We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway”
Review of Cleone Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleone Gardens Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn the weekend following NewYears. Sure, the entire area surrounding Fort Bragg was rather quiet after the holidays. Staying here(we had the Mackerricker room) was awesome. Peaceful and quiet. Real glass wine glasses and corkscrew made my forgetfulness seem not so bad. Pleasant hostesses and a nice canine reception made for a very nice check-in. Did not use the tv or electronic devices, so cannot comment. Still, a fireplace with provided 'green' log to burn, wonderful private deck overlooking a nicely landscaped yard, especially under a full moon...couldn't get much better. Stay here away but close enough to Ft Bragg, for a most relaxing time!

Room Tip: I found the pictures displaying the rooms at the website accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

To everyone who asked how I enjoyed my stay at the Cleone Gardens Inn--I say "I LOVED it, you must go!"
My room was very, very cozy. The bed was so comfortable, the sheets and pillows were soft and just like something you'd have at home (none of the creepy, white, sterile linens), and it was quiet. There was a tiny window-seat around a table and a beautiful bay window, which I enjoyed spending my mornings at.
My room was in the back of the inn, it faced the backyard. <--Which was stunning. Lush and lovely, perfectly peaceful, I felt as though I'd fallen into an enchanted wonderland.
The staff was very, very friendly, always had a cheery greeting.
If you'd like to rest well, and be taken care of perfectly, stay at the Cleone Garden Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our room was super comfortable and very cozy. Louanne, the manager, had set out dishes, towels and blankets for our two dogs, it was nice to know that our pets were treated as well as we were. We enjoyed taking walks through the "secret gardens" and were close enough to walk to the beach. I loved being only 2 miles from Fort Bragg, close to shopping and restaruants and yet far from the tourists. I will definately be back. LOVE this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meadow View and had a private deck with the spa only steps away. Our two dogs had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Whether you are on a search for solitude or are people looking for a lovely, romantic experience, this is lodging is for you.

Especially nice is the obvious "pride of ownership" that Paula and Kathy display in the way they care for their property. The setting, though right on 101, gives a feeling of being secluded in the woods, with hot tub, convenient parking, beautifully decorated rooms furnished with microwave, refrigerator, eating area, and plenty of storage, both in the bathroom and the main "living" area.

I hope to stay there again one day, and hope you will too. Incidentally, there is a wonderful Mexican restaurant just down the road, The Purple Rose. Awesome margaritas as well!

Another important note. Rooms are available for those who like to travel with their pets.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sheclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I spent two lovely nights at Christmas at the Gardens. After the parties of the day and evening it was wonderful to come back to the Inn and relax. It was quite (& rainy), so sitting infront of that fireplace was perfect. The room was spacious, very clean and warm. The bed was very nice and it was special to have decent orginal oil paintings on the walls. It is kind of old fashion, which is exactly want I wanted. Plus, there were little things that made it special...good soap/clean-up towels for make-up/lot's of hot water...and the fire. What's not to enjoy? The location halfway between 10 mile beach, a great walk and the attractions in Ft. Bragg, works really well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mendosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

After years of visiting the Mendocino coast this has become our favorite get-away-place of choice. This being our longest vacation of the year we wanted something with all amenities and comforts of home. Rest and relaxation was key and Cleone Gardens makes a perfect fit! Quiet and peaceful yet 5-10 min from town and an easy walk to the beach makes for everything close at hand.

Each room is individually decorated. with some having full kitchens. A must for those like us who enjoy our own cooking and dining on the patio with a glass of wine. Our bed was very comfortable, we slept well.

The owners are wonderful, caring, helpful folks. A working family comprising of 3 generations. A rare sight these days! The Gardens are well manicured and a welcome sight to our pooch after a long drive. [Nevada] Yep, they love him too!

We find this place unique, warm and inviting, which we now share with many other close friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank freetoroam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Fort Bragg is a beautiful place and this inn is a little out of town. However, it's only about a 10 minute drive to the town itself. Since it is in the B&B part of Tripadvisor, we kind of expected a Bed & Breakfast, but as the name says, it's just an Inn (no breakfast, no hidden gem). The rooms are very basic, but clean. It has a nice little garden, but is quite a distance from the ocean. Overall it is an OK place to stay for a night or two, but if you're in town for a longer time, I would try to find a better accommodation in Fort Bragg or Mendocino.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
479 reviews
4.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
5.1 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleone Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleone Gardens Inn

Property: Cleone Gardens Inn
Address: 24600 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-9542
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleone Gardens Inn is located 2.5 miles North of Fort Bragg, in the peaceful community of Cleone, CA. Our inn has been family owned and operated since 2005 and offers a variety of lodging selections for your travel needs. Our unique guest rooms will help create a romantic atmosphere for a private weekend, or provide you with that relaxing needed getaway. The groomed gardens and forested area are full of natural wildlife that can be viewed from the many large decks and casual sitting areas. All rooms are pet friendly. 11 units, 5 of which have private gated pet decks. Some with kitchens, and or, fireplaces. Large doggie play meadow, wooded path to beach access, outdoor spa, free WI-FI and 13 channels of HBO. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, and include wine glasses, corkscrew, coffee maker w/coffee, teas, etc. Complimentary use of our pet stainless steel food and water bowls, beach/dry off towels, bed and furniture covers, and a treat. A short 10 min. walk to the beach and historic 'haul road',(now known as the Pacific Coast Trail), provides you with instant access to MacKerricher State Park, it's wooden boardwalk to Laguna Point Observation Deck, Lake Cleone, the 10 Mile Dunes Preserve, and many beautiful miles of scenic shoreline. You will also find, within walking distance, the Ricochet Ridge Ranch offering trail rides, English or Western horses, on the beach and in the Redwood Forest.The short 5 minute drive to Fort Bragg allows you access to many of it's fine restaurants, local theater events, the must see Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, many art galleries, the famous Glass Beach, the Sea Glass Museum,Catch-a-Canoe kayak and bike rentals (in Mendocino), Noyo harbor with it's sport fishing opportunities, seasonal whale watching tours, and off-leash dog beach for you and your pet. Newly remodeled 2013. Weekly and monthly rates. Winter discount Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleone Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing