We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
lawrence, kansas, usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were so dissatisfied with what we found, we left one hour after check-in gladly sacrificing our $200 two-day cost for a better place. It is not "Oceanside". The ocean is several blocks away behind industrial buildings. Room was very poorly lighted with the lowest wattage fluorescent bulbs. There was no light near the desk which was an old painted small table. Office people were unfriendly and the office had a strong smell of curry which clung to my clothes. The place was noisy.
Date of check-in 10/26/13
Brad and Trish
Lawrence, Kansas

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oceanside Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance was instructed to check the light in the room assigned to you to make sure that it is now working properly.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the unpleasant smell you reported in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its elimination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Oceanside Inn & Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    28
    29
    41
See reviews for
29
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thompson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We found this hotel just by chance browsing through hotelcoupons.com. The price was very reasonable.
Once we got there we found everything clean, up-to-date and all that one could ask for. The rooms, the reception, and the whole hotel had a really nice cultural decor. The staff was great as well. Do stay there!

Steve and Kathy
Paint Lake Manitoba Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We always use trip advisor before we stay anywhere but we had no cell service and had to choose a hotel last minute based on what we saw outside. When we pulled up the hotel looked very well kept,fresh paint, and in a good location. We looked around and saw no creepy cars just rental cars so we decided it was a good place to sleep for the night. The gentleman who helped us was very nice so we felt pretty lucky at the time to have stumbled there. Upon entering the room there was a very strange smell, like cat pee and 30 year old carpet mixed together.The furniture was very old and the paint was chipped. There was also a very creepy closet that gave me the heebie jeebies. We dont need a fancy place to sleep and we were tired so we just decided to ignore the signs. We then went back outside to grab our luggage and a stray cat ran out when we opened the door! Omg. It was that point that I thought about sleeping in the car. Anyway, after wiping my face and also realizing there was someone elses hair on the towel I just wiped my face with we sucked it up and went to bed. The next day we left so fast that I forgot some of my stuff there. We were grateful we had somewhere to lay our heads and freshen up but a stray cat darting out of your room and startling you at 12 am when youre zombie tired is not the greatest feeling in the world. We were reminded of a valuable lesson today, never judge a book by its cover. Oceanside Inn you have potential, its time for a makeover.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oishii808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Oceanside Inn during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and regret the experience however unlikely it may be.

We take it seriously towards improvement.

We have investigated the incident as mentioned in your review and have taken steps and assure you that the hotel cleaning and maintenance staff has been given additional training to ensure that this does not happen again.

We hope that you will consider us once again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Although not Oceanside, the room was adequate for an overnight stay. Although old and dated it was somewhat clean. I'm not sure where the suites were but definitely not ours. The fridge and microwave were working adequately. There was a coffee pot but we didn't use it. We don't drink coffee and can't use it for boiling water as the coffee taste goes through the water. The Danish cut in half was a joke, the plastic wrap was stuck in the filling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests.

We strive to make our guests experience one of the best, so please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats.

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Neither "Oceanside" nor an inn, this run-down motel is trying to pass itself off as a vacation spot. Seeing the fumigators at work when we arrived was ?reassuring? On a bright note the room was clean and the staff promptly returned our lost cell phone. The long-term residents made my kids uncomfortable so we left early despite paying in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement.

We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the cheapest place to stay in Fort Bragg, CA but not very up to date. If on a pinch this will be an okay place to stay. The rooms are old but somewhat clean. They do have refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee pots.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orpah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingletown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

At check-in, the lobby was stifling hot and had an unpleasant odor. We should have left right then but didn't think we could get our prepaid night refunded. The room smelled so bad when we walked in that we went down to the CVC and bought room spray. The carpet was dirty, the bedspread when folded back revealed clumps of dog hair, and the sheets and pillow cases were stained and looked like they hadn't been washed. We got exactly 2 thin bath towels, 2 hand towels, and 2 face towels which is adequate but they smelled so musty, 2 bars of soap that crumbled when I opened the package and a toilet that had a broken hinge on the seat. The luggage rack in the closet was literally falling apart and it smelled so bad in there (like animal urine) that I took my over night bag back out to the car, brought in 2 blankets that we used on our laps at a football game earlier that evening, slept in my clothes with one blanket under and one over me. The Continental breakfast was a joke with a packaged Danish cut into 3 small pieces, coffee and orange juice. If I could say one thing positive I would, but this was seriously the worst motel I have ever stayed in. Hardly worth 109.99.

Room Tip: Read the reviews. What people say is so helpful. I really messed up in that regard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansideinnandsuite, Webmaster at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests such as yourself.

We have investigated the incident as mentioned in your review and have taken steps and assure you that the hotel cleaning and maintenance staff has been given additional training to ensure that this does not happen again.

Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and should you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Property: Oceanside Inn & Suites
Address: 820 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3019
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you dream about staying by the Ocean, why not stay in a room worth dreaming about? Come join us in Fort Bragg on the Mendocino coast for business or pleasure. You will find that we have all the amenities that you and/or your family will need. Come and experience the personal service and convenience of Oceanside Inn & Suites. Oceanside Inn & Suites offers our guests clean, comfortable rooms and amenities often associated with more expensive hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing