We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel and Gardens
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at the Surf Motel & Gardens multiple times. The gardens show excellent care and are refreshing. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean as well as stocked with a refrigerator and microwave. Each time we visit we are impressed with the care and interest the hosts show to their guests. I highly recommend the Surf Motel & Gardens!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I have been staying at the Surf Motel and Gardens for over 20 years now. One of the front office staff has been there even longer than that, and the new owners have completely redone the bathrooms, installed a microwave, coffee maker, and small fridge, and, best of all, bought new mattresses. The location is perfect; it's a three-minute drive to the Mendocino Botanical Gardens in one direction, Glass Beach in another, and a lovely 10-minute drive to Mendocino, with lovely beaches and state parks along the way. We spend time in Mendocino during the day, but come to the Surf Motel to stay at night because it's quiet, clean, reasonably priced, and is located central to all our activities. The staff and owners are friendly, helpful and accommodating, and the central garden is a jumbled, exuberant symphony of color. Plus, there's a diver's corner in the back where you can clean your abalone and rinse your gear. A good find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we decided to stay over in Fort Bragg & had no reservation. SM&G was conveniently located. our host was beyond accommodating. our room was so clean without that bleach smell. the gardens were an added bonus. at the visitor center, they knew our host by name & several visitors took the Surf Motel & Gardens number. looking forward to visiting again this fall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On my way to Eureka I decided to check out Fort Bragg it was beautiful after spending time at glass beach decided to stay here it was almost sold out for the weekend bit was able to get a room here management was nice and suggested to visit the botanical gardens we visited there on Sunday on our way back very nice and clean room my stay was comfortable here and sure we will visit again will stay at this motel

Room Tip: i would say any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel is very nice and staff very friendly and helpfull, rooms are very clean, garden is well maintained and looks very nice.Shuttle service was very convenient. We will definitely stay here again when next time in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for one night in their grand suite that included one bedroom with two queen-size beds, kitchen and a living room with a TV and a dining table. Suite was very nice, clean and comfortable. Kitchen was spacious and included a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster and silverware. Couch could have been of better quality. TV was big, 40+ inches screen, with nicer channels like AMC, TBS, FX etc. Staff at reception was very friendly and welcoming, and when I requested some salt, they provided a full, unpacked jar. Bathroom had sufficient toiletries. There were a number of closets in the suite. One thing missing was iron board. Other than that, it was close to perfect for one-night stay for a family of 5 including my parents and my 2-yr old. We could have easily stayed longer if we wanted to in that suite. In addition, location is very ideal. McDonald's is right across the road for a quick and cheap breakfast. It's located in the middle of the city along Hwy 1. Our suite (#144) was in the far corner, so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Donnette Robles, Cloverdale Ca.

Rooms were immaculate and very modern. Best price in town!!!! Bed was comfy and heater was very quiet and warm. Beautiful gardens, I will stay here again.
No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#16 of 23 in Fort Bragg
377 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and clean rooms with , in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, barbeque pits, pet friendly rooms, and enclosed pet area. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing