We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the stairs”
Review of The Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atrium
Ranked #6 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watch the stairs”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The price was a little expensive. The egg frittata breakfast was nice. The cat was not friendly. The stairs were steep and I twisted my ankle when I slipped on a stair. Be careful. The walls are thin. The bed was too soft.

It is close to some nice restaurants.

B&Bs I guess are not for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-Kanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I wish I could give this place a higher overall review as it was "cute" enough but when you are trying to sleep, it doesn't matter how charming the exterior is or how lovely the garden is. We had the "buttercup" room, which (I peeked into several of the other rooms) appears to be the budget room. The double bed was lumpy and so soft I was rolling into my husband all night, which would have been okay except that it was hot and stuffy with no air-conditioning or even a fan. I imagine it doesn't usually get too hot in the area, but I could not sleep due to the heat. The window which only opened part way didn't do much to help. Basically I felt like I was sleeping in my gramma's tiny, hot attic.

On the other hand, the breakfast was lovely with a nice variety of food and the hostess (owner?) was helpful. Just wish I could say better things about the room itself. I gather from other reviews that the higher priced rooms are of better quality.

Room Tip: Do not choose the buttercup room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a charming little place and although it is right on Rt. 1 it was quiet and peaceful. We were very pleasantly surprised by a gentle and comfortably social dog!! The owner was very pleasant and helpful, with insights into the town and the building. All in all a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Atrium is a very nice comfortable and excellent buffet style breakfast. The frittata had a lot of vegetables and they had a fruit salad as well as potatoes and a variety of breads, whole grain, and some pastries, coffee, tea, juice. Cookies and tea in the afternoon and wonderful hosts. Gail and Mary are very knowledgeable, about the restaurants and very gracious hosts. My son and I enjoyed our stay in the garden room. Next time my husband and I will stay when he can get the week off. My ratings is an excellent for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but our room was on the corner of the side street, so I didn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurusandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We thought we were getting a bargain since everything else in the area was so pricey. What you're really paying for is the location - easy access to beaches and sights.

The Oasis Room was nicely appointed (as all the rooms seem to be). It was comfortable and clean, but there was definitely a musty smell and the corners of the windows are offputtingly black. (Dirt? Mold?)

We had e-mailed our dietary preferences ahead of time and the host either didn't read it or forgot about it, which wouldn't have been a huge deal (there were enough other things to eat) except for the fact that she admonished us for not telling her before. Then she got into a tizzy about us coming in through the back (from the parking lot) instead of going around the block to the official door. Maybe she felt anxious about us not being the same skin color as her, or maybe she treats everyone the same way. All I know is, I felt slightly comfortable here and that's enough to prevent me coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ysman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we very much enjoyed our visit. the rooms were very nice, comfortable, great beds, and an excellent breakfast. The Atrium was totally worth the money. all of the hosts were great and helpful with everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium

Property: The Atrium
Address: 700 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3017
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atrium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ruggedly beautiful Mendocino Coast is a destination you will never forget: 70 miles of rivers, state parks, redwood trees, waterfalls, and beaches offering everything from birding to whale watching and photography to romantic picnics. In the heart of it all, is our Atrium Bed and Breakfast, a Victorian inn located in the historic, seaside town of Fort Bragg. We have ten beautiful rooms, each furnished in a different theme. Some of our rooms have a fireplace, others feature basked-weaved furniture, a rustic lodge atmosphere, and much more. Our flower-filled atrium garden is our speciality and the perfect place to relax - even in winter time! If you have any questions on how to plan your stay, innkeeper Mary can help you make the most of it - whether it's your first trip to Fort Bragg or just your latest adventure here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing