We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stay!”
Review of The Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atrium
Ranked #6 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful stay!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This gorgeous inn was a pleasant surprise! We stayed here several nights to explore this part of the California coast. We went to the ocean and we went to walk among giant redwoods. We visited the local arboretum and drove to Mendocino. Our room at the Atrium was spacious, bright and comfortable. (A really good bed by the way.) The breakfasts were incredible. I like that they ask you what you want. It's surprising how many BnB's still do not. One morning we had hot cereal and fresh breads, another fresh eggs, turkey sausage, banana bread (I think I remember that correctly!) Everything was delicious and fresh.
We had several good dinners out. And we liked the laid back feel of Ft. Bragg. It's a great town to stay in if you want to see Mendocino and other popular places in the area and especially when you have a place like the Atrium to stay in. We definitely would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    18
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place is amazing value. The rooms are tasteful. I get so tired of the lace-doily-on-every-surface B&B's. In The Atrium you can relax in your room without having to squint your eyes at the decor. The atrium is cute NOT cutesy.

The breakfasts were really amazing. This was not Costco muffins or re-heated, coagulated eggs. These people can cook! It was as good as a fancy restaurant. (Turns out one of the owners is a trained chef. No surprise.)

We went around the shops in Fort Bragg (best shoe store ever.) They do a nice Christmas parade. Very charming. We did a day in Mendocino and a day horseback riding in and around the beach. The B&B is close to everything. If this place were in Mendocino you would pay 3x as much...but not get 3x the value.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Atrium Bed and Breakfast. It's location is convenient to the sea glass beach. The owners went above and beyond to provide information and advice about attractions and dining in Ft. Bragg. The breakfast provided was as good as any we've had at a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I contacted the Atrium in advance because I was going to be coming in late as part of my California road trip. We arranged a late check-in, and everything was just as it had been described. A key had been provided as well as instructions for how to get everywhere I needed to go once I had arrived. The room itself (Buttercup) was one of the most comfortable I had slept in on my trip, and I loved the Victorian style of the house. The garden was really cute, and if it had been warmer, having tea out there would have been lovely. The breakfast was great, and there were papers and maps out that I could read while I ate. I found the maps particularly helpful since I wanted to visit Glass Beach and the Mendocino Botanical Gardens – both places I recommend which were close to the location. The only issue I had was that I couldn’t get the hot water to come to my room for the shower, but I was promptly helped, and it was all sorted. Thanks for the wonderful stay! I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Say-Rah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Boro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Sherry and I enjoyed our recent stay at The Atrium in Ft. Bragg. It was convenient to the Botanical Garden in Mendocino, our primary reason for being there, and close to town for dinner and ice cream. Mary and Chris were helpful not only about Ft. Bragg and Mendocino, but about San Francisco where we were headed later in the trip. The breakfast was great, with a good time range for eating it. The beds were comfortable and we had access to other rooms, books, newspapers, and the occasional snack left out for returning guests. We stayed two nights, then came back later in the trip for a third night.

Room Tip: We stayed there two different times over our trip and both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my first trip on the Northern California coast, so I booked this B&B online, just based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed at all! VERY friendly welcome! Room is very comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would recommend. Parking is easy. Hosts are helpful and attentive! We would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Nest", a room with a bird theme. The garden outside was welcoming and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed three nights in the Garden Room which has a private shower room over the corridor. Very comfortable bed, and a little seating area. Lots of breakfast! The owner is extremely warm and welcoming, making you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Fort Bragg itself is a very convenient town for visiting the pacific coastline, try the Russian Gulch Park, Mendocino Botanical Gardens and Mendocino coastline generally, all lovely, several places to eat in easy walking distance, try Barbelow with the Mendo Bistro upstairs, and North Coast Brewing Tap Room, both had good beer and food.

Room Tip: We were able to see a few other rooms, all of them looked lovely, Garden Room is spacious and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calamity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Fort Bragg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium

Property: The Atrium
Address: 700 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atrium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ruggedly beautiful Mendocino Coast is a destination you will never forget: 70 miles of rivers, state parks, redwood trees, waterfalls, and beaches offering everything from birding to whale watching and photography to romantic picnics. In the heart of it all, is our Atrium Bed and Breakfast, a Victorian inn located in the historic, seaside town of Fort Bragg. We have ten beautiful rooms, each furnished in a different theme. Some of our rooms have a fireplace, others feature basked-weaved furniture, a rustic lodge atmosphere, and much more. Our flower-filled atrium garden is our speciality and the perfect place to relax - even in winter time! If you have any questions on how to plan your stay, innkeeper Mary can help you make the most of it - whether it's your first trip to Fort Bragg or just your latest adventure here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing