We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi in Fort Bragg!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taka's Grill

Taka's Grill
Ranked #29 of 84 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Fort Bragg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Taka's is a family restaurant and the sushi is very very good and surprisingly inexpensive. There is great fish in the area and these folks know how to make excellent Sushi. The rolls are great, i particularly liked the Taka Roll and Seared Ahi Roll.

This was a return visit as I am seldom in the area and the quality was great.

They also have Teriyaki an a large menu of items for non sushi lovers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank love2skiLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late Sushi Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

One of the only places still open for 8pm dinner. Adults had sushi, kids had beef noodles/chicken noodles. Atmosphere was casual, people were friendly, service was great, and price was reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost missed out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Cowlick's earlier (shares a building with Taka's) for ice cream and went on our way. Based on reviews we decided to give Taka's a try for dinner that night. Glad we did! Fun watching the chef prepare sushi. Mango Salmon Roll was the best my hubby has ever had. I had the chicken teriyaki and veggie tempura. The veggies were AMAZING!! We could have split my dish...super big. Total with tax was $33 (my combo meal, hubby's roll and he had a teriyaki rice bowl) & we took home a ton of rice and chicken. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chico, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastes good, fresh and when possible they use fresh catch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Delicious sushi, good cooking. In downtown, so great location. The chef prides himself on choosing good fish. Try the taka roll!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doraexplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raw oysters were wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I had an order of oysters on the half shell. The dressing on top was spicy hot and wonderful. I wanted to hug the chef! All the other entrees we had were fresh and flavorful. We are coming back the second week of January mostly to eat here again. Cowlicks next door is a wonderful finish to a wonderful meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lotravel49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taka's Grill also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Taka's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing