We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place !!!”
Review of Cleone Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleone Gardens Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place !!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Cleone gardens inn is a great place to stay. The beds are very comfy and they supply you with plenty of fluffy bath towels. We stay there because they are dog friendly. The owners are very nice and will go out of their way to accommodate you. The prices are very reasonable for this part of the coast. We have stayed there twice and will be back. Very quiet with a nice garden/lawn area and you can walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolaMtnDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutter, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The customer service here is above and beyond anything we've experienced in the Fort Bragg area (or most anywhere!). We chose to stay here because we have two small dogs and they were welcomed here. We were asked on booking the room if our dogs needed anything in particular. I couldn't think of anything, but they offered doggy towels which we accepted and they were waiting for us with a little note "doggy towels".

When we checked in, we were walked to the room and shown around. This was just another bonus - you never get walked to your room in most motels! There is a phone next to the office in the event you need one after the office closes. The bed was amazingly comfortabe and enough pillows were provided (a rarity), with soft and cozy bedding. The gardens are beautiful with lots of place to walk the dogs. We had a small private deck with very comfortable lounge chairs overlooking part of the gardens.

The beach is just around the corner if you don't feel like walking. We measured it at about 3/4 mile to the beach.

In the past we'd stayed at Surf and Sand, which was good the first time we were there and has gone down since that first time (their office staff has never been friendly). THIS experience, at Cleone Gardens Inn, was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the room was immaculate, the decor was very cozy. We LOVED it and will always stay there on our future visits to Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjduvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

What a nice, private place! We love a place where we can get away, NO phones NEEDED (though we could get cell service there on 2 carriers, and there is a phone on the property), and not a hectic pace. It is calming there with lovely green-covered grounds. We found the owners to be very nice and accomodating. We thought the room was clean, and had what we needed. We chose the place because it is pet-friendly, and they are. They were gracious about our dogs, with no unreasonable rules to follow.

There is not an easy path to the beach, but if you drive and park, you've got MILES of beach to walk. The dogs had a blast! It was alo a very easy trip into town. We went many times, in search of crab, and it wasn't a bother at all. If you want to get away, be calm, leave the fast pace, and don't expect the Hilton, go there!

  • Liked — Taking the dogs
  • Disliked — not too cllose to the beach
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suegeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed at the Cleone Gardens Inn in the Meadow View Room and had a wonderful time!

Before I describe our stay further, let me address some complaints I've read. Yes, it is a remote location. No they don't have cell service or telephones in the rooms. HOWEVER, the trip to town where cell service is available is a short 10 minute drive. I had work issues that had to be sorted out during my stay, and driving to town was quick and easy and allowed me to take care of business then get back to enjoying my vacation.

I found the staff very warm and accommodating. We stayed in a lovely room with a beautiful redwood deck that looked out onto a serene meadow. Breakfast was delicious and the jams must have been locally made and were scrumptious! I understand they are slowly renovating the rooms, and some of my fellow vacationers did say their rooms were not as nice as the one we had, so be aware that some rooms have been redecorated and some have not. I was out quite late due to the business issues and felt entirely safe walking through the parking lot to my room.

At the time we were there the spa did not work due to a leak, but that was a minor inconvenience.

Due to the water shortage, they did ask that we be sparing in our water use. We are Southern Californians and no strangers to water shortages, so we were glad to comply. In return they gave us complimentary bottled water daily that was nicely stocked in our refrigerator.

Overall we were extremely pleased and felt well cared for and loved the accommodations. It really is a lovely property and I really enjoyed the fact that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When I have a bit more time I'll upload some of my pictures of the inn.

  • Liked — Serene beautiful location
  • Disliked — Nothing. It would have been nice to have a phone in the room, but not a big issue.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaliGal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Our stay at the Cleone Gardens Inn, in Ft. Bragg, Ca. was the worst I have ever experienced. The management is not only unhelpful with guests requests (such as a phone in the room), but even sarcastic and criticizing of guests requests and questions. Cell phone service is virtually nonexistent in the location, and no phone in the room, no management on site at night, and being the only car in the parking lot during our 5 night stay made us very uneasy to say the least. The kitchen was very poorly furnished. The oven smoked when we turned it on and the smoke detector in the room had been disassembled. The windows were covered with make-shift curtains that barely covered the windows. Also, there is no private pathway to the beach as the website says, unless you like walking through thick jungle! Choose another place. There are many nice place in Ft. Bragg. Don't waste your money here.
Carol/Atlanta

  • Liked — leaving the premises
  • Disliked — the owner's attitude
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank carolAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcalbetty, owner/manager at Cleone Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2007
We sincerely regret that these guests were disappointed in their stay at the Gardens.
And appreciate this opportunity to address their review of us.
We are owner/operators and we were the ones who spoke with them daily in order to
satisfy their requests. Every email from them in the 2 ½ months prior to their arrival,
13 emails in total, was answered in a professional and courteous manner. Every request was answered including mailing them a hiker's guide so they could better plan their trip. Also that requested items were in their room upon arrival. We also granted them permission to use our laundry facilities after hours, and free of charge, which is not our standard practice.
It was apparent to us that they were dissatisfied with our location, remarking daily that they,"did not know", that we were so remote and that they felt isolated. The Inn is located 3 miles from town and sits on 2.5 acres of gardens and wooded trails. Wildlife is prevalent and freely roam the grounds. At night the walkways, porches, decks, and parking areas are well lit. Although their suite was equipped with mini blinds as well as drapes, they requested additional coverage, which we granted. But the wildlife situation was beyond our control. They then complained that the deer just off their deck was causing them sleepless nights. We then provided them with flashlights and employed our gardener, (at our expense), to stay in a room near them in an attempt to make them feel more secure.
Cell phone reception is greatly effected by ones cell phone carrier and by the quality of the phone itself. Occasionally a guest will have diminished service but, rarely no service at all. It was explained to them that the rooms are not wired for telephone service, which
most guests applaud, and providing them a telephone was of no use to them! That was the only request that we could not grant. However, they knew that there was then, and still is, a telephone available for all guests to use, 24/7, outside of the office.
As far as the kitchens being ‘poorly furnished’, this was their opinion. We have equipped each kitchen with the most common utensils, appliances and dishware needed. Limited space does not allow for all conveniences of a home kitchen. Guests are encouraged to inventory their space for items needed. We have always been able to provide those items requested. A small oven spill did cause some smoke that the oven hood could have solved for them.They refused our offer to clean it... But the accusation that our smoke alarm system was ‘disassembled’ was a complete false statement. ALL rooms are equipped with smoke alarms and easy access to fire extinguishers. There are, however remnants of the old system still in place as well as the newest functioning smoke alarms attached in the vaulted ceilings.
It is unfortunate that after all our most sincere attempts to satisfy these guests, in which included a sizeable discount, they then refused to pay for their entire stay forcing the local authorities to intervene. The dispute was quickly resolved.
It has been and will continue to be our policy to provide all our guests with the utmost respect, no matter the situation. But the disappointing outcome of an ill planned vacation remains the responsibility of the ones who planned it.
Thank You!
Kathy and Paula Christensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleone Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleone Gardens Inn

Property: Cleone Gardens Inn
Address: 24600 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-9542
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleone Gardens Inn is located 2.5 miles North of Fort Bragg, in the peaceful community of Cleone, CA. Our inn has been family owned and operated since 2005 and offers a variety of lodging selections for your travel needs. Our unique guest rooms will help create a romantic atmosphere for a private weekend, or provide you with that relaxing needed getaway. The groomed gardens and forested area are full of natural wildlife that can be viewed from the many large decks and casual sitting areas. All rooms are pet friendly. 11 units, 5 of which have private gated pet decks. Some with kitchens, and or, fireplaces. Large doggie play meadow, wooded path to beach access, outdoor spa, free WI-FI and 13 channels of HBO. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, and include wine glasses, corkscrew, coffee maker w/coffee, teas, etc. Complimentary use of our pet stainless steel food and water bowls, beach/dry off towels, bed and furniture covers, and a treat. A short 10 min. walk to the beach and historic 'haul road',(now known as the Pacific Coast Trail), provides you with instant access to MacKerricher State Park, it's wooden boardwalk to Laguna Point Observation Deck, Lake Cleone, the 10 Mile Dunes Preserve, and many beautiful miles of scenic shoreline. You will also find, within walking distance, the Ricochet Ridge Ranch offering trail rides, English or Western horses, on the beach and in the Redwood Forest.The short 5 minute drive to Fort Bragg allows you access to many of it's fine restaurants, local theater events, the must see Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, many art galleries, the famous Glass Beach, the Sea Glass Museum,Catch-a-Canoe kayak and bike rentals (in Mendocino), Noyo harbor with it's sport fishing opportunities, seasonal whale watching tours, and off-leash dog beach for you and your pet. Newly remodeled 2013. Weekly and monthly rates. Winter discount Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleone Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing