We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, don't walk away from this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Run, don't walk away from this hotel!”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My husband, two small children, and mother stayed in a "suite" here on our way further south.

Pros: No lo-flow toilets or showers here, let alone placards preaching about reusing your towels. Clean enough. Will easily fulfill your nostalgia for 50's pink bathrooms or kitschy furniture.

Cons: Smelled awful - some nasty combo of cleaning chemicals and damp. Dark, dank, very cramped, and furnished with a combination of dated, garish, and banal items. "Continental breakfast" consisted of (inedible) packaged danishes *cut in half!* and (undrinkable) coffee the color of tea. Was not near brave enough to turn on the heaters. Pillow cases did not entirely cover the pillows, and bedding had old cigarette burns in it. They claimed to have ocean views, and I guess it might Technically be true, but only if you were on the exact right balcony and jumped real high: the beach is a good 1/2 mile away!
Would not consider this room a bargain at half the price!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebTarkeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and observations.

We have taken steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest. We have given special training to the concerned staff.

The housekeeping staff has been given additional training to maintain the best cleanliness of the rooms and the property as well.

We are totally improving the breakfast.

We invite you once again to the Oceanside Inn during your next visit

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    30
    29
    42
See reviews for
30
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
American Canyon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Let me start by saying that we do not live in the lap of luxury at home. However....Took 5 minutes just to get the key to work in the door.Only worked the knob not the deadbolt. Holes in the walls ,stains on the ceiling. Grate to wall heater was absolutely filthy. Two outlets in the room . A fridge, microwave ,alarm clock and 2 table side lamps to share them. They strung a household extension cord behind the headboard that was jammed against the wall right behind the mattress and MY HEAD! The only way I could use the microwave was to place it on the bed so it would reach the extension cord. The alarm clock reached but I was afraid to leave it plugged in while I slept. Considered removing the extension cord completely but couldn't get it out from behind the headboard that was screwed to the wall. We didn't pay a lot for the room which is to be expected on a Feb. trip to the coast but come on!. The toilet literally rocked when you sat on it as if it wasn't adequately attached to the floor.The sheets appeared to be clean but my wife still slept fully clothed out of concern for what may have been lurking. Stay away from this place! Grab a sleeping bag and sleep on the beach. You'll be more comfortable!
Please don't judge Fort Bragg by this motel. The town, its coastline and its people are absolutely charming.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricfaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with the Oceanside Inn during your last visit.

We appreciate the review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had howsoever.

The entire issue related to the amenities, cleanliness and hospitality related problem has been investigated.

Appropriate steps have been taken and this will never happen again.

It is nice of you to praise Fort Bragg location and its people.

We would like you to take note of these and request to stay with us again during your next visit and experience the difference!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I'm used to staying in cheap motels like Motel 6 but the quality of this place was several notches lower. The king sized bed took up most of the room. There was old urine in the toilet that stunk when I lifted the lid. The old wall heater released a dingy smell when being used. The bed was hard. The continental breakfast consisted of individual pre-packaged snack containers that were cut in half, possibly to save on costs. My fault, because I was trying to save on money. Hotels in this area are pricey and I thought it would at least be Motel 6 quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Oceanside Inn for your last stay.

We also thank you for being specific in your observations.

Your sincere review shall definitely help us to improve.

We are looking into the same and definitely attending each one of them.

Also we have clearly instructed the hotel upkeep staff to get them right.

The breakfast has certainly been improved.

We look forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivehurst, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This is a beautiful place! The staff was super friendly and so helpful! The room service was amazing too! They accommodated my dog and were so friendly with him, I will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolgal142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OR
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2010

In spite of all the bad reviews on trip advisor, Friends of mine who had stayed here in the past had recommended the Oceanside Motel, so I decided to stay while in town. Wasn't disappointed. Room was large, clean, everything worked. Large TV, refrigerator, and microwave were all amenities I was surprised to find for such a low price comparing others in the town. The walls must be sound proofed because we could not hear any noise from adjacent rooms (like you can in most hotels) even though the hotel was full every night. It is really great for a family on a budget, and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We went on a Holiday weekend and grabbed any room we could find available on such short notice. Total mistake! Although it was clean, it smelled overwhelmingly of Pine Soal and the room was ridiculously small. Literally, had to shimmy along side the bed to get into the closet or open the window. The owners/front staff were really nice though.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltravel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oceanside Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for giving us a review and we take it very seriously indeed as this will contribute a long way to ensure that your experience however is never repeated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

The hotel staffs have received additional training in making effective communication with our guests and to ensure the best hospitality and guest care.

Thanks for your positive remark about the hospitality from the owners as well as the hotel staff, and shall improve it further.

We invite you and hope that you will choose us the next time for your stay at our area and experience the new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2009

It was Labor Day weekend and many hotels had NO VACANCY. So my husband and I ended up in that hotel afraid of we were not going to find anything else.

They charged us $159 per one night --probably taking advantage of the Labor weekend-

Although it was NO SMOKING room, the room had strong smell of cigarette. The shower didn't work properly. The TV remote control wasn't working. There was no HBO or any interesting channel.

The Continental Breakfast was no natural orange juice, coffee and a pastry or muffin. That doesn't cost a lot!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and also the observations.

We are addressing your observations related to the room features and cleanliness and of course the pool and the breakfast.

The issue of cigarette smell is being looked into.

You shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Property: Oceanside Inn & Suites
Address: 820 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3019
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you dream about staying by the Ocean, why not stay in a room worth dreaming about? Come join us in Fort Bragg on the Mendocino coast for business or pleasure. You will find that we have all the amenities that you and/or your family will need. Come and experience the personal service and convenience of Oceanside Inn & Suites. Oceanside Inn & Suites offers our guests clean, comfortable rooms and amenities often associated with more expensive hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing