We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place , great value , great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place , great value , great staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable. Everything we used was functional. Bathroom was clean. All linens were fresh. Beds were very comfortable.Front desk was helpful. Great value. All I could ask for for a budget hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonnyTes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for acknowledging our great staff ! We have the friendliest, most helpful staff on the Mendocino Coast ! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Seabird is the place to stay when visiting the Spectacular Mendocino Coast ! Why pay Mendocino prices when you can stay at the Seabird for a lot less. Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    99
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
103
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When you check in at the Seabird, you will find one of several genuinely friendly people handing you the keys from behind the front desk. Next to that is a large Welcome display for your pet, alongside several highlighted pet photos from their many guests. While many places charge you the pet fee and look at you sternly, reminding you that you'd better not let your pet wreck anything or else, the folks at the Seabird are glad to see you, your family, and your dog.

Rooms were clean and tidy, and the continental breakfast featured homemade muffins in 4 varieties that were out of this world. Please see my pic below for the greatest dog welcome poem!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeaShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for the review! I found the "if your dog can vouch for you..." greeting at a hotel years ago and thought it was clever. Our guests get a laugh out of it. Thank you for giving recognition to our "genuinely friendly" staff. Each and every one of them is indeed friendly and will do all they can to make your stay a memorable one. Hope to see you again very soon! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My 2 daughters and I stayed at the Seabird Lodge from April 16 to 18th. We also brought our 2 dogs. The room was plenty large enough, including space for our kennel where we kept our dogs when we were not in the room. The rooms were clean and the service was great. We stayed on the second floor so we could sit on the balcony and see the ocean. The location is convenient to everything. My youngest daughter loves to swim and enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub. In fact, I wished I had brought my bathing suit since the pool was inside and warm and the hot tub looked very inviting. The breakfast was good for a continental breakfast. I liked the coffee and the kids loved the hot chocolate. They also served tea, Tropicana orange juice, yogurt and a great variety of homemade muffins - which were delish!

The beds were comfortable and there was no street noise when the windows and balcony door were closed. My only wish was that we could sleep with the windows open to hear the ocean at night. While the late night and very early morning were quiet enough, the highway noise began around 6 a.m. But as I stated, with the windows and balcony door closed, it was very quiet, and I am a light sleeper!

I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room w/a view of the ocean. Although, the first floor rooms at the far end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolo795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for the nice review! The indoor heated pool and hot tub are perfect places to relax after a busy day of actvities. Glad you and your family enjoyed them. The muffins have become very popular with our guests. We always feature at least 3 varieties each morning. Blueberry, Chocolate/chocolate chip, Bran/zucchini, Maraschino cherry/ white chocolate, Lemon poppyseed, Cheddar/green onion, and Cranberry/orange are some of the ones we feature. Pool and hot tub, friendly rates and even friendlier people and , of course , the morning muffins--the Seabird is the place to stay on the Beautiful Mendocino Coast ! ! ! ! 800-345-0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Came for the weekend with the kids and dig, great place to stay...dog friendly, kids loved the pool & nice location in town. Was kinda outdated, but I want expecting a fancy place. It was perfect for us!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We greatly appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the indoor pool and hottub. Hope to see you on your next trip to our beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I wanted a basic room to stay while we were in Fort Bragg to visit Mendocino. The room was very roomy, clean and centrally located to good restaurants. It was a good deal and exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. You found the key to stretching your dollars while visiting the Mendocino Coast. Stay at the Seabird not the expensive places in Mendocino! Glad we met all of your expectations--hope to see you again soon. Friendly people, friendly rates, great morning muffins, indoor pool and hot tub. Come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Husband and I recently returned to the Seabird Lodge in Fort Bragg after 16 years. Our last stay was during our honeymoon 16 years ago. I reserved one of the King Suites, with a view of ocean. It is an older motel and has been around along time. The rooms are not fancy in compared to many of the Inns and B & B’s that surround Mendocino and Fort Bragg, but for with a AAA discount of $69 a night, why the heck not. In addition, we wanted to return to and reminisce in our honeymoon stomping grounds.

Room and bathroom were very clean; liked the added amenities of in room coffee pot, fridge and microwave. View of ocean was great with private balcony for sitting and watching the fog roll in and the rain come down. In room coffee and tea selection was also a nice feature. Bed was a little firm for us, but we slept well and had plenty of pillows. It was quiet and well appointed for our needs during our stay! It was fun to turn back the clocks.

Owners of the Seabird own the Mendocino Chocolate Company and provide a sampling of homemade muffins every morning with yogurt, juice, coffee and tea selections. Plenty to get your day started! The Home Style Café adjacent to the Seabird is fantastic for breakfast! Huge portions, great homemade food at great prices. A must when you stay at the Seabird.

Front office staff was very warm and friendly. For the money…it was a great stay, but if you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjmartin1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Seabird. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Comfortable rooms, great muffins, some rooms with an ocean view and an extremely gracious and helpful staff. Why spend so much for a room in Mendocino??? Hope to see you again soon--not 16 years, but soon! Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were on a trip from Oregon to San Francisco and decided to return to Fort Bragg where had visited many years ago. We decided to checkout the Seabird Lodge and found it to be a very good bargain. We paid $72 (AAA rate) for a large king room with excellent WiFi, heat, shower and a very comfortable bed. Our room also had a small private patio area outside the room. The motel is on the south end of town and is quite convenient to town and the harbor area. The breakfast is actually quite nice with muffins, yogurt, juice, coffee and some other things. The staff was very accommodating and provided excellent service and local information. The major plus for motels in this area was the provision of a pool and a superior jacuzzi. We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the spa experience. They provided pool towels and were generous with coffee and other items. After reading some of the other whining reviews of this motel I wonder what those folks expected for their value priced stay. This motel was excellent and we will return when we visit Fort Bragg again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seabirdlodge, Owner at Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you, very much, for your review of the Seabird. Our indoor pool and spa are hits with our guests. Very relaxing after a busy day exploring our beautiful part of the world. Glad you enjoyed our morning offerings--I enjoy making the muffins for our guests -- tomorrow morning we will have the following varieties; blueberry, lemon/poppyseed, chocolate/chocolate chip and bran/zucchini. Thanks for mentioning our excellent staff. They are tops!!! The off season is an excellent time to visit the Mendocino Coast--the crowds are gone, the scenery is spectacular and our rates are very friendly! See you on your next visit to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn

Property: Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5508 (Formerly Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing