We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!”
Review of Ebb Tide Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ebb Tide Lodge
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I checked in to my "Suite" with a "Jacuzzi" ??? I took one look inside the tub & went to the store to buy some bleach. The sofa in there was horrid...the bed way to hard & no warmth whatsoever in the whole room. I decided to leave my key...& checked in to ANOTHER hotel that had a clean Jacuzzi, a comfy bed and extra warmth to it...all for the same price! I was waiting for the cockroaches to join me at The Ebb Tide...NEVER will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katandthegeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that the hot tub suite you booked did not meet your needs. I only wish you had accepted our offer of another room to see if we could accommodated you, but I respect your decision to move to another property. You always have that option. I hope you enjoyed your stay there. We try to exceed every guest’s expectations, and clearly we did not do that in your case. For that, I’m very sorry.

Thanks,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    22
    6
    29
See reviews for
18
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This motel was the only one with a vacancy in Fort Bragg. That should have tipped us off. The desk clerk could not understand English very well when we asked for a restaurant suggestion. The bathroom was so small, the shower door conflicted with the commode. The shower was moldy. There was no room to move around the bed because the room was small. It was a very expensive night in an unpleasant motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemyretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It is nice to note that you chose Ebb Tide Lodge for your recent stay.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

We apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.

We have checked all the amenities and to ensure the rooms are in perfect
condition before checking in a new guest.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and request you to stay with us again and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Oroville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Fort Bragg when our starter went out in our car. So within walking distance (the only place with a vacancy) we checked into the Ebb Tide Motel. We walked into the room, and there was an odd smell, the room was full of mold and we even found a pair of reading glasses that was left from the people before us, and grape stems between the beds on the floor. That showed us how much they clean these rooms. Wouldn't even dare get in the shower...Longer story short our starter was fixed and we were able to leave that night. Thank god we didn't have to stay. I complained to the (family that lived-owned) the hotel, they said no refund you were here all day. 5 hours from check in to running out of there -I don't think so. This place should be torn down. I am not one to write reviews but this place had made our bad situtiation much worse. I would recommend sleeping in your car before stepping foot inside this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laceylee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with the Ebb Tide Lodge.

We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement.

Our sincere for the inconvenience you had whatsoever and howsoever unlikely it can be.

The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated. Appropriate steps have been taken and this will never happen again.

We are responding after taking honest efforts and not just to defend ourselves.

Once again please stay with us and experience the difference!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had to grab a motel for a night. Was greeted to the overpowering smell of curry and other odours at the desk.
Room towels tiny, shower curtain had mold. The internet was off more than it was on.
Sheets seemed too small for the bed and came off midway thru the night.
Their continental b-fast contained foods that were unrecognizable and the coffee did not even come with cream, just that chemical powder crap.
We should have camped instead.

Room Tip: If the lot is empty there is a reason
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyMakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay

We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this is corrected.

Adequate steps have been taken to ensure a quality and quantity breakfast.

We are responding after taking honest efforts and not just to defend ourselves.

Once again please stay with us and experience the difference!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

had to book a hotel at the last minute for a family reunion that kept changing dates. reserved the room by phone the day before. the lady on the phone was barely understandable, had to have her keep repeating herself because of her accent.

got to the hotel the next day and walked in the office. we (girlfriend and i) were hit immediately with the smell of B.O. and what smelled like curry chicken. a minute or so later a pregnant indian women came out of the back room. payed and got our key. she wasnt any easier to understand in person.

went to the room, which was on the other side of the complex. she put us next to a group of wanna be bikers from oregon and another couple. why? there wasnt anyone else there. anyways, went in the room, smelled musty like the room had never been opened up, stale air. room was not bigger than 12x12 and they somehow shoved a queen size bed (barely walk around it to the bathroom) in the center with a small table, a single chair, dresser, and a night stand. im not sure how they got it all in there. it was very cramped. the bathroom had "as advertised" a worthless hair drier hung on the wall that looked like it was out of the 70's. shower was small, like small small. like so small, that an average person wouldnt be able to move once inside. anyone bigger than about 250lbs... good luck, might try the sink.. because you might not fit in the shower. shower curtain was disgusting! whole thing had mold growing on it.. and the shower curtain rod was held up on one side by T.P.... how, i have no idea, i didnt touch it. someone told me they did a "remodel" after i had left, i noticed they painted the tile... which was peeling. wooo! lets paint some tile and call it a remodel! anyways, flat screen tv was the only way they could get a tv in there, otherwise it wouldnt fit. i was amazed they spent money on the tvs and satellite but looks like they didnt clean anything. the more i think about it, the more im grossed out by the whole experience. heaters are from the 60's, at first i didnt think they worked. it was like a kid with a straw blowing through the vent at you. lol. turned on the heat, about an hour later, it was still freezing and somehow fell asleep. 3 hours later i woke up in a fiery inferno of heat. not sure how it went from no heat to inferno but at least it was hot! lol. didnt really get any sleep after that, opened up all windows and door... no wind... therefore it was still hot. lol. the heat thing was totally my doing, a little ridiculous but comical none the less. btw, bed was like a brick. i think the floor was softer but there wasnt any space to lay on it. lol. i guess my bed got some extensive use.. there was 2x4s that i noticed holding the middle up upon departing the next morning.

departing. someone said in another review that there was an unprofessional homeless man at the counter. i saw him! he was awkardly standing there while i think his daughter was the running the desk (same girl that i had already dealt with). there was a chinese lady in there trying to get a room for herself and family when i went to drop the key... she was having some difficulties with the language barrier. i got to the counter and said "checking out". i got the reponse from the girl, "ok.... bye". thats it. no "have a good day", no "how was everything?".. nothing. glad i didnt waste my time with the complementary breakfast... not impressed.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! Not worth 100 a night. would have rather camped out in the car in the safeway parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsvroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests such as yourself.

We are continuously improving our rooms, amenities and other related areas.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and assure you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This motel saved us from a LONG lonely drive up (that went into the night) the coast in June where EVERY hotel, motel, B&B, cottages, Inn, etc (under $250 a night) was sold out for over 150 miles.. At 1am, a really nice [pregnant] women, actually answered the phone, and gave us the last room she had. She called it a "smoking" room but it really wasn't that smelly at all. WE finally got the "last" room someone had. Its the very basic motel, but nice TV!!! Free breakfast was a plus too. NOt 100% clean BUT I stayed in worse! Clean freaks don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicWIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbtidelodge, Webmaster at Ebb Tide Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

The cleanliness issues you encountered have been addressed with our housekeeping team and we will improve our process to ensure all rooms reach the highest standards.

Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and should you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ebb Tide for one night on our way to Oregon from San Francisco. The problems mentioned in previous posts did not affect us at all. (No homeless-looking men around) The woman at the front desk was very nice and it seemed to us that this is now a family-owned place because there were several people who all appeared to be in the same family walking around, cleaning up garbage, fixing up rooms and providing a good breakfast with hot coffee, muffins, store-bought doughnuts and honey buns (not the healthiest, but delicious).
We were originally placed in a smaller room along the backside of the hotel, which was fine and we didn't complain, but the woman at the front desk caught us and told us she had a bigger room for us if we'd like it. We said we would and she gave us the key immediately. We checked into this bigger room only to realize the bed was very wobbly and would have been uncomfortable to sleep on. So we walked across the small parking lot to the lobby and told her about the problem. She apologized and graciously gave us the key to another equally big room right next to it, which featured a comfortable-enough bed, warm heated bathroom, nice TV and enough room to bring our bicycle in for the night.
We also noticed that she sent someone over right away to check on the broken bed in the other room. My impression was that they had just bought this place and were getting used to owning it, because the woman who helped us seemed to be teaching other people to use the computer system and fix anything that was broken.
My overall experience here was very good and the staff was friendly. Also, I forgot to mention that this place was only $60/night when every other place in town was $80/night. A very nice bargain for a very nice night's stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
1.2 mi away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebb Tide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb Tide Lodge

Property: Ebb Tide Lodge
Address: 250 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-4209
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ebb Tide Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ebb Tide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebb Tide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing