We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway One is a Must for any American - Stay at the Beach house for the best experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highway One is a Must for any American - Stay at the Beach house for the best experience.”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My wife and I, well our first date was at the beautiful botanical gardens in Fort Bragg, CA. If you've never been there - you definitely should. It's the same price as a movie and so much more entertainment (and I'm not a flower guy). Anyways, when visiting family in NorCal for thanksgiving we decided to take the Hwy One back home to SoCal - Orange County.

We drove on up to Fort Bragg via the Hwy 20, another beautiful drive I might add, and stayed in the Beach House Inn Motel. The room was $160 - number 104 with the in-room soaking pool (this is NOT a jacuzzi) and at first admittedly I felt a little ripped off. The 'soaking pool' was more of a giant bathtub next to the bed (admittedly my fault for misinterpreting the term to mean jacuzzi), the TV was a tiny old CRT TV and the bed was pretty hard.

However, after exploring Fort Bragg we came back to our room and immediately collapsed in a comatose state - and here is where this hotel really shines. The bed isn't nearly as hard as first glance and the blankets were pleasantly soft. The hotel overlooks an estuary and our room had a balcony - in the morning we were awakened by the sunrise over the estuary - a truly incredible view. The breakfast was delicious and the shower neither hard nor cold.

All in all I have to say this hotel came through in the end - I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    66
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
42
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
229 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Pet friendly hotel with $10 per night pet fee. Lots of area to exercise your pet. Pictures and description deceptive, not on the beach and water in pictures is a pond behind the hotel. Not "in" town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We arrived during the busy Labour Day weekend, and every hotel in town was booked. My travel agent found this place 2 weeks in advance. Not much to see when you first pull up but what the place lacks in luster on the outside, very much makes up on whats on the inside. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the managers (Jerry and Sara) went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. I'm disabled and in a wheelchair and even though they didn't have an accessible room (they have them but they were already booked) they made every effort to make my room accessible for me. They had no issue with my service dog (in training, 18 month old Boxer) and they adored my 3 boys. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmclawson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Beach House Inn was a great place to stay at for our family reunion event. Our group of 3 families (10 people total staying in 5 different rooms) had a nice, private and quiet building to ourselves. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous, and the continental breakfast items were a nice touch. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and we could easily walk to the beach or downtown Fort Bragg and the Skunk Train depot and shopping (less than 1/2 mile).

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Here's the thing: If you book on line, as we did, you will get their low end room because they have to share the profits with a travel agent. The on line price may sound better but, believe me, you get what you pay for. We got the Motel 6 style room with outdated everything and a remote control that didn't work. It was the bottom floor, so we were awakened in the middle of the night by walking and thumping above us. The coup de grace was a sudden loud thump that activated our smoke detector alarm. We requested a room change the following morning (we had paid for 3 nights) but were told that the only rooms available would cost us an additional $50 per night. Long story short, we were refunded the remaining two nights we had paid for and took our business elsewhere. They may have nice rooms, but we didn't see them. If you stay here and they tell you your room # is 602, run like hell. By the way, our room rate was $129: not exactly peanuts for that kind of room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2BizzyTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGERBEACHHOUSEINN, General Manager at Beach House Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
We are very sorry this customer did"nt enjoy her stay. She made reservation online and ordered the room she got. As for the noise and remote she did"nt tell us till she checked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
416 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

With large rooms, good view and superb friendly service - the only thing that could be better here is the breakfast (fruit, cake and donuts served on the front desk). Overall - excellent choice !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This place was fine. I mean, it had beds and was clean enough. But in general it was more like a Motel 6 than I was expecting. Fort Bragg was not at all like, I don't know, Mendocino. It's more of a regular, even run down town, and this motel was perhaps one of the nicer ones...? But it's not at all as "nice" as they make it out to be on the website. A couple examples: Very dated decor--polyester vibe. Old carpets and bathtubs. We left a tin of trail mix (that had chocolate in it) on the TV stand and in the morning it was covered in ants. In the morning at the breakfast "buffet" they serve CAKE. Not coffee cake. Cakes from the grocery store cut up...
This place would be fine if it charged Motel 6 rates. Anything more is too much. One exception: it has a nice view of the Estuary if you get one of those rooms. But that's out the dated sliding doors or out on your plastic patio furniture....

It's down the way from the Beachcomber hotel. We walked by that and it looks quite nice and it's actually right on the cliffs of the beach-you can walk down to it. It also seemed to have updated rooms (from what I could see). Just a tip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn

Property: Beach House Inn
Address: 100 Pudding Creek Rd, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House Inn on Pudding Creek. 32 rooms with Ocean and Estuary views. Most have private patios with 6 separate buildings. Free WiFi in every room. Soaking tubs and fireplaces in some rooms. Newly constructed in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Fort Bragg
Beach Hotel Fort Bragg
Beach Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing