We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing.....”
Review of Grey Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Whale Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing.....”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-August. We were very disappointed. Upon arrival, we found the outside of the "inn" extremely unkept... plants totally overgrown, weeds everywhere. We'd traveled all day, we were exausted,so decided to go inside and give it a try. Huge mistake. Our disappointment continued. The room was VERY overpriced, no heating in the rooms and the windows are very drafty and don't close all the way. The carpets are old and smell awful and the paint around the windows is old and peeling. The owner was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. We had a tiny television (maybe 12 inches) in the room and got very fuzzy, static reception. The breakfast was basically cold granola, fruit and toast. There were a few poached eggs and juice, but you served yourself and catered your own table. Although the "staff" (husband and wife) came in several times, no one spoke. I would never stay here again and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philtim7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    10
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the "Grey Whale". Our room was quiet, comfortable and spacious! The Inn has so much character! Sweet Pea, the resident feline, kept us company in the evening while playing pool and relaxing in our room. We cannot wait to visit again soon. We loved being within walking distance to Glass Beach. the shops, restaurants etc.
The "Grey Whale Innkeeper" was very gracious!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I've been to Fort Bragg before and love the town, but this was the first time I've stayed at the Grey Whale. What a very cool place it is!! Its history as a former hospital gives it a lot of character. It was a quiet night and we were the only guests, so we kind of toured the place informally and looked into some of the vacant rooms. All of them were very spacious and had their own individual personalities. The innkeeper, Michael, was extremely considerate and accommodating and made us one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B. Simple and delicious, flavored with herbs fresh from the garden. I'll definitely stay there on my next Fort Bragg trip and will recommend the place to all of my friends for their next coastal vacation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I drove through town trying to decide where to stay, it is warm weekend and palces were pretty full and pricey. I stumble onto this driving by, not much to look at from outside but walking distance to town shops/restaurants, so stopped on side of road and called, What a delightful Innkeeper, said he had just the rooom for me /with private bath, at reasonalbe price (less than $100) on Sat evening and include sbreakfast. They have common rooms to sit and read or relax It was so nice, clean and awesome atmosphere and the others there were a delight and longtime return guest. I WILL BE NOW TOO.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humpback50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Many years ago, my parents and I drove past the Grey Whale Inn. After learning its history (it opened as a hospital in 1915) I longed to stay there. My husband and I recently fulfilled my dream.
We stayed in the huge Railway Room and enjoyed the spaciousness and amenities (gas fireplace and kitchenette). What an excellent value!
The ocean and the endless, wildflower-studded moors are a short walk away. The flower filled garden provided a sweet space for relaxation. The whispering cypress and the flower scented air almost blocked out Highway 1. I felt transported back in time.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsomniferum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I along with our Son and Grandson stayed at the Grey Whale Inn; it was a great place with rooms so large filled with old memorabilia. The beds were first class, and every floor had a library of interesting books to borrow and read. The owner was a great guy and it was really peaceful. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is the most unique one I have ever stayed at. I plan to go back again when I visit from Australia. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel with real character, and great facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west tisbury
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

What can I say??? I love this place, I love Mike the owner, I loved my ocean view from my room, I loved the fact that the Inn felt like a home away from home. I lived at the Grey whale Innn for one month whie I was a student at Living light . The weeks I spent at the Grey whale were unforgettable. I loved the community of wonderful , generous open minded people that chose to live there and visit as well. I loved Mike's sweet nature, and giving personality.He was always around to help, share and just chat with. He even lent me his mountain bike whenever I felt like usung it.
The place is funky and you haveto be the type of person who acknowledges the beauty in the odd and eccentric features of this place.I loved it! All the rooms and I think I saw every one of them have their own character, with endearing and special details. I was in the room where the babies were born ( it was an old hospital) and loved the comforting and peaceful energy. The place was so welcoming, my favorite aspect was picking and eating things straight out of his organic garden. I was always excited as I approached the Inn and instantly felt relaxed as soon as I entered the property with the lush, wild garden you can't help but notice from streets away. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a relaxing vacation, who does not need the luxuries of a fancy up skill hotel. I would definietly strongly suggest that anyone who is planning to be a student at the Living lIght insitute to go to Choose the Grey whale for thier lving accomadations. I look forward to my return to see Mike again and to stay at a place where I have very fond a heartwarming memories.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujubug1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Property: Grey Whale Inn
Address: 615 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3240
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Whale Inn offers vacation lodging amidst comfort and laid back Mendocino Coast elegance. The Inn, a classic architecture of old-growth redwood, is a premier oceanfront inn in historic downtown Fort Bragg. Within walking distance of a great selection of restaurants, the internationally award winning North Coast Brewery, Glass Beach, the Skunk Train, art galleries, a culinary center, and the historic downtown shopping area. Experience the real Mendocino personality at the Grey Whale Inn. We no longer provide a breakfast. However, there are many wonderful local dining locations within walking distance of the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grey Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing