We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mendocino experence”
Review of Cleone Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleone Gardens Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I love the location of this Inn! It sits on the west side of HWY 1 and you can take what feel's like a secret trail right to a sandy beach that goes for miles. The Inn itself is about 5 miles north of town with a very low key and romantic setting. We were looking for a private weekend not wanting to see people when we were at the place we were staying and this Inn fit our needs perfectly. THE best part of all is we have a GREAT DANE and the owner greeted our dog with open arms! It is always a challenge to find a nice pet friendly hotel but most don't consider a Great Dane a pet and we approach most offices to check in you can see the dislike of our large dog but not at the Cleone Gardens they treated us all so kindly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in the Novarrow suite for six nights from July 29th to August 3rd. It felt like we were staying in our own little house. It was quiet and peaceful with a wonderful view of woods. The suggestions in a book left on the table for guests sent us to beautiful places we wouldn't have known existed. We plan on returning again to this unique small inn that is pet friendly.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I would not recommend this place based on a list of bad experiences. Most of all, the owner does not put the customer first. The walls were thin and we could hear conversations in the adjacent rooms all night. There was a puddle of water next to the toilet left over from the cleaner or, worse, the previous guest. One of the other guests' dogs got off leash and charged at us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We first stayed at the Cleone "Lodge" as it was called back in 1980 for our 7th anniversary. Somehow we didn't make it back until our 37th (raising a family, etc.) 3 years ago. It was awesome to meet the new owners and we even showed them pictures to show what it looked like when we stayed there so long ago! We are now hooked on returning every August to make new memories and enjoy the sun and beach. The rooms are all very nice and sooo comfortable. It is quiet with lovely grounds, a nice hot tub and although you can't see the ocean from the property, you can hear the roar. Paula and Kathy are awesome ladies that do everything to make sure you are happy with your stay. There is some road noise if you are up front, so we bring a little fan for "white noise"......we live up in the foothills on a dead end road on 2 acres so aren't used to any noise other than the deer chewing our lawn! They are in the process of remodeling on one end and we can't wait to go back and see the finished rooms. It is certainly worth our 5 1/2 drive for the wonderful time to relax and enjoy such a beautiful part of the coastline.

Room Tip: The Lupine room has a super comfy king bed with a memory foam top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

A well deserved rating. Cleone Gardens Inn is a family owned and operated business. When we arrived about 6pm Friday evening, the owners were gone, but left an envelope taped to the door with instructions and a key. We didn't mind - it was just a different way of doing check-in. To our surprise we were upgraded to the Novarro room.

The property and room was beautiful. Cozy, warm and absolutely charming. I'm fussy about being in a clean place, and I will say, I felt completely comfortable. This is exactly why we take trips outside of the home - to relax and enjoy.

There is a binder with information about local restaurants and things to do. The directions showing the trail to the beach was easy. The walk is about 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile to the ocean. My husband and I didn't think that was long, but we do walks all the time.

The location of the hotel, (I believe the style is more of a bed & breakfast, but no breakfast) is just outside of Fort Bragg. We walked to the closest restaurant our first evening, which was the Purple Rose. I do not recommend the restaurant. When I go out to eat, and pay someone to prepare and serve, the food has to be better than frozen microwave food.

As non-dog owners, the property was well maintained (I didn't smell any dog odors) and quiet. I expected to hear more barking, but didn't.

Overall, this was a nice escape out of town, and it was a birthday present for my husband; I would like to make this a regular birthday gift for him each year (selfish me).

Room Tip: The Novarro room was spacious; you get a living room, dining room, kitchen (fully stocked), refriger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destination2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have stayed at the Cleone Gardens Inn many times in several different rooms and have always had a great visit. The rooms are clean, cozy, and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and full of rhododendrons, foxgloves, cala lilies, and many other beautiful flowers throughout the year. I also love that it is family owned & operated, it is obvious that the family cares deeply about the Inn and making sure all its guests are happy - including pets! I love their attitude that pets are family and that the entire Inn is pet-friendly, but with as clean as the rooms are, you'd never know it.The hot tub is a nice bonus, too! It is out of the way enough that it's quiet and you feel you're "getting away" but still just a quick walk or drive to town, shopping, beaches, state parks, and hiking trails. I have made many wonderful memories at Cleone Gardens Inn and I hope to continue to do so on many future visits.

Room Tip: the kitchenette suites are great - plenty of room to have a small dinner gathering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent two nights at this delightful small motel recently and loved every minute of it. Small, but very comfortable rooms with excellent linens and other amenities. Our King Charles Spaniel was treated like a special guest. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Newport Ranch
The Inn at Newport Ranch
#2 of 11 in Fort Bragg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
5.1 mi away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
771 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleone Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleone Gardens Inn

Address: 24600 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-9542
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £74 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleone Gardens Inn is located 2.5 miles North of Fort Bragg, in the peaceful community of Cleone, CA. Our inn has been family owned and operated since 2005 and offers a variety of lodging selections for your travel needs. Our unique guest rooms will help create a romantic atmosphere for a private weekend, or provide you with that relaxing needed getaway. The groomed gardens and forested area are full of natural wildlife that can be viewed from the many large decks and casual sitting areas. All rooms are pet friendly. 11 units, 5 of which have private gated pet decks. Some with kitchens, and or, fireplaces. Large doggie play meadow, wooded path to beach access, outdoor spa, free WI-FI and 13 channels of HBO. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, and include wine glasses, corkscrew, coffee maker w/coffee, teas, etc. Complimentary use of our pet stainless steel food and water bowls, beach/dry off towels, bed and furniture covers, and a treat. A short 10 min. walk to the beach and historic 'haul road',(now known as the Pacific Coast Trail), provides you with instant access to MacKerricher State Park, it's wooden boardwalk to Laguna Point Observation Deck, Lake Cleone, the 10 Mile Dunes Preserve, and many beautiful miles of scenic shoreline. You will also find, within walking distance, the Ricochet Ridge Ranch offering trail rides, English or Western horses, on the beach and in the Redwood Forest.The short 5 minute drive to Fort Bragg allows you access to many of it's fine restaurants, local theater events, the must see Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, many art galleries, the famous Glass Beach, the Sea Glass Museum,Catch-a-Canoe kayak and bike rentals (in Mendocino), Noyo harbor with it's sport fishing opportunities, seasonal whale watching tours, and off-leash dog beach for you and your pet. Newly remodeled 2013. Weekly and monthly rates. Winter discount Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleone Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing