We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of The Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Atrium
Ranked #6 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Logan, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at the Atrium for one night- was going to be 2, but we changed our minds. Great service, excellent breakfast, very comfortable beds...but noisy!!! I could hear the phone conversation of the person in the room next to us. The Skunk train passes very close to the B&B, so you can hear the whistle every time it blows as well, which thankfully, isn't often. And it is on main street so the noise from the cars is also present.
If you are looking for quiet and relaxed, or a romantic get-away, this is probably not the B&B you want- and I feel bad saying that because the hostess was so kind, and very helpful. The food was wonderful and everything was clean and cozy- it's just not ideal for a romantic weekend away, in my opinion.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    18
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, GA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Atrium is two houses linked together by an enclosed garden. Quaint. Innkeeper Gail served a great breakfast and made us laugh with her pointed remiscences of working for the Man in San Fran. Neighborhood a little rundown but within walking distance of downtown. Enjoyed talking with fellow guests too btw.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sea Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We said "Good Luck" to Gail and her partner as we completed checking-out following our two night stay, but they will need much more than luck to continue longer term. The proprietors are very experienced and know how to manage web site marketing, but actual customer service and concern for client welfare is superficial and insincere. Rudness and disrespect for guests was painfully evident. Burnout is apparent, and potential patrons are well advised to wait for a change in ownership. All taxes and fees are waived if you pay cash, but they do not mention this in advance. It was sad to see what was probably an excellent business in the past being run so poorly in the present.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samurai2011027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. From the lovely room to the delicious breakfasts, everything was perfect. Gale and her canine companion Gracie make you feel like you are coming home for a visit and they couldn't be happier to see you. . We stayed in the Lodge which has a remote controlled fireplace and a flat screen TV. The bed is like sleeping in a giant hug! The atrium that connects the two houses is a gardener's delight. I sat and read on one of the wicker chairs and felt like work was a million miles away. Run, don't walk, to this delightful place.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lodgge, you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy46304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We've stayed at The Atrium twice now, both trips over the holidays ( once for T-Giving, once for Xmas), and both trips were wonderful. The inn is cozy, very comfortable and super relaxing, not to mention in a great location for checking out sleepy downtown Fort Bragg, the North Coast Brewery, the Skunk Train and glass beach. The owners are very wonderful hosts with plenty of information on local attractions, and are more than willing to help you sort out dinner/sight seeing plans if needed. As we have family in the area, we go to Fort Bragg often, and will from now on always stay at the atrium.

Room Tip: Quilt room is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haikusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Atrium B&B in Ft. Bragg to celebrate our 8th anniversary. He and I travel throughout the West quite a bit, both for work and for pleasure, and I must say this was one of the nicest weekends we've ever spent together -- and not only because Ft. Bragg is simply a fantastic place to visit. This Inn is truly special ... if you are wondering where is the best place to stay while you spend time exploring the Mendocino coastal area, look no further!!

I made my decision to stay at this Inn almost solely based on the very high recommendations I read on this website, and I was not disappointed! Gail is truly "the hostess with the mostest"! She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable, and we were treated with so much kindness and warmth, we almost felt like we were visiting a long-lost family member. Our room was lovely, the food was delicious ... in short, it's everything you could ask for in a B&B, and more.

The Atrium is rated #1 in Ft. Bragg for a reason ..... check it out! You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrizzlyGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Spent two nights in the room known as "The Quilt." It's decorated in a cutesy countryish style as shown on the website. Very comfortable. Medium-firm queen-sized bed. Even though the house is on the main street there was no noticeable traffic noise. Fort Bragg is very quiet in February. The ladies who own and operate the place are charming and helpful. Breakfast was good, featuring souffles, sausages and fresh fruit. Good value at $115 per night before taxes, and a discount for cash which effectively cancels out the taxes. The dining room ceiling could do with some attention. I recommend this B & B enthusiastically as an economical alternative to staying in Mendocino.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NameAlreadyTaken75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Fort Bragg
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glass Beach Inn
Glass Beach Inn
#4 of 12 in Fort Bragg
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium

Property: The Atrium
Address: 700 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atrium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ruggedly beautiful Mendocino Coast is a destination you will never forget: 70 miles of rivers, state parks, redwood trees, waterfalls, and beaches offering everything from birding to whale watching and photography to romantic picnics. In the heart of it all, is our Atrium Bed and Breakfast, a Victorian inn located in the historic, seaside town of Fort Bragg. We have ten beautiful rooms, each furnished in a different theme. Some of our rooms have a fireplace, others feature basked-weaved furniture, a rustic lodge atmosphere, and much more. Our flower-filled atrium garden is our speciality and the perfect place to relax - even in winter time! If you have any questions on how to plan your stay, innkeeper Mary can help you make the most of it - whether it's your first trip to Fort Bragg or just your latest adventure here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing