We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Every time we go to Fort Bragg, we stay at the surf motel and gardens. They have clean comfortable rooms, a super staff and beautiful facilities. They are always available to satisfy any need or concern. The rooms are always clean and ready when they're supposed to be. Sometimes even early( upon request ). I was raised in Fort Bragg, and they are the only place I would recommend to anyone visiting the North coast.

David and Robin Swehla

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveswehla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    219
    82
    36
    13
See reviews for
209
330
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

A very pleasant experience I would like other to have. A quaint, quiet, clean, elegant room, a nice view of the garden upfront, all within minutes of downtown locations and places of interest. Very reasonably priced compared to other major chains. A good find for me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

First of all it should be called a relaxation resort rather than a motel. The rooms are spacious, well kept, and come with everything you need. There is a dog exercise area, as well as a huge hill right across the motel where you can take your dog to play with other dogs. There are a couple of garden areas that are just tranquil. Beautiful plants and shrubbery all around. The ocean is very near and can be seen from different parts at the motel. Karen, at the office was so courteous. She made me feel very welcome and at home. Harvest market right around the corner as well as a McDonalds (don't do it to yourself) near by. Would recommend to anyone. Can't wait for my next stay here. Simply the value is unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ask in the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seventy7evens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2012

For the past 50 years, whenever our house is rented, we have stayed at the Surf Motel&gardens. The owners are gracious&helpful, the site is pleasant, the accommodations clean,spacious, and comfortable, and the cost is one of the best bargains on the coast. The motel is central to everything, and the ocean is across the street for a nice morning stroll.
Whenever you visit the Mendocino Coast, this is a "must stay."

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mboynoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Excellent value, comfortable rooms, very friendly. Good location and within walking distance of restaurants and other businesses.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeAndBear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have been visiting Fort Bragg for several years, and have become regular customers of the Surf Motel. It's not fancy, but it is neat, CLEAN, generally pretty quiet, and you cannot beat the price. They even accept dogs, and provide a small dog park. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. It's also within walking distance of great restaurants and coastal access. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Friendly staff, good continental breakfast, wonderful location for hiking in Russian Gulch, Van Damme and other forest parks. My only disappointment was that the walls between rooms were thin. Thank you very much.

Chuck Teixeira, 235 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, SFO CA 94104

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Property: Surf Motel and Gardens
Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing