We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place for the money in Fort Bragg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is the kind of place we prefer to stay in, a well maintained older one story motel where we can pull up to the door,so we chose to stay here again. The room we had was a good size and very practically arranged. The king size bed was very comfortable The grounds are nicely kept with lots of beautiful flowers.
Unfortunately this time we got a room next to the ice machine which due to the rudeness of some fellow travelers did not allow us to get the amount of sleep we wanted. Avoid #120 and you will be just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our second time to stay with Surf Motel and Gardens and we were as satisfied as the first time. The place has everything you need; several BBQs and tables scattered in a colorful garden filled with flowers, a fire pit, a place to clean your fish, horse shoe game and an arbour. They serve a light breakfast in the morning and the people who work there are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, equipped with refrigerator, microwave and TV. They also have free Internet in the reception. The Motel is a two minutes walk from Harvest Market and several other stores. And - you can hear the ocean!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have extra windows and are therefore more light. They are closer to the road though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This motel is clean, updated, and comfortable, with a lovely garden in the center of the property. The rooms are outfitted with all things both business travelers and leisure travelers need, including fridge, microwave, good lighting, and adequate electrical outlets for chargers and computers.
We did not take advantage of the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avocadolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The motel is very clean. The help is friendly. Our room was very clean and updated. The king bed was too soft! Plenty of parking with option to park right outside the room, which we liked. Overall, we felt that for what we got, the price was right. We enjoyed the gardens and liked sitting in the gazebo and outdoor furniture as well.

Room Tip: rooms not next to ice machines are best for good nights rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

During the Portuguese festival, we stayed one night in this motel. It was one of the cleanest places I have ever been, nice furniture and cozy rooms. The owner (or the manager), Redda, was such a helpful and friendly person that we felt we knew him for years. In our next trip to Fort Bragg, we will Definitely reserve a room with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We selected this motel based on other trip advisor reviews. We were very satisfied. It is a good, basic, clean motel that is conveniently located. The rooms appear to have been recently remodeled with newer carpet and updated bathrooms. It was very clean. The hotel is a good value at $89 for two king beds.

The room was a little bit stuffy when we first opened it, but I cracked a window and then ran the bathroom fan which pulled cool air into the room and made things pleasant. (FYI, very few motels in this part of the country have A/C, but with lows typically in the 50's even in summer, it's not really needed.)

Breakfast was also basic but fine, with pastries, cereal, assorted whole fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The staff (husband & wife?) were very friendly and nice.

The room had a fridge and a microwave.

One other thing I liked was the very wide parking spaces... no door dings here!

The gardens are nice, but when you get in after dark and leave at dawn, there's not too much value-added there :-)

Room Tip: All were pretty quiet, but ask for a room farther away from the entrance / office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I'm a gardener and a seeker of gardens to visit, study and enjoy. While visiting the Ft. Bragg Botanical Gardens last week, I convinced my husband to book our room at the Surf Motel and Gardens. This is an old style motor court motel, as you'll see when you drive up to the very cool retro-looking front office. The rooms are all ground floor rooms, somewhat small and clean, nothing fancy (although I was amazed at the lovely watercolor painting hanging above the bed. Are the owners patrons of the arts, as well as gardens?) Somebody at some time had the exceedingly bright idea of tearing up the center of the parking lots (there are two U-shape courtyards), digging up the cement in front of the poles holding up the awning over the walkway, and even adding a couple more large garden areas and then planting the HECK out of it all. Professional gardeners have worked magic here, and the plants, flowers and foliage are not your usual "big box" (e.g. Home Depot) fare. When we were there there were abutilons, fuschias, salvia and in some areas, climbing vines flowering all along the support poles outside the rooms. Lovely hybrid roses (looked like David Austin is appreciated) placed alongside dark, rich plants like smoke bush and a gem of a century plant. Fantastic to wander out and walk around the grounds of this little gem of a getaway motel. And reasonably priced, to boot. (I LOVE that!) If you luck out and have quiet neighbors (I've stayed there twice this year and never had a problem), you'll get a good night's sleep. They have good showers in the bathrooms and really, really comfy beds. Smart people put this place together. I will definitely make it my "go to" motel whenever I head up to Fort Bragg from the Bay Area. Oh yes...they even have free wi-fi. Which you'll want since the in-room t.v. isn't exactly a thriller.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZeeZeleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#16 of 23 in Fort Bragg
377 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and clean rooms with , in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, barbeque pits, pet friendly rooms, and enclosed pet area. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing