained to check and confirm the cleanliness of the rooms and amenities before having it released for new occupants.

We take our reviews very seriously.

Please do check in next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The photo above is obviously old because it doesn't really reflect the room we stayed in.

We decided to stay in Fort Bragg after a long day of driving. A lot of the places looked crowded so we opted for this little motel along the main strip. My husband booked us in but was a little reticent about it after he noticed a clause at the bottom of the check-in form that allows management to throw you out for whatever reason whenever they like. Yikes. He also said the man at the front desk was rude and actually looked like a homeless person. There were a couple of other people milling around the place that had the same look about them.

The room itself wasn't too bad. Obviously they have been doing some work to the place. There was a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, a fairly new-looking microwave, the sheets were in very good condition, although not ironed, and they were clean. The bathroom was also very clean. The only complaint I had was that the wastebasket in the main part of the room had not been emptied (someone's banana peel was still in there) and I did find a bandaid on the floor. Oh yes, and someone had left their water bottle on the bathroom sink. My husband handed this in to the front desk as we were leaving and I think the person behind the desk thought he was giving him a gift. lol

The bed was pretty hard but okay. Noise from the road and other rooms was minimal. The water pressure in the shower was okay too. As for the continental breakfast......my husband went to get coffee in the morning. He said there were apples in a basket that were mushy and looked like they had been there for a while. There were little banana muffins and some kind of packaged danish. There was no coffee. When my husband asked if more could be made, the clerk said he was off duty and it would have to wait for the guy about to start his shift. Okkkkaaaay. I guess "service" isn't a big thing at this motel.

They also advertise in their motel book in the room that they have a spa. They do, but it wasn't available for guest use.

Would we stay here again? In a nutshell - no.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ebb Tide Lodge during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and putting forth your straight observations and appreciating the good things.

We have attended all your points suggested for improvement and also overall amenities.

We would like to invite you to once again choose us during your next visit and have a delightful experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you just need a place to crash for the night, this will do. It has adequate beds, small yet clean bath, and even wireless internet. The service was adequate (even brought us extra pillows and blankets). The continental breakfast consist of celephane wrapped danish cut in half, some weak coffee with powder creamer, and some fruit. The price is right (about $80), so if you need a place to pull over this will work.

Room Tip: Away from the road is best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
1.2 mi away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebb Tide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb Tide Lodge

Property: Ebb Tide Lodge
Address: 250 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-4209
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ebb Tide Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ebb Tide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebb Tide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing