We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K., but forget the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I think it was quite expensive for what it offered... US$150 for nothing special, a simple motel.... but we had to sleep in this hotel because there was nothing else available in town.
The breakfast was ridiculous... watery coffe and some cheap small muffin that you had to take to your room because there was no breakfast room...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. Rates vary by season--this is the busiest time of year on the Mendocino Coast so the rates are higher, during the off season the scenery is still spectacular and the rates are less! Our morning muffins are a big hit with our guests. All fresh baked right here in Fort Bragg--not made with all sorts of preservatives in some far away plant and shipped here. I make many varieties such as: Blueberry, Bran/Zucchini, Lemon Poppyseed, Apricot Pecan, Blueberry Lemon, Maraschino Cherry/White Chocolate and the crowd favorite Chocolate/Chocolate chip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped her for the night on our trip down the coast. It is very outdated but seemed to be clean. Our problem was more with the rooms having extremely thin walls or adjoining doors where all sound comes through. On one side of us, the person had the tv so loud we could hear the entire show. On the other side, the occupant had a large dog that barked in the middle of the night. Worst of all was the people in the room behind us. They were having a large party which you could hear throughout the whole room. It was so bad, we left the motel at 3:30am since we weren't getting any sleep. When the front desk tried to call them, no one would answer the desk phone. So I asked for a refund, since the place was overpriced for what it was. I have paid less money to stay at the Marriott or Hilton property. But on that day in particular, the best western down the street was over twice the price. Since they didn't charge me and were very apologetic, I am giving them 2 stars instead of one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura63013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

On occasion we get those noisy inconsiderate guests! Sure seems as if we had 'em the night you were here! I would like to add my apology to those extended to you by our staff. Hope you were able to catch up on your sleep the next night. Please give us another chance to offer "a peaceful night's rest" on your next visit to the Mendocino Coast. Again, my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

You can hear the ocean, you are close to everything. The rooms are impeccably clean. the staff is outstanding, Our accommodations were very good. Plenty of parking, not easy when you have a 16' box rig and a fully-loaded chase vehicle,

The continental breakfast was most welcome and quite tasty. The pool and spa are a must-visit and are beautifully maintained.

The price and the value of the amenities makes long-distance business travel an enjoyable experience, and we would recommend the Seabird Lodge for anyone business or pleasure...best place to stay for the Salmon Fest!

Room Tip: Call ahead for the Salmon Fest, and other local events. Fort Bragg books up quickly, and the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PyroDejah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. Glad you enjoyed your accommodations. I think our staff is "outstanding" too! Our housekeeping crew is tops! The morning muffins are a hit ! I enjoy making them for our guests--I made apricot/pecan and raspberry/white chocolate muffins today. Hope to see you on a future visit to our spectacular piece of the universe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Good place to stay for a cheap and clean night. Nice people at the desk also. Only issue is the room was super stuffy and hot. It was only 70 degrees outside, but the room was very warm all night. They provided a small fan in the room but no A/C. Tough to sleep.

Room Tip: Get something in the front of the building. Might not be as hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thanks for your review of the Seabird. We appreciate our guests taking the time to post reviews. It has been unusually warm here this past week --70 to 72 degrees or so.and west facing rooms do get warm. Using the fan and having the window open for awhile most often does the trick. Thanks for mentioning our nice staff--could not agree more! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Seabird Lodge is a decent budget accommodation near downtown. It is right on the highway, but you can see the ocean across the road. There is significant road noise, but it does quiet down a lot after dark. The continental breakfast has coffee, juice, many muffins and yogurt. The staff is very fririendly. The hotel has a coin operated laundry that we used, and the price was reasonable. The carpet on the second floor outside hallway is coming loose and it is easy to trip when walking. My only real compalint is the pillows: they like small squares of cardboard. Given the prices of other properties in Fort Bragg, I would stay here again. I joined the ABVI club, for no fee online, and I was able to get a better room rate. The free wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. The upstairs west facing rooms have distant ocean views. Request one of these when you book at 800 345 0022. The Seabird sits back off Main Street a half block. We offer a variety of fresh baked muffins each morning. A few of the favorite varieties are Blueberry, Blueberry/Lemon, Bran/Raisin/Zucchini, Chocolate/Chocolate Chip, Maraschino Cherry/White Chocolate and Corn/Cheddar/Green Onion. Friendly rates and even friendlier staff--That's the Seabird!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were able to hear every cough, snort, grunt and waterfall next door because the room walls are pretty thin, but the homemade muffins kinda made up for it all. Staff were friendly and accomodating and we did not use the pool/hot tub facility. Nice enough place for the one night on our way through but would not be anxious to return.

Room Tip: None are really quiet as the motel is bounded on three sides by fairly busy roads. Our room was loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Glad that you liked the homemade muffins. I certainly like to make them for our great guests! I have been testing a new muffin recipe for the upcoming Fouth of July holiday . Come visit us then and see what it is! A hint: Think of the name of a very loud pyrotechnic!?!?! Can you figure out what kind of muffin it may be?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The suite they offered us was pretty cramped for the five of us. The bed/mattresses were very average. The room could use a facelift--everything was a little worn and dated. It was clean and quiet. Staff was nice. Good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Our staff IS nice!! Thanks for giving them a "shout out". We know we have the friendliest staff of any hotel on the Mendocino Coast!! Thanks for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn

Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5508 (Formerly Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing