We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Groupon stay”
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weller House Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our week long road trip. I found The Weller House on Groupon and I'm so glad I did. We stayed in the Iris room and it was delightful and charming. We paid $140 for the night. I would probably not stay here if I had to pay full price but for the deal we had, it was well worth it.

The breakfast was delightful. Eggs cooked to order, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, tasty breads and amazing jams.

Fort Bragg is a VERY charming small town with lots of interesting folks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Historic house , great views , a stroll to the beach as well as dowtown's store and restaurants. Our visit includes an organic breakfast, the inn keeper's son makes the best marmalade ever. The eggs are fresh as you can get as the chickens are on the property, ( but clean n quiet). A real treat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guccisfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our room was very charming and comfortable. The hostess was friendly and a great cook, breakfast included fresh eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice. The floors were heated, it took a while to kick in but it definitely warmed up the room.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Meagatron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After reading the terrific reviews for Weller House Inn, we were quite excited to visit. While there were nothing terribly wrong with this place, it really lacked any sort of warmth or coziness. The owner, while being nice, was not super helpful or excited about being there.

The good things:
- the room are spacious
- the breakfast was delicious
- big ballroom

The not so good:
- cramped kitchen where 8 of us had to have breakfast. I don't know how we would have fit if all rooms were full.
- no cozy area for relaxation or chatting. There is a library which did not look inviting at all; other than that, there was no inviting/welcoming in the entire house to hang out / relax.
- Guests do not get access to the kitchen, often one of the advantages for staying in a BB as opposed to a hotel room
- heating in the room was not good. The owner did warn us it takes 30 minutes to kick in but it really took longer than that. It is also pretty noisy during the night.
- the mattress is average to poor quality. Other guests that were staying there had similar experience
- shower did not drain properly

Overall, I would say we have stayed in much better B&Bs. Yes, this place has Victorian charm and a huge ballroom but it lacked many features of B&Bs and did not meet our high expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jnc_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed two nights - Sunday and Monday. Loved our room - such a comfortable bed, lovely radiant floor heating, beautiful tiled bathroom, and great elaborate armoire. Our hostess was friendly and helpful, asking about our preferences for type of restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was very nice, if not elaborate - wonderful fresh-laid eggs, whole grain bread, yogurt, fresh fruit and great fresh-squeezed orange juice. The grounds have some interesting plants, a small koi pond, and a hen house - all adding to the period feel. The top of the water tower is accessible to all guests and the views are spectacular.

We discovered this place through Groupon, but we definitely will come back even without the discount.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This lovely inn is in a great location, has attractive and comfortable rooms, and the proprietor and her staff are friendly and welcoming. The bed was beautifully made with high quality linens and was extremely comfortable. The room was spotless and sunny. I was here for work and they made every effort to make sure I had what I needed and was comfortable. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibrarianLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Weller House Inn is a gem with a redwood lined ballroom on the top floor. Many delightfully decorated rooms with terrific sheets and comfortable beds. Yummy breakfast freshly prepared by the proprietor and her staff. Great tips for enjoying the hiking, restaurants, brewery, beaches, botanical garden and other special features of Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Fort Bragg
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £179 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals (organic since 2008). The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday FOLK DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing