We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute B&B”
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weller House Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute B&B”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Our room was very charming and comfortable. The hostess was friendly and a great cook, breakfast included fresh eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice. The floors were heated, it took a while to kick in but it definitely warmed up the room.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Meagatron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    23
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
78
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After reading the terrific reviews for Weller House Inn, we were quite excited to visit. While there were nothing terribly wrong with this place, it really lacked any sort of warmth or coziness. The owner, while being nice, was not super helpful or excited about being there.

The good things:
- the room are spacious
- the breakfast was delicious
- big ballroom

The not so good:
- cramped kitchen where 8 of us had to have breakfast. I don't know how we would have fit if all rooms were full.
- no cozy area for relaxation or chatting. There is a library which did not look inviting at all; other than that, there was no inviting/welcoming in the entire house to hang out / relax.
- Guests do not get access to the kitchen, often one of the advantages for staying in a BB as opposed to a hotel room
- heating in the room was not good. The owner did warn us it takes 30 minutes to kick in but it really took longer than that. It is also pretty noisy during the night.
- the mattress is average to poor quality. Other guests that were staying there had similar experience
- shower did not drain properly

Overall, I would say we have stayed in much better B&Bs. Yes, this place has Victorian charm and a huge ballroom but it lacked many features of B&Bs and did not meet our high expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnc_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed two nights - Sunday and Monday. Loved our room - such a comfortable bed, lovely radiant floor heating, beautiful tiled bathroom, and great elaborate armoire. Our hostess was friendly and helpful, asking about our preferences for type of restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was very nice, if not elaborate - wonderful fresh-laid eggs, whole grain bread, yogurt, fresh fruit and great fresh-squeezed orange juice. The grounds have some interesting plants, a small koi pond, and a hen house - all adding to the period feel. The top of the water tower is accessible to all guests and the views are spectacular.

We discovered this place through Groupon, but we definitely will come back even without the discount.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This lovely inn is in a great location, has attractive and comfortable rooms, and the proprietor and her staff are friendly and welcoming. The bed was beautifully made with high quality linens and was extremely comfortable. The room was spotless and sunny. I was here for work and they made every effort to make sure I had what I needed and was comfortable. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibrarianLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Weller House Inn is a gem with a redwood lined ballroom on the top floor. Many delightfully decorated rooms with terrific sheets and comfortable beds. Yummy breakfast freshly prepared by the proprietor and her staff. Great tips for enjoying the hiking, restaurants, brewery, beaches, botanical garden and other special features of Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night at the end of December. We were quite impressed with this historic property. The ballroom on the 3rd floor is paneled in redwood, it was beautiful! They regularly hold tango classes here and the ballroom is acoustically "perfect." Our room was quaint and comfortable. The room had radiant underfloor heating, down pillows, down comforter and a clawfoot tub. Breakfast was homemade, organic and delicious.
The property was beautifully landscaped and kept, in addition to being quiet.
Maybe the highlight was climbing the water tower, which then puts you at the highest point in Fort Bragg, and admiring the view of the ocean and hills.
The owner is very personable, friendly, and active in sustainable initiatives in Fort Bragg.
You will not regret a stay here.

Room Tip: I loved my Asian Themed room on the 2nd floor, but woud kove to stay in the water tower next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guera0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I made last minute reservations at this beautful and historical B&B. From the first phone call to when our family left this place, we felt very taken care of. In fact, we felt like the owner actually CARED about our well-being! She was so generous and helpful. My two little boys were sick on the way up to stay here because of the extremely windy roads on the way to Fort Bragg. The owner, Vivian, actually asked questions like:
"Have you eaten?
Where are you exactly and I'll tell you where you can stop.
and...
Don't worry about rushing, just get here safe."
Who but your own family or friends would care about stuff like that?
When we arrived, it was to a wonderful Victorian era home with antique furniture to match!
The stay was great, the breakfast was amazing. Make sure and try Vivian's sons orange marmalade! We bought some to take home!

Room Tip: Stay in the 2nd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Property: Weller House Inn
Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals (organic since 2008). The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday FOLK DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing