We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a place to flop fro night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Just a place to flop fro night”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an aging, but well maintained motel. Check in was a snap and the room was clean and fresh. All the rooms face west and you get an awesome sunset. Trouble is, the rooms also face Highway 1, so there is road noise to contend with. Windows open for air, too noisy to hear the TV. Shut the windows at one can still hear the low roar of passing cars.
"Breakfast" was NOT. Of the dozens of Best Westerns we have stayed over the years, this was the most pitiful "Breakfast" of all. Plan on going to town for breakfast because if you want more than the customary BW waffle, and a piece of wheat bread, you will not get it. As long as you know, plan for it.

The Pros: Free Wi-fi, big screen TV in room, good shower, comfy beds, tasty coffee in lobby ( do not drink room coffee), nice ocean view.

Room Tip: Plan for Breakfast in town. The "included" Breakfast is a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauisron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    187
    127
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
190
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Clean, quiet room. Indoor pool on the premises, although we did not partake. Continental breakfast served with limited, but tasty variety. Facility could use some updating, but our room was comfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I were traveling from Oregon back home to Monterey County California and needed a place to rest. We tried to book several places but they were all booked. We had just left Brookings, Oregon and had stayed at a Best Western there. We were very pleased with their accommodations so I had them book us at the Vista Manor Lodge Best Western, Fort Bragg California. Very disappointed with it being old and run down but being tired we could get passed the outdated appearance as long as it was clean. Ready to settle down my husband took a shower and the towel bar came off the wall, I wanted to watch a little TV, but the remote was leaking acid from the batteries and would not connect channels. Okay let's just go to bed since we have a long drive the next day. Crawling into bed we both started itching like crazy. Guess the mites liked us that were leftover in the mattress or? Left early after taking our hot showers. We informed the manager about the situations and especially felt immediate attention should be taken regarding the "dust mites." She had no comment and seemed annoyed even though I felt I was very polite and spoke softly. Oh by the way we paid extra for an ocean view which turned out to be a view of sand dunes with a small peak of the ocean far away. The main view was the highway between us and the sand dunes, left this unsaid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy14545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

La Crescent, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was the most expensive hotel stay on our trip, but definitely not the nicest one. Though the staff was nice, the entire facility appeared very old and dated. The room was okay, but in need of fresh paint, etc. It was clean and quiet and we slept okay. The facility has several separate two story buildings with rooms and a separate main building with the lobby and breakfast area. The breakfast was okay, but nothing great. The coffee was only fair. The dining area was spacious. There was no ice maker for our building. We had to walk across the parking lot to another building to get ice and then that ice machine wasn't working properly. It would churn and make noise for a couple of minutes and then one or two pieces of ice would fall in the bucket. There was a distant view of the ocean from our room, but the grounds outside the window were dirt and tall weeds, clearly in need of landscaping. The whole air of the place was that this was once (perhaps) a nice place that had seen better days. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've normally stayed at the Beachcomber across the highway, which is right on the ocean. The Vista Manor is a little run down, and the breakfasts are not so good -- terrible coffee, limited selection of not-very-healthy foods. However, the view from the rooms in the main building is spectacular, the beds are fine, and the guests are quiet, which is a change from the Beachcomber.

Room Tip: You wouldn't want to be in the building in the lowest part of the property, I don't think. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge in Fort Bragg, CA is in an absolutely beautiful location on the Mendocino coast of California. There's hiking, beer, wine, the Skunk Train, birding, fishing, restaurants, botanical gardens to die for, Redwoods and Glass Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herrin, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Overall average: building appearance and construction; room quality. On the pleasant side the location provided a view of the ocean (about one-fourth mile away). Not so pleasant, for my wife, there is a cemetery right next door. The breakfast was not too good.

Room Tip: If you don't like cemeteries stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexr483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vista Manor Lodge

Property: Best Western Vista Manor Lodge
Address: 1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Vista Manor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing