We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
98
110
53
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
110
53
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade muffins continental breakfast pool and hot tub room was clean laundry facilities free wifi coffee maker ocean view would stay again rooms are nice mendocino area front office parking lot hotel room pleasant stay road trip mendocino coast
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2006

The hotel itself isn't fancy. It's clean and comfortable. Nice pool, plenty of places to walk your dog/pet. What makes it above average is the dog friendly environment and the friendly staff. Very warm & accommadating. The office area is cozy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank patalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Stayed here over a weekend with spouse on a package that included vouchers for 2 breakfasts ($14 for each breakfast for two) and 1 dinner ($34 for one dinner for two). Friendly front desk staff, clean large room that included a sofa and a king bed. Our balcony overlooked roof of indoor pool, so not worth sitting out there. Pool was warm and empty. Forgot our bathing suits but got 2 for a total of $35 in a souvenir shop in Mendocino.

On the package: definitely cut down our costs, but we had to add money of our own for each meal. Ate at Homestyle Cafe (in front of hotel)- good breakfast, the diner-type place for breakfast in the Skunk Train Depot- also good, and Silver's on the Wharf- expensive, but great views and seafood.

About that hum/air blowing noise some are experiencing in the rooms. I heard it while lying awake, froze in fear, and tried to figure it out. I am a scientist and after investigation have found it to be....... the mini-fridge! It makes the (quiet) noise while cycling on and off- not a big deal once you know what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jack Lia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This motel is nothing fancy or new but it was a real comfortable accomodation at a fair price. The room was extremely clean. The management was very friendly and seemed like they really wanted to please. The motel was only two or three blocks away from the river and fisherman's wharf area. Overall, we has a very nice time here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

As written by posters recently, this place is a little dated, but, compared to the Best Value inn in Crescent City, this place is a palace. Again, no air conditioning (must be an America's Best Value tradition), but, thankfully, we really didn't need it. Excellent view of the Chevron gas station and a glimpse of the ocean if you have a west facing room.

On the plus side, the room was clean and of ample size. We would probably stay here again should we find ourselves in Fort Bragg. Value is average, if a little overpriced.

Another poster mentioned something about a hum. There is a distinct sound that keeps going off intermittently. It's as though someone is blowing on an emtpy beer bottle every few seconds. Weird. Kind of sounds like an owl or mourning dove. Haven't been able to figure out what it is. I'm hopeful that we won't be able to hear it once we close the window.

There seem to be many choices of lodging in Fort Bragg. None too fancy, but if you're looking for a reasonable value, this might be the place. Now, if I could just figure out what that weird sound is...

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JupiterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Chose this hotel mainly because it was pet-friendly. Arrived to find two little dogs sitting on pillows in the front lobby. Check in people were very nice and friendly. Our room faced Hiway 1 (the main throughfare) and so could hear traffic thru the evening but fortunately did not bother our sleeping. The room was very clean and neat, but fixtures -- lamps, bed -- were definitely dated. Separate bathroom basin and toilet/shower...toilet/shower looked newly updated and was very clean. There was a microwave, refrigerator, but NO hair dryer. In today's era, I do expect one...but I didn't inquire at the front desk about whether they had one available. We were in a room (#121) that had an annoying hum all night long. We were fairly close to the indoor pool room, so we are guessing that was the pool ventilator fan running. Also, when people were moving around outside, or slamming doors, it was very noisy. Thin walls.

Have to mention we had an EXCELLENT breakfast at the Homestyle Cafe, which is right in front of the motel. Everything was well-prepared with no over-abundance of grease as seems to be the case in a lot of breakfast cafes. Tasted great! Highly recommend for breakfast.

Also had dinner at the Cliff House just down the road. Food was good; nice view of ocean/river inlet, but it was also dated furnishings.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuffyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews