We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back with our baby (Dog!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton
1 review
“We loved it and will be back with our baby (Dog!)”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I loved the service starting with the reservations that we got out of our AAA book. They were so helpful on the phone. When we arrived they were just as pleasant. The room was a smoking room but did not smell as such from the moment we walked in. I don't smoke and that was greatly appreciated. It was easy to find and I loved that we were not far from the ocean, shops and restaurants. They are a pet friendly Motel and can't wait to return with our baby!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    219
    82
    36
    13
See reviews for
209
330
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great Place to spend a quiet time, The gardens are amazing the landscape awesome. The rooms are completely remodeled with nice double pain windows. We felt very secure and comfortable in our room, from the soft 400+ Thread count sheets to the in room refrigerators and decor the place is awesome. Pet friendly yep, you bet they even have a lighted dog run with dual fence areas for entering and exiting the dog run. The Horse shoe pit area is right next to the BBQ's that are provided by the facility which made us feel right at home. We only needed to eat out twice while we where there; a big plus if you are are on a budget which we all seem to be now days. The rates for this type of place are very reasonable and the staff was always there to answer questions or provide help if we needed it. The Motel is right next to a great "Whole Foods" Style market that seems to be the main market for the locals. This is where we did all of our shopping.

Room Tip: Soft Comfortable sheets and beds, Very Clean and Quiet I would guess from the new double pain window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I selected this establishment to stay at after reading the Trip Advisor Reviews, and I was a bit disappointed. The room was very clean but a bit outdated. The bathroom was small. There were no electrical outlets anywhere except by the sink which made recharging our electronic gadgets (mobile phones, laptop computer, & camera) extremely difficult. . The continental breakfast was okay, there is a McDonalds across the street if you need more food. The guests to our left and to our right were a bit noisy. They were slamming their truck doors early in the morning. Location was great, we were close to downtown Fort Bragg and the Skunk Train. Point Cabrillo Lighthouse and Mendocino was just a short drive away. Beware that most of the downtown shops close at 5pm, so if you need to do some souvenir shopping, go earlier in the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

WE have been staying at the Surf Motel for the last twenty plus years. We don't feel the need to even look for another place to stay. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the owners and staff treat us like we are family. It's like being at home away from home. Every time we leave we can't wait to come back. Like I said" twenty plus years. That should tell you something!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We would recommend this motel. It's clean, quiet, comfortable, with beautiful flowers all around. Not much of a breakfast, but McDonalds is across the street. We stayed because of the good ratings on Tripadvisor, glad we did.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potlatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This place is CLEAN, updated and a great value. I highly recommend. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamkooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This place is off the map for being absolutely beautiful. They have awe inspiring flower gardens. Their rooms are very nice. Outside of each one, is a roll of paper towels, along with a spray bottle to get the bugs off of your vehicle. Super nice people running the place. Have a big continental breakfast in the morning. They really go the extra mile to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing